Getting to know you!

1. Place of Birth - Country SA
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Lanky
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Me dad. He's now longer alive. Just 1 last chat would be good.
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - had a grandkid
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - the old caught smoking when I was 12, then having to smoke a cigar!
6. Your best and worst memory from school? - Best: taking about 2 hours to wals the 500 yards home when I was a lil tacker. Worst: Shifting school so often
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Mums roast lamb followed by her steam pudding
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Swiss alps at Xmas
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - dunno ???
10. What one talent do you wish you had - surfing
11.What would you never do again - move to Brisbane.
12.What would be your ideal job - rose pruner
13. I would never leave the house without my - name & address pinned to my chest
14. What is your motto - this way up.
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - hholding the ball - make the player make some attempt to get rid of it.
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Bender
17. Who inspires you - ???
18. What are you listening to - Buzzcocks.
19. What are you readilng - Tobruk.
20. Favourite Movie - A Clockwork Orange, Spanglish, The Sound of Music
21. Favourite TV shows - Rockqwiz
22. Least favourite TV shows - any 6:30 current affair drivel
23. Favourite piece of clothing - my golf glove.
24. Favourite AFL media personality - ????
25. What was the last meal you cooked - last night - steak on the bbq. Before that, Morrocan lamb on the bbq
26. Scariest moment in your life - being diagnosed with the c word.
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - don't get a second opinion
28. Biggest Regret - Not saying a proper goodbye to my dad
29. All time favourite player - Darryl White, Mickey Conlan
30. Current favourite player - Glen Archer

1. Place of Birth Ayr, North Queensland

2. Nickname as a kid and now Macca or Roo.

3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why Steve Waugh - my hero.

4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father It's my mum's 50th in a couple of days so i better think of something. :p

5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for Where to start... If you have a younger brother (who is also your parents' favourite) you have a long list of these. Probably the worse thing i have done was tie my brother's ankles together with string and got him to bunjy-jump from our clothesline. I also broke every window in the house with either a footy or cricket ball.

6. Your best and worst memory from school? Best memory - definately all of year 12 was excellent - was the only year where i genuinely wanted to go to school every morning. Just catching up and talking with your mates every day was gold. You miss that when you leave school. Most of my favourite memories were of sporting events. Probably my favourite was during the GPS swimming champs. It had been raining heavily all week and the roads were flooded. Our buses had broken down a couple of times just getting to the event and we all had to get out and push them. When we finally arrived at Chandler, we were an hour late and soaked thorough to the bone. Some stiff lips at the door refused to let us enter until they had seen everyone's ticket. A mate behind me said "screw that" and with an almighty roar, 600 of us pushed through the gates chanting our school's name. Another great memory was in year 12 when we beat an undefeated BBC in rugby on their 100th birthday. We even sang them "Happy Birthday". Take that you toffs.

Worst memory - definately breaking my shoulder playing footy in the first game in year 10. That was the worst pain i have ever experienced. It took a while but i finally made it back the next year, only to snap my wrist in the first practice game.

7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? Can't go past a roast chook or a lasagna. Actually, i can't knock any dish my mum makes.

8. Your ultimate holiday destination? I would love to go to South America, France, or India. I'm already organising and saving up for my trip to the Ashes in 2009 (the year after i finish uni).

9. The best practical joke you have ever played? Any that we played on one of our mates at school who, if a piece of the sky fell, it would fall on him. I remember we hid his P.E clothes once and when he came down to get changed out of his normal uniform, we stole those as well. Don't worry - he got me back plenty of times.

10. What one talent do you wish you had? Enough talent to play top-level competition in any sport.

11.What would you never do again? Swim in the rivers up north. As kids we didn't care that much if we saw a croc but i wont be jumping back in there any time soon.

12.What would be your ideal job? Captain of the Australian cricket team or physio for the lions.

13. I would never leave the house without my? Mobile phone.

14. What is your motto?
Motto for uni: "Work hard now so you can play hard later".

Motto for life: "Step out of your comfort zone at least once every day" or "Only the pain of a hard workout can save you the agony of defeat".

15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be? Take the mics off the umpires.

16. Who is your favourite cartoon character? Gil from the Simpsons.

17. Who inspires you? Friends.

18. What are you listening to? When you were young by The Killers

19. What are you reading? Does Cosmo count?

20. Favourite Movie? Gladiator.

21. Favourite TV show? The Simpsons, all British comedies, especially Dad's Army, Blackadder, The Office, Fawlty Towers.

22. Least favourite TV show? Home & Away

23. Favourite piece of clothing? My plugas, old bears jumper, and tracky-dacks.

24. Favourite AFL media personality? Dennis Cometti and Bruce McAvaney

25. What was the last meal you cooked? It's easy to recognise because it is usually followed by the smoke alarm going off.

