Giants club song

Already posted my approval on the Main Board, but thought I'd mention it here: easily the best of the original songs. Fits in snugly with a lot of classic team songs without being based on a popular tune (that I know of), and I think ultimately, what expansion clubs should strive to do is engineer their image in such a way that in a few years, someone new to the game would never be able to tell that one team is much younger than another (To that end, I hope the guernsey becomes something more classic in a few years time as well).

Yeah the one posted by GWS definitely shortens the musical outro, while the one you posted trails off after/during the outro. I guess we'll find out when it goes over the PA at the ground...

After hearing it in the HS/Tele link I'm assuming the full song follows the "traditional" chorus/instrumental/chorus structure that other clubs have?

It does. There's quite a long musical interlude between verses so it's just a matter of where the two videos faded it out. I love the giants video with the dancing cardboard cut-outs, brilliant (& of course Cliffo looks great up front)

It does. There's quite a long musical interlude between verses so it's just a matter of where the two videos faded it out.

There is like dueling brass instruments (a trumpet and tuba?) in the interlude. Way better than a banjo.

While I am not completely happy with the team recruitment at this point and the inclusion of Canberra, they have nailed everything else. I love the colour scheme, love the name, love the team "theme" (US College style), love the Guernseys, think the logo is pretty good, the stadium looks amazing (but is in the wrong place) and I love the song.

The tune would not be out of place at a Beer festival...

I take it you have not been to a footy game then? Just glorified Beer festivals! :D

Something tells me our 'YELLOW AND BLACK!' will be the build up in 'and We WILL...'. Missed the call from robo-Sheeds at 11am today, no big, had already heard the song by then. And it's a corker! :thumbsu:

Absolute ripper.

Miles better than all the new clubs' songs and better than most of the established ones I reckon. It's gotta be close the the best overall.

It was good reading the info on the site too. Funny what happens when you actually hire an artist rather than some TV jingle writer. Suns, Power, WCE, (heave ho, heave ho, oh god no) Freo, ... take note.

If anyone finds the full version with the complete music-only middle bit and then a repeat of the words, could they please post it here? If they could that would be great. Thanks

I think the full version is up. I think it ends with the instrumental bit, there's no repeat of the verse at the end.

Definitely had a repeat verse after a long musical interlude on the robo-phone call last night. The version available from the giants site is a shortened single verse version.

More I listen to it, the more I love it, the best part of it for me is one simple thing. It's memorable, exactly what you want in a club theme, great work by Harry Angus of The Cat Empire who wrote the theme

Sounds really good, will look forward to hearing it at the game on Saturday

Giants club song