Get BUCKLEY Update: Dim the lights, Caro is talking dirty.

I would be very surprised if he took on an assistant role over a senior role.
Other things being equal, so would I.

However... the assistant role is at Collingwood, and if Bucks believes that it will shortly lead to a senior role, then surely his emotional attachment to the club (which is obviously great), might play a part. Would he, like Voss, like to be coach, as well as captain the same team and continue the rivalry? As much as I don't particularly like Eddie, his influence too, cannot be underestimated.

All said and done, I'd like to think we're in the box seat, but that might just be bias on my part. In addition to having a (trusting?) relationship with Buckley, I would also assume another advantage of having Eugene as CEO is that he'd be aware of how Eddie and Pert operate, what the issues are in relation to Bucks and Collingwood, and how to react to them. Lots of assumptions here, of course.

Hird said on the The Couch he would choose Richmond over North if he was Buckley. Interesting.

We do have the better list, however we have a lot of media scrutiny and pressure all the time and I'm sure Richmond are aware of the fact he might not able to handle it. Big 4 club with his name up in lights. Would be in the paper 24/7. We may be better of going for a more low-profile coach away from the spotlight.

Hird said on the The Couch he would choose Richmond over North if he was Buckley. Interesting.

We do have the better list, however we have a lot of media scrutiny and pressure all the time and I'm sure Richmond are aware of the fact he might not able to handle it. Big 4 club with his name up in lights. Would be in the paper 24/7. We may be better of going for a more low-profile coach away from the spotlight.

You don't have a better list.

You do have a club that is run (poorly) by people who have done nothing but fail for 30 years now. IMHO a coach is the least of your problems, as is the list. Richmond need to clean out the back of house before worrying about the onfield issues because my suspicion is that doing so will go a long way to solving those onfield issues.

The next coach is in a great position IMO.
Expectation is nil...wider perception is that we have an old list with no talent, and our ladder position this year means no one will expect us to do any good next year.
Truth is, we have a lot of young players and injuries have slaughtered us this year.
Despite that, we have been competitive in almost every game and could easily have won 2-3 more and be right in the mix for the eight.
The majority of the squad is the same that was almost top four two years ago.
We will have a new facility for next season.
There is a lot of upside, and no pressure of expectation.
When we do better than people expect, which is almost guaranteed, the coach will look like a genius, when most of the foundation has already been laid for improvement.
All he needs is a bit of luck with injuries.

The sad thing is that if you go over to their board most of them genuinely believe they have an equal or better list.

Reading them say this kind of stuff year after year is the reason why I have a soft spot for Richmond and feel very sorry for their supporters.

By the way, it's a remarkable (unacknowledged) backflip from the Vile Serpent, isn't it?

"Not a hope in hell" 2 weeks ago..........maybe that's because she 'knew' we couldn't afford Buckley with Mazda jumping ship. :rolleyes:
Wonder if the Mazda execs knew something about the profile of our next coach (or were given an indication of landing Bucks as the next coach)before agreeing to the new deal?

Could the two be linked?

I asked an AFL assistant coach yesterday, and former Tigers player, about which club had the better list.
His answer - "North clearly...Richmond are in strife for a long time"
You blokes have to replace Richo, Cousins, Brown, Bowden, Simmonds, Pettifer, Coghlan.
And cut King, Hughes, Oakley-Nicholls, McMahon, and Polak.
At a time when good picks are gonna be scarce.

We have to replace Simpson at the end of next year, and Harvey 1-2 years after that. And also cut a handful on the fringe. That's it.

So, in summary, you go to Richmond, where resources may be greater, but expectations are huge and pressure is enormous, and results are unlikely, and many coaching careers have been ended.
Or to North, with nil expectation and nil pressure, and the possibility of immediate results with a squad that was almost top 4 two years ago and has picked up some very good kids since then.
Hmm...what to do?

Richmond? Big 4?

Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood, Hawthorn.

I asked an AFL assistant coach yesterday, and former Tigers player, about which club had the better list.
His answer - "North clearly...Richmond are in strife for a long time"
You blokes have to replace Richo, Cousins, Brown, Bowden, Simmonds, Pettifer, Coghlan.
And cut King, Hughes, Oakley-Nicholls, McMahon, and Polak.
At a time when good picks are gonna be scarce.

We have to replace Simpson at the end of next year, and Harvey 1-2 years after that. And also cut a handful on the fringe. That's it.

So, in summary, you go to Richmond, where resources may be greater, but expectations are huge and pressure is enormous, and results are unlikely, and many coaching careers have been ended.
Or to North, with nil expectation and nil pressure, and the possibility of immediate results with a squad that was almost top 4 two years ago and has picked up some very good kids since then.
Hmm...what to do?

You aren't exactly playing a side full of kids like we are, you are still trotting out blokes like Simpson, Harvey, Petrie, Rawlings, Firitto, Harris, Harding, Jones, Hale & Power who are all 100 gamers and will no doubt be bringing back Pratt (94 games) and have McIntosh(71). Thats 12 rather experienced players from 22 right there.

In our team of kids last weekend, we had only 3 100 gamers running around. Unless we go the full out tank at selection then we should beat you comfortably on the weekend for the 2nd time this year. This time around we actually have a better team on the park too.

You don't have a better list.

Yeah, we do. :)

You're being kind scotty. The full list of players retiring/duds they need to get rid of reads a lot longer.