26. Scariest moment in your life? Being caught in a rip for an hour at the coast - i ended up on the next beach. Also breaking my shoulder. I remember getting crunched and as i was lying on the ground i couldn't feel my hand. I thought i had injured my spine.

27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you? Generally anything along the lines of "Hey Roo, have a sip of this..."

28. Biggest Regret? I don't like to think about this as it's too depressing. Not making any of the Grand Finals would be one of them - i'll be there for our next one though. ;)

29. All time favourite player? No-one gets close to Voss. I doubt we will ever see another player like him.

30. Current favourite player? Vossy, Power, Black and Nige.

1. Place of Birth - Adelaide
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Fil or Filly
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Robin Williams as it would be a laugh
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Brought them a DVD set of Blankety Blanks
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - I was banned from watching telly when the lions were playng but couldnt remember what it was for
6. Your best and worst memory from school?
Best: School Choir performing at the Festival Theater
Worst: Bullied at school because of my weight
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? - Risotto
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - Italy to vist where parents were born, Ireland cause its beautiful and Brisbane so I can watch the lions at the GABBA
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - wasnt cleaver enough to think of any
10. What one talent do you wish you had - Sing - havent been able to since my voice broke
11.What would you never do again - Work on Grand Final Day
12.What would be your ideal job - Sports Commentator
13. I would never leave the house without my... Mobile Phone
14. What is your motto - havent thought of one yet
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - Scrap the ruck rule and change the holding the ball rule
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Samori Pizza Cats
17. Who inspires you - Tony Vidmar
18. What are you listening to - Robbie Williams, MatchBox20, Cat Empire & 90's music
19. What are you reading[/B -] Im in between books atmo
20. Favourite Movie - The Hurricane
21. Favourite TV show - Law and Order: SVU, Thank God Your Hear
22. Least favourite TV show - Survivor
23. Favourite piece of clothing - My Socceroo Top
24. Favourite AFL media personality - MMM Brissie Commenatay Team
25. What was the last meal you cooked - Rissotto
26. Scariest moment in your life - When I first head of the Sunami as I didnt know what part of asia it was and my best friend was holidaying in Asia at the time
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - ive been luck not to have that happen so far
28. Biggest Regret - Not going to Melboune and going to Lynchy's 300 game
29. All time favourite player
Lions: Alastair Lynch
Non Lions: Shaun Rehn
30. Current favourite player
Lions: Michael Rischitelli and Justin Sherman
Non Lions: Robert Harvey

Brilliant Work LL - Made me think!!

sherminator [B said:
20. Favourite Movie[/B]
City of God & American History X

City of God is on tonight on SBS at 10.00PM. I have read great things about this movie, I have not seen it so depends how the evening goes I may catch it my self. Although I am not a fan of Brazilian Realist Cinema.

1. Place of Birth
Sussex, England
2. Nickname as a kid and now
Scotty and JD
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why.
Chris Knox. A Kiwi Lo-fi musician who I have a great admiration of. I would like to say Ed Kuepper another musician I admire but I believe he is a man of few words.
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father
Not sure how to answer this. Might give it a miss.
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for
No memory of memorable punishments. My Mum reckons sending me to my room was good enough.
6. Your best and worst memory from school?
This is bad. I have no memory of the best or worst. I just went
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)?
I like food. I will try anything.
8. Your ultimate holiday destination
Anywhere. Have ticket will travel. I have enjoyed the South Island of New Zealand, London and Paris are awsome, Scotland I feel I have affinity with (Scotish on my Mums side). Cyprus was fun and The Alps in Austria ( he prattles on daydreaming about anywhere...........)
9. The best practical joke you have ever played
One of those you had to be there situations so not worth brining up.
10. What one talent do you wish you had
This changes yearly but now I wish I was a better chess player.
11.What would you never do again
Get married? :p.
12.What would be your ideal job
History teacher
13. I would never leave the house without my
The key and my wallet
14. What is your motto
Just get on with it.
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be
Nothing. Lets stop tampering for a few years.
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character
Mutley. Great laugh
17. Who inspires you
No one really
18. What are you listening to
I played Talkie Walkie by Air today. Fantastic record.
19. What are you reading
I am reading 2 books at the moment and they both have long names.:rolleyes: Crossing The Rubicon: The Decline Of the American Empire At The End Of the Age Of Oil by Michael C Rupert. Heavy going but very interesting to say the least. The Amateurs Mind: Turning Chess Misconceptions Into Chess Mastery by Jeremy Silman. All this book has proved is that I do not even have an amateurs mind, I have an imbeciles mind:eek:.
20. Favourite Movie
A Clockwork Orange:p. I have many favorites. The Piano is memorable.
21. Favourite TV show
At this time Extras and On The Couch.
22. Least favourite TV show
I don't watch anything I don't like.
23. Favourite piece of clothing
T-shirts and Jeans man
24. Favourite AFL media personality
John Barnes.
25. What was the last meal you cooked
Steak with Field Mushrooms, a creamy sauce over Spinach and Smashed Potatos.
26. Scariest moment in your life
There are 2. When my Father was given 3 months to live. The other in a differant way was being the first name called out for jury duty and not being challenged.
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you
"That piece of land is not worth it." This was in 1976 and the land was $5,000 and was over looking Coolum Beach.
28. Biggest Regret
Not travelling enough.
29. All time favourite player
Vossy
30. Current favourite player
Vossy

I answered the 30 questions so it won't hurt to add some extra stuff.

