Discussion Getting to know fellow designers!

I can't hear it because I'm on my iPod, but seeing as maggotz is putting his songs on here, can I as well? I've made 11 songs, recorded 5 though, so if anyone wants to, just say yes :)
Yes.

Okay, so lots of people have replied (which I am happy about). Next week I will collate the results and post some graphics to show the range of people that use this board.

You mean a wierdo scale.

Wow lots of good talk on here boys.

Its great to see we are one big family in here.

I wont post every question as there will be more spelling mistakes than answers.

I am 24, i once played footy but ive decided to give it away & concentrate on uni.
If i was to meet anyone from here it would be lmach Gibbsy Silent Alarm Mero
I found this site after a mate from footy was talking about running his mouth in the local leagues section & i stumbled across fgd. I love coming on knowing im mates with all you boys & love hearing your opinions on footy jumpers & life overall. Many people have helped me out on fgd & i respect them very much.

Bright signs ahead for fgd. A great crew of blokes who have taken " talking shit" on the internet into a bunch of blokes who know everyone would help out anyone!

Thanks a lot guys :)

Most of my songs are completely different compared to this one, so that's why I made this.
To differ from the normal tuning of a guitar that all my other songs are in (because I can't be stuffed changing the strings every song) to a tuning called Drop D.
I'm not sure how many of you understand that, but you basically make the lowest string lower than it is in sound.

Thanks again :)

I love listening to music with alt tunings. Old, old Genesis is a good example. If you haven't heard of Days of the New, you'd like.

(Having trouble with embedding for some reason, sorry.)

I played drums mostly, but also played bass for a bit, and I forget the name of the tuning but you could use a slide on it and basically have a chord on every fret without fingering.
Okay, I'll look that band up.
I'm taking a stab in the dark here, but would that tuning be Open G? Or something similar?
Yeah, I'm almost the same as you, except I'm a guitarist, who was forced by my school to choose a second instrument (percussion) and plays bass because it's exactly the same as guitar.

Anyway, goodnight! (or goodmorning in USA :))

That might be, not sure. Drums are easier because you don't have to worry about what key to play in, etc. :p (Haven't even been able to do that for years because of my back, sadly.)

So I've pretty much forgotten all of that stuff, tunings, keys, modes, etc. Have it written somewhere, and I refer to it when writing music (which I also haven't done for about 5 years or so), and it comes back pretty quick, but I doubt I could play anything these days. (Was never a great instrumentalist anyway. Much better on drums, and I enjoyed playing drums more than any other instrument.)

But, the way my bass was tuned was like a slide guitar, so that I could slap a chord without fingering. I like that "fat" sound.

Have a good night, mate. Lunch time here now. :D
Yeah, I'm not sure what tuning either, but that'd be cool to do on bass :)
I remember when I played the song Iris by the Goo Goo Dolls and it was open B, so 4 strings were the note B.
It's great to have another musician on this board!

Ah, I was going by Vancouver (now known as Mero) time, my bad! :p
By the way, I just listened to your song and I recognised it straight away! The only song that reminds me of Halloween.
Great job, except one thing: I couldn't really hear the bass (I think that's what it was!), so yeah, apart from that, nice :)

No, you were good on the time, I answered a couple of hours later. :D

Oh, thanks on the song. It's all computer generated, no live instruments. It's possible that the website or just putting it into flash compressed the bass. I usually have too much in mine, so that's probably the case, although I do recall listening to it (after not hearing it for a long while) and realizing one track was way lower in the mix than what I intended.
Ah, okay :)

It's still good, don't get me wrong, but yeah, the bass was barely audible.

Thanks, mate.

That is odd, now that I think about it. It must have been the bass that was down further in the mix than I intended. But I know there's probably some compression going on too, either from the flash (likely) or the website. Radio stations do that too. Always sounds better in a car when you listen to a song on a cd as opposed to the radio. Tool is like that, for example. The producer doesn't compress the bass at all in the mix. It's audible when you hear one of their songs on the radio, but not as on top and thick as some of the bass is in their songs when you listen on cd, even when you listen on the same stereo settings.
Yeah, must've been. I don't know, I don't have the track! :p
You two should probably take this to PM.
I think we were finishing up anyway :)

It's the "getting to know fellow designers" thread. Seemed to me that was what we were doing. :D

EDIT: Probably would be better on random chat though, now that I think about it.
PM would be better.

I haven't put up any designs for a long time but I still lurk here regularly to get all the guernsey news! And, like many others, I love a quiz!

