Gym & Misc General Health and Fitness Thread

I think with the general population the importance of maintaining or increasing V02 max is grossly understated. An overwhelming majority don't even incorporate any training at a high enough intensity that can meaningfully increase it. And it considerably decreases for every decade you age, increasing the possible incidence of cardio respiratory disease. You only need one session a week of hard, all out effort intervals. Like the Norwegian 4 x 4 x 4 workout - 4 minutes at nearly all out effort, 4 minutes recovery, repeat four times.

Many prescribed running programs incorporate suitable high intensity sessions once or twice a week, such as fartlek, hill sprints, pyramid intervals.

The trouble is that even beyond the sedentary population, there are huge swathes of "active" people who just don't get to the required level of intensity - ie: not going beyond lifting weights at the gym or walking. The brutal truth is this is not enough.

Years ago towards the end of my football playing days I managed to get a Sydney Swans running session program.
I tried the session, vomited a bit, didn't quite finish it.

Had an instant, new found respect for AFL players.

Years ago towards the end of my football playing days I managed to get a Sydney Swans running session program.
I tried the session, vomited a bit, didn't quite finish it.

Had an instant, new found respect for AFL players.
They would be so, so fit.

If you're between 20-29, you're in the top 5% of the population if your VO2 max is >66.3

In the AFL the average values of VO2max are 57.8 for defenders, 57.7 for midfielders, and 56.7 for forwards. So around the 80th percentile.

Tour de France winner Tadej Pogačar's VO2 max is 89.4 :oops:

If you're between 20-29, you're in the top 5% of the population if your VO2 max is >66.3

In the AFL the average values of VO2max are 57.8 for defenders, 57.7 in midfielders, and 56.7 in forwards.

The bulldogs have an interesting exercise to try and boost VO2 max - hold your breath and then punch a punching bag as many times as you can.

what’s on your “gym” playlist?

i don’t really make playlists as im too cheap to pay for spotify (especially when i can just acquire all the music i want through soulseek) but ive been enjoying a bit of metal, screamo, punk while doing my exercises. keeps me motivated

In the AFL the average values of VO2max are 57.8 for defenders, 57.7 for midfielders, and 56.7 for forwards. So around the 80th percentile.

Mine according to my watch is 56, I dunno if that's right though hey

I took part in a study to help out a mate who was a research scientist at the time, and part of it involved a VO2 Max test. I managed to get 60 which I was very happy with.

My watch says 58, which I guess means it is fairly accurate. My mate who was doing this stuff for a living also said Garmin watches were generally recognised as pretty accurate.

Does anyone else notice how there is often.. I dunno.. some weird anti fitness specifically gym attitude amongst average people?

Like there is a woman at my gym that goes in bodybuilding type comps. Apparently it came up at my mums work that she came 2nd, and it was asked how much does she train? Mum told them 1.5 hours a day because I go at the same time and know. And then some lady goes "Wow get a life!" No prizes for what sort of physical condition this woman is in haha.

If I was there my comeback would have been how many hours a week do you watch tv?

She is 39 but legit looks more like 30. Pretty decent return on even 8 hours a week imo.

It's just jealousy.

Also because she is advanced of course so it's taking it to the absolute limit to get every last bit.

She could probably train half that and get I dunno 80% of the results anyway?

Imo resistance training gives the best reward for the least amount of time and effort out of all the fitness options.

Does anyone else notice how there is often.. I dunno.. some weird anti fitness specifically gym attitude amongst average people?

Like there is a woman at my gym that goes in bodybuilding type comps. Apparently it came up at my mums work that she came 2nd, and it was asked how much does she train? Mum told them 1.5 hours a day because I go at the same time and know. And then some lady goes "Wow get a life!" No prizes for what sort of physical condition this woman is in haha.

If I was there my comeback would have been how many hours a week do you watch tv?

She is 39 but legit looks more like 30. Pretty decent return on even 8 hours a week imo.

It's just jealousy.
I have a mate who no longer plays sport other than a few rounds of golf a year, but when you see him and he asks what you were up to (in winter)

"won soccer 2-1 this arvo, couple beers after with the lads"

sarcastically "huge day", or "Is that shit still going?!"

He watched footy on the couch. The Saturday footy games suck too so "huge day"...

It's the laziest people doing nothing that knock exercise. Truly bizarre, would be like an idiot taking the piss out of someone for doing maths quickly in their head rather than get their phone out. How is the 'better' person copping stick...

It's just jealousy.
Without wanting to get gendered about it, this sentiment is worse for women who most (especially other women) think should be making a home or whatever.

Broadly speaking i find most sedentary people dont ask about anything fitness related and i dont speak to them about it. I get some occasional comments about i must enjoy the gym or whatever that are tinged with insult but mostly its not a factor.

Gym & Misc General Health and Fitness Thread