1. My name is Rohan.
  2. I am 14 years old, yeah thats right.
  3. I am fan of overseas movies. Japanese, Brazilian and Italian are my favourites.
  4. I love cult movies (David Lynch's Dune, Blue Velvet and Mulholland Drive spring to mind)
  5. I like fishing, lure fishing for bream.
  6. I am 179cm, 62kg. That is big for my age?
  7. I love animals, cats in particular.
Cheers

sherminator said:
  1. I love cult movies (David Lynch's Dune, Blue Velvet and Mulholland Drive spring to mind)

Impressive. Twin peaks is also superb. Have you read Dune? For that matter the entire Dune series? I feel that Lynch's cinamematic adaptation of Dune was one of his few failures. The book's scope was near impossible to cover in a 2 hour moive.

John said:
Impressive. Twin peaks is also superb. Have you read Dune? For that matter the entire Dune series? I feel that Lynch's cinamematic adaptation of Dune was one of his few failures. The book's scope was near impossible to cover in a 2 hour moive.

I am about to read Dune. Sadly I list a few from the top of my head :( I have actually watched about 14 Lynch films (Cinema/short/flash). If I were to list my favourite cult flicks it'd be about 2 pages long. Well, I am off to watchign City of God. 'Night everyone.

1. Place of Birth - Carlton VIC
2. Nickname as a kid and now - Rusty
3. Person you would most like to sit next to in a plane and why - Nathan Buckley, so I could tell him everything he wants to know about 01,02 & 03.
4. Best thing you have done/bought for your mother or father - Made them grand-parents & turned mum from a Collingwood supporter into a Lion.
5. Most memorable punishment from your parents and what was it for - Making me watch the Sound of Music because mum "liked it when she was little"
6. Your best and worst memory from school? Winning state championships at both cricket and footy. The worst was losing them as well!
7. Your dream dish (we mean food)? Mum's chicken pie.
8. Your ultimate holiday destination - The Kop at Anfield.
9. The best practical joke you have ever played - Always the same one - unstrapping my mates golf bag from the ride-on carts.
10. What one talent do you wish you had - Play a musical instument - Between golf, cricket, baseball, footy and soccer I never got time for music lessons.
11.What would you never do again - I'm all for trying something at least once but I'd never compliment the Collingwood FC.
12.What would be your ideal job - Pro golfer.
13. I would never leave the house without my - wife nagging me!!:D
14. What is your motto - Choose the behaviour, live with the consequence.
15. If you could change one part of the game or one rule, what would it be - Make a truely even fixture by playing every team once a year.
16. Who is your favourite cartoon character - Sylvester the Cat but I wish that at least one he could get his claws into Tweedy!
17. Who inspires you - My Famiy.
18. What are you listening to - anything recorded prior to 1990.
19. What are you reading - The Five Familes (Story about the history of the Mafia in the US)
20. Favourite Movie - Falling Down
21. Favourite TV show - The West Wing
22. Least favourite TV show _ Neighbours or Home and Away (The kids think our TV will blow-up if either of them air for more than 30 seconds - You've got to love the innocence of 5 and 7 year olds!
23. Favourite piece of clothing - Fully signed, match day 2001 grand-final jumper.
24. Favourite AFL media personality - David Schwarz
25. What was the last meal you cooked - Penne with sun-dried tomato pesto.
26. Scariest moment in your life - Emergency landing at Logan Airport Boston.
27. Worst piece of advice ever given to you - Always keep your eye on the ball whilst playing cricket.:eek:
28. Biggest Regret - Don't have regrets!
29. All time favourite player - Fitzroy - Garry Wilson. Lions- Who else? #3 Rest of Competition - Robbie Flower
30. Current favourite player - Jed Adcock and Glenn Archer

There are a few interesting trends starting to develop.
All of the more mature folk can cook and seem to cook more extravagant stuff than basic steak and chips while the younger posters pretty much can't cook
A lot of the older (for lack of a better term. No I am not saying you are old!) posters comment on their mums cooking in their favourite dish
People wish they could sing / play a music instrument and (whether divorced or not) have said they wouldn't get married again haha.

I am intruiged.