1. Age? 25
2. Where did you grow up? Surrounding areas of Geelong
3. Occupation/Uni Course/Grade? Restaurant Manager
4. Why have you chosen to go post on Bigfooty? Needed a place to talk to fellow Crows fans
5. How'd you find the FGD Board? It didn't exist when I started, I found it after the initial threads in the old footy fotoshops (?) board became enough to warrant its own board.
6. What is your local footy league? Dunno.
7. What is your greatest accomplishment? Buying my first house
8. What word describes you best? Perfectionist
9. If you were on a deserted island, who would you want to be with from the FGDB and why? Someone who is old and wise
10. What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you on the FGDB? Just kind words with designs over the years
11. What is your most rememberable moment on this board? The explosion of creations when it first started
12. Who is your favourite poster on this board and why? Mero, because without him this whole footy jumper culture on here probably wouldn't be where it is today.
13. Who is your least favourite poster on this board and why? Nobody really
14. If you could meet anyone from this board in the real world, who would it be and why? Someone who is old and wise
15. What would you be doing right now if you weren't on this forum? Something on iTunes probably
16. For how long have you been posting on the FGDB? 5ish years??
17. Do you think you will ever lose touch with the FGDB? I don't post a whole lot now but I check in regularly and I probably always will.
18. When on this board have you felt most alone? (if ever) Never
19. Where do you see yourself in 10 years? Hopefully owning my own business(es) instead of working long hours to make someone else rich.
20. If you woke up as the opposite sex, what is the first thing you would do? "How you doin!?"

Bonus questions:
Favourite TV Shows: Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Scrubs, That 70s Show, Prison Break, Top Gear, The Office (UK)
Favourite Movies: I'm a James Bond fanatic!! Die Hard series and Back To The Future series are also favourites.
Favourite Music Artists: Big music fan of all eras and genres, but its mostly older stuff that I'm into. I'm absolutely obsessed with Pink Floyd!! Also big on The Beatles, Led Zep, U2. Newer stuff would be Coldplay, Powderfinger, Foo Fighters, Snow Patrol.

20. If you woke up as the opposite sex, what is the first thing you would do? "How you doin!?"

Bonus questions:
Favourite TV Shows: Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Scrubs, That 70s Show, Prison Break, Top Gear, The Office (UK)
With an answer like "How you doin?" I'd expect Friends to be in your favourite TV shows ;)

Okay, you have been here much, much longer than I, and you understand the ins and outs of this board, so explain that to me. I've seen other people having convos in random chat, sometimes two or three different conversations between different people at the same time. And it's for anything random. Is there something I don't understand that would make this conversation (with Andonis) not good for anyone to read outside of just us two?

Not being snotty or anything, so plz don't take it that way. I know different boards and different sites have different rules and habits, and I am fairly new here. :)
I'm just saying if it's going to drag on for longer, take it to PM so the rest of this board doesn't have to scroll through your conversation. Don't take it personally.

/mod

With an answer like "How you doin?" I'd expect Friends to be in your favourite TV shows ;)

The mrs watches it a lot, especially since i bought her the bluray box set for Christmas. Its an ok show, but I won't go out of my way to watch it.

1.Age? 17, just
2. Where did you grow up? Surrounding areas of Geelong
3. Occupation/Uni Course/Grade? Going into year 12
4. Why have you chosen to go post on Bigfooty? Fantasy Football
5. How'd you find the FGD Board? Mr. Gibbsy got me onto it
6. What is your local footy league? Geelong
7. What is your greatest accomplishment? Completing year 11 including 2 year 12 subjects.
8. What word describes you best? Hilarious
9. If you were on a deserted island, who would you want to be with from the FGDB and why? Someone fat so I could go canabal
10. What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you on the FGDB? E92_ made me a picture once.........
11. What is your most rememberable moment on this board? Finding out all of Andonis' eight or nine AFL teams.
12. Who is your favourite poster on this board and why? COHL because he is so wise
13. Who is your least favourite poster on this board and why? coolknot, he was a toss.
14. If you could meet anyone from this board in the real world, who would it be and why? E92_ so we can go to a Knicks v Heat basketball game
15. What would you be doing right now if you weren't on this forum? Facebook and watching the cricket.
16. For how long have you been posting on the FGDB? Who really knows.
17. Do you think you will ever lose touch with the FGDB? Seems like I already did for a while.
18. When on this board have you felt most alone? (if ever) At about 4:30 in the morning.
19. Where do you see yourself in 10 years? 5 years older.
20. If you woke up as the opposite sex, what is the first thing you would do? Look at my penis ;)

Bonus questions:
Favourite TV Shows: How I Met Your Mother
Favourite Movies: Epic Movie (yeah, I'm a bit immature), Fired Up and all of the American Pie movies
Favourite Music Artists: Ed Sheeran, Bruno Marz, Eminem, Slim Shady, Marshall Matthers,

I'll answer most but some questions I'd rather not make readily available to other members of BF. (If it was just the FGD people I'd answer them all)

