No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

Absolutely loving that Tony Jones being a miserable little pissant is now global news. Also love that he’s using the ‘I apologise if Novak was offended’ - mate, what you said was utterly stupid. I hate Novak - but you can’t call him overrated or a has-been, and you sure as shit shouldn’t do it as a deplorably bad attempt of humour when you’re the official tournament broadcaster.

This is what happens when you have deadshits like JB and BT doing the main coverage of our sport - the bar is so low for sports presenters in this country. What’s galling is that there are really good broadcasters out there who would provide great, insightful coverage but networks seem convinced that this banal ‘banter’ crap is what will rake in the viewers. Athletes get told all the time to ‘shut up and dribble’ - how about commentators shut up and commentate. When I think of the very best commentators globally - not one of them are admired for their banter but their eloquent calling, knowledge and insight. Can we eradicate this ‘boofhead’ shit that was already growing tedious in the 90s and focus on good calling and analysis.
Yes, exactly this. Only someone possessed with gigantic proportions of pompous self-importance would even imagine engaging in this type of banal horseshit with one of the stand-out athletes – across all sports – of our time. Jones showed his bare arse to the world, and then showed it again. Calling him a flog undersells it. He is beyond flog.

Given he's got a marriage to save, probably a wise choice. I was going to say a career to think about as well - but blokes like this never have a career setback from something like this.

You would think the wife would be able to tell whether that photo was of him or not without the help of the AFL “integrity” commission.

Yes, exactly this. Only someone possessed with gigantic proportions of pompous self-importance would even imagine engaging in this type of banal horseshit with one of the stand-out athletes – across all sports – of our time. Jones showed his bare arse to the world, and then showed it again. Calling him a flog undersells it. He is beyond flog.
The thing I wonder about is when you see actually engaging sports commentators like Mark Howard and Anthony Hudson and then you compare them to this bloody boofhead, how do they keep their jobs for so long?

I don't think the talent pool for sports commentators in Australia is that shallow surely?

I'm not particularly fan of Noval but that was an epic piece of disrespect shown to possibly the greatest tennis player of our generation.

You would need a Stephen Fry level of Wit and Humour to pull something like that off and he's not even close.

He had a number of clubs after him at the end of 2023, by midway through 2024 half these clubs had questions regarding his pursuit as they’d done more due diligence on him.

Cats continued to chase as they know they need him desperately to replace the talent in the middle that is aging out and that they could keep his name out of the news down there(like Stengle and others).

I think even the Cats got a bit concerned at one point, which around the time it was mentioned that he was also doing a medical at the Suns.
Fair bit of chatter on the Geelong board that he hasn’t exactly impressed so far.

Quite the opposite it seems.

The thing I wonder about is when you see actually engaging sports commentators like Mark Howard and Anthony Hudson and then you compare them to this bloody boofhead, how do they keep their jobs for so long?

I don't think the talent pool for sports commentators in Australia is that shallow surely?

I'm not particularly fan of Noval but that was an epic piece of disrespect shown to possibly the greatest tennis player of our generation.

You would need a Stephen Fry level of Wit and Humour to pull something like that off and he's not even close.
Novak is low hanging fruit in this country. And halfwits like TJ cannot resist low hanging fruit.

Geez we dodged two bullets missing out on Smith and JUH.

We went full Neo from The Matrix in slow motion last trading period 😂
Three, if you include missing out on that spud Ben McKay. Nearly the highest paid player in the league and had half a good season at best.

Then we go and pick up Battle and Barrass on significantly less.

Three, if you include missing out on that spud Ben McKay. Nearly the highest paid player in the league and had half a good season at best.

ahhhh.gif

And the interesting thing is none of those three mentioned are big shocks.

Ben McKay was nothing special at the Roos and nothing special at the Dogs, nowhere near an $800k a year player.

JUH has had plenty of rumblings about off field issues for a couple of years now.

Smith as well, his off field stuff is well known (although its too early to make a call on him of course as he could come good but I have my doubts on that).

A much safer bet to go with solid citizens who are also very good footballers like Battle and Barrass.

Four. Liam Ryan was another that we were linked to.

Absolutely loving that Tony Jones being a miserable little pissant is now global news. Also love that he’s using the ‘I apologise if Novak was offended’ - mate, what you said was utterly stupid. I hate Novak - but you can’t call him overrated or a has-been, and you sure as shit shouldn’t do it as a deplorably bad attempt of humour when you’re the official tournament broadcaster.

This is what happens when you have deadshits like JB and BT doing the main coverage of our sport - the bar is so low for sports presenters in this country. What’s galling is that there are really good broadcasters out there who would provide great, insightful coverage but networks seem convinced that this banal ‘banter’ crap is what will rake in the viewers. Athletes get told all the time to ‘shut up and dribble’ - how about commentators shut up and commentate. When I think of the very best commentators globally - not one of them are admired for their banter but their eloquent calling, knowledge and insight. Can we eradicate this ‘boofhead’ shit that was already growing tedious in the 90s and focus on good calling and analysis.
Apropos of what you’re saying;

This sort of matesy, blokesy, ribbing each other culture that has spread from footy to basically all our media is getting its right whack internationally. It’s fine at the pub but the way it’s become the national standard for broadcasting is embarrassing.

Apropos of what you’re saying;

This sort of matesy, blokesy, ribbing each other culture that has spread from footy to basically all our media is getting its right whack internationally. It’s fine at the pub but the way it’s become the national standard for broadcasting is embarrassing.

Absolutely agree.
Just cringeworthy.

I mometarily tuned into SEN yesterday - came in during an interview between 2 "blokes". They called each other BJ and DL (or similar) for the whole interview. Had no idea who they were, and didn't find out.
It really is just like eavesdropping on 2 d*ckheads chatting in a pub.

Absolutely agree.
Just cringeworthy.

I mometarily tuned into SEN yesterday - came in during an interview between 2 "blokes". They called each other BJ and DL (or similar) for the whole interview. Had no idea who they were, and didn't find out.
It really is just like eavesdropping on 2 d*ckheads chatting in a pub.

Reminds me of this classic bit of Martin/Molloy:

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news