Bowden
Brown
Simmonds
Pettifer
Coughlan
Richo
Cousins
Hughes
Oakley-Nichols
Raines
Johnson
McMahon
Polak
Schulz
Thomson
Hislop
Pattison

A good way to see what is in store for Richmond in the future is to look at how they treated arguably the 2 strongest drafts of all time in 2006 and 2008. Remarkable. :eek:

I mentioned a few weeks ago that if I were Buckley I wouldnt be interested in either the Richmond or North job. If Buckley went into senior coaching without the assistant experience he will be forever compared to Voss. Unfortunately what the press fail to recognise is that Leigh Matthews left that list that Voss has now in fairly good shape, as good a shape as any coach that has left a team of his own will in recent memory.

They have 2 power forwards, a functioning midfield with experience and some young guns pushing through, a settled backline with a decent full back. Some unpredictable flashy types like Brennan, Hooper etc. All this is a fairly good base to start your coaching career.

Throw in some decent home ground advantage, a stable off field situation, outside of the constant critical view of the melbourne media and you have yourself the perfect team to commence your coaching career with.

Not sure Buckley can look as good as Voss does at the moment coaching us or Richmond next year as the press will be looking for instant success in order to compare him to what Voss has done. I think this will be a factor in Buckley deciding whether to coach his own senior team next year.

As much as we like to think we have a good list, we have no midfield, we have no dominant power forwards and we have a couple of kids in the back half that are 'promissing'. We have potential and Buckley may get success with our group but it wont be as instant as he or the media would like.

You're being kind scotty. The full list of players retiring/duds they need to get rid of reads a lot longer.

Bowden - Gone
Brown - Gone
Simmonds - Gone
Pettifer - Gone
Coughlan - Would be 1st or 2nd best player in your midfield at the moment. Has played about 3 games in 3 years. Getting into it again, very good player.
Richo - lol
Cousins - Are you kidding me?
Hughes - Has shown more promise than any of your young KPF's. Dealing with depression since witnessing the Polak incident.
Oakley-Nichols - Gone
Raines - Been riddled with injuries, better than most of your players when fit. You would take him in a heartbeat, after all you traded for Power. :p
Johnson - Gone
McMahon - Gone
Polak - Been in bests for VFL over last month. Taking it slow with him.
Schulz - He's better than Hale and Petrie combined. We just hold higher standards. Kicked about 25 goals in 3 weeks in the VFL then got injured.
Thomson Have you even seen him play?
Hislop - Has played about 6 games for the club, 13 overall. Nah, **** it he isn't a superstar yet. Cut him.
Pattison- Better than all your back-up rucks

See above.

Later, he explained that Richmond have been crap for 30 years so the only way was "up" and this was good for a young coach. He wasn't comparing the lists.

He never said anything to that effect. He said he should choose Richmond over North and awaken the 'sleeping giant'. :)

You aren't exactly playing a side full of kids like we are, you are still trotting out blokes like Simpson, Harvey, Petrie, Rawlings, Firitto, Harris, Harding, Jones, Hale & Power who are all 100 gamers and will no doubt be bringing back Pratt (94 games) and have McIntosh(71). Thats 12 rather experienced players from 22 right there.

In our team of kids last weekend, we had only 3 100 gamers running around. Unless we go the full out tank at selection then we should beat you comfortably on the weekend for the 2nd time this year. This time around we actually have a better team on the park too.

Mate, you have no idea, frankly.
You may indeed beat us this weekend, and if you can't after the slog we had in Tassie, and with the blokes we have out, then heaven help you.
Harris and Jones are only playing because of injuries to other players, Power the same, they are the fringe blokes I mentioned. None of them has been influential the last two seasons.
Simmo will be missed for his leadership, Harvey (playing injured since he returned) still has 2-3 more years left.
Rawlings is solid and offers good leadership, but he is playing in defence now and is hardly irreplaceable. Of that group, only HArding would be badly missed. He's 28.
Hale is 25.
Petrie is 26.
Firrito is 25.
McIntosh is 24.
Pratt is 26.
Bugga, retire em now.
How about these guys that have played well at times this year - Hansen, Swallow, Ziebell, Warren, Goldstein, Wright, Anthony, Scott Thompson, Grima, Hansen, McMahon, Ross, Urquhart, Adams and Greenwood.
Then how about we get Wells, Jesse SMith, Campbell, Lower and Tarrant fit.

I'll take the word on AFL assistant coach over you, for now anyway!

Mate, you are not going to win many debates when you try to claim that Schulze is better than Petrie and Hale combined.
And then say Richmond holds "higher standards". Is this the same Richmond that has embraced mediocrity for 30 years?
And still plays Jake King?
And appointed Terry Wallace on huge money?

What's that I see flying away?:eek:
Any credibility you may have had.:D

And even greater shock, for me anyway was that Robert Walls said that Buckley shouldn't go near Richmond, and should take the north job. He also said that our list was better.

Caro and Walls being nice to us....the media has gone MAD!!

Im pretty sure Walls hasnt tried to bash us since Laidley left, looking like his vendetta against NMFC was most likely based around having laidley as coach.

You may indeed beat us this weekend, and if you can't after the slog we had in Tassie, and with the blokes we have out, then heaven help you.
Harris and Jones are only playing because of injuries to other players, Power the same, they are the fringe blokes I mentioned. None of them has been influential the last two seasons.
Simmo will be missed for his leadership, Harvey (playing injured since he returned) still has 2-3 more years left.

If you can't beat us this weekend then it's a sad indicator for your club that all your experienced players are no good and your list needs a lot of work. You will probably have 10+ 100 gamers in your team and we will have about 3. Who are these 'injured' blokes who will replace all of them in the team? Wells and Ziebell. That's the only quality you have out.

If you can't flog us this weekend, you're in trouble. We're on the bottom for games average as a club for the last few rounds with about 50 while you're middle of the road with about 112. :eek:

Get BUCKLEY Update: Dim the lights, Caro is talking dirty.