Ashli said:
There are a few interesting trends starting to develop.
All of the more mature folk can cook and seem to cook more extravagant stuff than basic steak and chips while the younger posters pretty much can't cook
A lot of the older (for lack of a better term. No I am not saying you are old!) posters comment on their mums cooking in their favourite dish
People wish they could sing / play a music instrument and (whether divorced or not) have said they wouldn't get married again haha.

I am intruiged.

Ashli before we go any further, I may well be in the older brigade, for want of a better term, but I don't think I'm anywhere near as old John:D

I think some of the 'older'(I hate that term), read 'mature', posters mention their mums and dads in general, due to the fact that you learn to appreciate your parents more as you get older. Don't get me wrong, we love our parents when we are younger but I think we only really appreciate what they have done for us as we get 'more mature' - not older.:D

Ashli, I believe your birthady is coming up. If you can't cook, do yourself a favour and get someone to buy you some cooking lessons for a present. The last thing you want to do is get to the age of 60 plus and being as bad a cook as my mother-in-law:cool: . Just think in 2047, you could be on a sight similar to this answering the following question.

Biggest regret in life?- Not listening to Crispy Creme. I should know how to cook and serve a meal consisting of Stracciatella, followed by Pesce con Zucchini, with a dessert such as Zuppa Inglese.

If not, at least know how to do a lamb roast to perfection!:)

crispy creme said:
Ashli before we go any further, I may well be in the older brigade, for want of a better term, but I don't think I'm anywhere near as old John:D

I think some of the 'older'(I hate that term), read 'mature', posters mention their mums and dads in general, due to the fact that you learn to appreciate your parents more as you get older. Don't get me wrong, we love our parents when we are younger but I think we only really appreciate what they have done for us as we get 'more mature' - not older.:D

Ashli, I believe your birthady is coming up. If you can't cook, do yourself a favour and get someone to buy you some cooking lessons for a present. The last thing you want to do is get to the age of 60 plus and being as bad a cook as my mother-in-law:cool: . Just think in 2047, you could be on a sight similar to this answering the following question.

Biggest regret in life?- Not listening to Crispy Creme. I should know how to cook and serve a meal consisting of Stracciatella, followed by Pesce con Zucchini, with a dessert such as Zuppa Inglese.

I wasn't making judgments on the parents thing, I just find it interesting how people's view of their parents and the concept of openly valueing them changes after being independant and having moved out for awhile. Most people's stance shifts from "they can be so embarassing and annoying" to "they have done so much for me, I didn't appreciate that enough and I wish I still had someone doing my washing and cooking now:p "

I have already figured out what I am getting for my birthday haha a couple months in advance but hey. However, I will promise to try and learn how to cook some basic things like a couple pasta dishes n my step mum was tellin me bout some sausage thing the other day that is apparently cheap and easy to make. I think I will stick to stuff I can pronounce though so that strac zucchini thing may have to go a miss!

goodwife.jpg

:eek: :eek: Over the cooler months of the year you should prepare and light a fire for him to unwind by.

At the time of his arrival, eliminate all noise of the washer, dryer or vacuum.

Remember, his topics of conversation are more important than yours!!

A good wife always knows her place.

Imagine mentioning those to your wife/girlfriend in this day. You would be shot!

I swear c- section is a term! and oh god, you had to take my post and put some gross connotations in there didn't you!

Warwick said:
:eek: :eek: Over the cooler months of the year you should prepare and light a fire for him to unwind by.

At the time of his arrival, eliminate all noise of the washer, dryer or vacuum.

Remember, his topics of conversation are more important than yours!!

A good wife always knows her place.

Imagine mentioning those to your wife/girlfriend in this day. You would be shot!
Well maybe not shot but in my case humiliated with raucous derision. :)

irel said:
City of God is on tonight on SBS at 10.00PM. I have read great things about this movie, I have not seen it so depends how the evening goes I may catch it my self. Although I am not a fan of Brazilian Realist Cinema.
Certainly is Realist Cinema irel. I must say Sherminator for a 14 year old your tastes in cinema are very mature and I do not mean that to be condescending. Stunning movie to say the least. Superb cinametography and the acting was top class. The script lost nothing in the English translation. Seeing it was based on a true story all I can say is that it has made me realise that if the sheer poverty and violence of the Rio slums is indicative of other large cities in Brazil in the 80's no wonder the nation struggled when it should have been thriving.

crispy creme said:

I like the term mature crispy. It has a hmmmm what word am I looking for?................. genteel...........a genteel feel to it:).

Your post reminded me of the famous saying by Mark Twain. "When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years." I have noticed this even in my own lad who is only 18 next year. A couple of years back he was not so interested in what the old man had to say but now he is even borrowing my Belle & Sebastion CD's. Now that is backs Twain up 100% ;).

Getting to know you!