Where did you grow up?
St. Helena (North-East Suburbs of Melbourne)
Occupation/Uni Course/Grade? Student + Work at Darkzone Laser Tag
Why have you chosen to go post on Bigfooty? Uh, I wanted to talk about footy
How'd you find the FGD Board? Ummmm, wow. I think I'd just been drawing footy jumpers on paint after I found Mero's site in about '07 or '08 than found this board and creeped around without posting anything. Than finally posted when a thread came up where you posted your Gold Coast jumper concepts.
What is your local footy league? NFL/VAFA
What is your greatest accomplishment? Climbing Mt. Kinibalu at age 17
What word describes you best? Sarcastic
If you were on a deserted island, who would you want to be with from the FGDB and why? Doc or lmach because they're good blokes or maybe Willo, Gibbsy or Mero - I'm thinking people who I think I can trust not to kill me/I can trust will get us off the desert island.
What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you on the FGDB? Any kind feedback on designs
What is your most rememberable moment on this board? brothashane getting busted for plagiarism
Who is your favourite poster on this board and why? No one person in particular. Mero, Silent Alarm, Mr Eagle and Gibbsy offer great insight and opinion about jumpers but there are a lot of good people who are generally fun to talk to.
Who is your least favourite poster on this board and why? Not naming names
If you could meet anyone from this board in the real world, who would it be and why? Any names I've already mentioned
What would you be doing right now if you weren't on this forum? Having a shower because I'm going out this arvo
For how long have you been posting on the FGDB? Nearly 4 years I think maybe longer
Do you think you will ever lose touch with the FGDB? I've drifted in and out in the past 18 months for various reasons but I don't think I'll ever fully leave.
When on this board have you felt most alone? (if ever) As a noob/rookie - back then all the posters where old and if you were a noob you got absolutely torched :D
Where do you see yourself in 10 years? Hopefully a good paying job, wife and kids and some great travel memories
If you woke up as the opposite sex, what is the first thing you would do? Buy tampons, have my period, take 3 hours to get ready for everything, be moody, date a douchebag then probably kill myself (or proclaim to facebook that I will just for the sympathy)

Bonus questions:
Favourite TV Shows: How I Met Your Mother, Family Guy, Deadliest Catch, Man vs Wild + many others
Favourite Music Artists: Birds of Tokyo, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Powderfinger + many Melbourne DJ's

Updated response (some answers haven't changed, some have):

1. Age?

2. Where did you grow up?
The Adelaide Hills. I've never lived anywhere else, although I travelled relatively frequently in childhood (from ages 5-12).

3. Occupation/Uni Course/Grade?
I work at the local greengrocer. I know fruits and vegetables. I used to work at Woolworths. I'm doing a combined degree of Biomedical Engineering and Medical Science at Flinders University and I'm first year.

4. Why have you chosen to go post on Bigfooty?
I stay because I like some of the people here, and I enjoy discussing various aspects of football.

5. How'd you find the FGD Board?
Surfing the forum - came across it. Saw some designs, was in awe, decided to create some of my own...

6. What is your local footy league?
SFL, but I don't play anymore.

7. What is your greatest accomplishment?
Going all the way with lmach.

8. What word describes you best?
Unique ;)

9. If you were on a deserted island, who would you want to be with from the FGDB and why?
lmach! Always lmach.

10. What is the kindest thing anyone has done for you on the FGDB?
Silent Alarm sent me a very, very kind message the other month.

11. What is your most rememberable moment on this board?
Adidas I guess

12. Who is your favourite poster on this board and why?
Different posters have different attributes which make them fantastic in different ways. Some have superior knowledge of football and footy jumpers, some have a greater knowledge on life in general, some are really good at designing, some have great senses of humour, etc.

13. Who is your least favourite poster on this board and why?
Definitely lmach.

14. If you could meet anyone from this board in the real world, who would it be and why?
Definitely lmach.

15. What would you be doing right now if you weren't on this forum?
Probably studying. But I put the pro in procrastination so that's why I'm here.

16. For how long have you been posting on the FGDB?
Since August last year I think.

17. Do you think you will ever lose touch with the FGDB?
I'm sure, one day, I won't have as strong an interest and passion as I do now and that I'll use the board less. Whether or not I'll abandon it, I doubt it, but I'm not sure.

18. When on this board have you felt most alone? (if ever)
Never, everyone here is mostly wonderful.

19. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?
Living the life.

20. If you woke up as the opposite sex, what is the first thing you would do?
Well, I've always wondered what would happen if a girl crawled inside of their vagina and gave birth to themselves - would they have created a copy of themselves or would they just disappear entirely? If I were a girl I'd definitely do this first.

7. What is your greatest accomplishment?
Going all the way with lmach.

20. If you woke up as the opposite sex, what is the first thing you would do?
7 happened after 20.

Discussion Getting to know fellow designers!