truebluenavyblues

May 4, 2007
Manchester United
Question, who would you rather have looking back in hindsight, Selwood or Gibbs? Opposition supporters will give me heaps for this but i must say i would rather have Gibbs, he has had the worst luck last year, playing out of position, with a crap coach, in a team with no senior leadership. I'm happy we took Gibbs at #1 and i believe that being in the midfield with Judd & Murphy & Stevens next year that he will show us that he is a brilliant player.

What are your thoughts on him? Looking back would you prefer we took Selwood or are you happy we took Gibbs?

It really depends of which way you look at it. Everyone knows that Gibbs was the best talent in the draft that year but we just havent seen it yet due to him being in the wrong playing pos and playing under the wrong coach. But based on what we have seen on the two everyone would have to take selwood. Seeing that selwood played in the best team this year and gibbs played in the 2nd worst team this year it is really unfair to say that selwood is better. Gibbs in the long run with murphy, walker, judd, simpson, stevens, carrazzo etc he will be better:thumbsu:

I'm not sure how much improvement Selwood has in him, whereas Gibbs has far more scope for improvement.

Gibbs may or may not have more improvement left, but that is complete conjecture. There is nothing at all to suggest the Selwood does not have as much or even more room for improvement. He has just finished his first season in the AFL, it is insane to think he is anywhere near his potential.

I think Gibbs will be very good, he may or may not end up better than Selwood, but I think they both have the games to become very good footballers.

As for who was the better talent? 12 months out from the draft I reckon Selwood was a monty to go number 1. His knee, like Judd's shoulders, meant he slipped down the pecking order.

I will be an interested spectator as the futures of both unfold.

I hope gibbs turns out the better player but i think probably selwood might be
a bit better at the moment. Didnt gibbs play in the back pocket for most of the year i cant remember. He didnt do too bad a job there but it wasnt the right position for him. Hopefully rats will give him a good go in the midfield next year.

I'm very happy with Gibbs.
Selwood is fantastic, no doubting that but he played around the best players of this year and I'm sure he'll flourish.
Gibbs will just get better, we can take this year for him as a great start, introduction to the big game and played on some massive opponents.
Can't wait for Gibb's in 2008!

I'm very happy with Gibbs. Whilst I think Selwood is a better player at the moment and may well end up being better over the course of their careers, I believe the risk surrounding Selwood's knee was not worth taking. We may look back in ten years time and liken Selwood's carreer to Lance Whitnalls.

talking to my geelong supporting friend last year before the draft, he laughed at me when i suggested that selwood should go no.2 behind gibbs. now he thinks the sun shines out of his pants. selwood was underated before the draft because he missed nearly 12 months of under 18 footy because of injury, and i remember reading somewhere that carltons recruiting staff suggest that it was between gibbs and selwood for the no.1 pick.

however that said, slewood had a much easier induction into the afl by playing in the best side. take nothing away from him he had a brilliant year and definately was a contributor in winning the premiership, i just think had they swapped sides for the year, gibbs probably would have won the rising star aswell

Question, who would you rather have looking back in hindsight, Selwood or Gibbs? Opposition supporters will give me heaps for this but i must say i would rather have Gibbs, he has had the worst luck last year, playing out of position, with a crap coach, in a team with no senior leadership. I'm happy we took Gibbs at #1 and i believe that being in the midfield with Judd & Murphy & Stevens next year that he will show us that he is a brilliant player.

What are your thoughts on him? Looking back would you prefer we took Selwood or are you happy we took Gibbs?

Selwood is a great player, but there was and still is questiona marks of his ability to improve further and a very dodgey knee (still). His knee will hold him back in due course.

There is no doubting his ability to improve at all, people say so on a forum and therefore that justifies doubt. As for "very" dodgy knees... Plenty of players come back fine from a reco and there is no reason he will not be another one that fits in that category.

There is doubting his ability to improve at all, people say so on a forum and therefore that justifies doubt. As for "very" dodgy knees... Plenty of players come back fine from a reco and there is no reason he will not be another one that fits in that category.

He didn't do his knee as result of landing awkardly or anything similar, the injury was caused by wear and tear. That is why he played on it for nearly 12 months before the operation. It was deamed at the time by the surgeon he was going to have similar W & T problems down the track. As for development your correct, one can't tell. The only real difference between the two is age: Gibbs only just scraping into last years draft.
Both will be great, but will be different players.

If Gibbs was playing in that Geelong midfield last year, I suspect he would have done as well as Selwood... Same could be said for many top 10 picks. Just my thoughts, but I've no doubt we made the right choice...

Joel Selwood's only skill is being able to accumulate possessions. Good but not great disposals; usually going the short option. Definitely going to be a good player but lacks the X factor that pundits are making out Gibbs to have.

At this point, Selwood gets the nod. Looking back though, there was no way we couldn't take Gibbs. He was the most talented player, he was hyped (which helps with membership), and there were no doubts whatsoever about his ability to play AFL football or injury concerns. With Selwood, there were injury concerns, otherwise the other factors hold.

I don't have any regrets in taking Gibbs - just as Hawthorn wouldn't have regrets taking Hodge over Judd; both are awesome players, and the circumstances are fairly similar (injury concerns). But I think there are several other clubs who slipped up badly in passing over Selwood...

Joel Selwood's only skill is being able to accumulate possessions. Good but not great disposals; usually going the short option. Definitely going to be a good player but lacks the X factor that pundits are making out Gibbs to have.

You obviously didn't watch many Geelong games cause if you did you
would have seen why the man won the Rising Star by a country mile

Puts his head over the ball as well as anyone else in the comp and his
disposal and decision making is first rate

Gibbs is good but Selwood is better

If they were only going to have a one year career, I would be taking Selwood, but this has a few years to roll yet.

Selwood is a deal older than Bryce and has brothers who have been through the system. Bryce not only had to adjust to the demands of AFL, but also being in a new state away from friends and family. Even accounting for the age difference, I think we could suspect a slightly longer period of adjustment for Gibbs and I doubt he would have won the Rising Star even playing for the Cats.

I would still be going for Gibbs. I remember waching his point against the Roos in the NAB cup. Jumped to contest the ball, won it and then hit the ground in almost lateral movement, twice evading a couple of Roos players to get a shot on goal. For a 17yo kid, it was great to see and gives an indication of what type of player this kid could be.

I am very happy with Gibbs
Thats what everyone said at the start read the first page of comments;)
to tell you the truth guys, ill say Selwood by a long way:rolleyes:

You obviously didn't watch many Geelong games cause if you did you
would have seen why the man won the Rising Star by a country mile

Puts his head over the ball as well as anyone else in the comp and his
disposal and decision making is first rate

Gibbs is good but Selwood is better
The Cats wanted Boak because he has legspeed.

I guess your club have no idea.

According to the Herald Sun, Geelong rated Gibbs and Selwood as the best two midfielders and Boak as the best running midfielder with pace. Bryce and the other five players picked before Selwood have more potential for improvement. Gibbs vision and skills are as good as Selwood, yet Gibs doesn't have dodgy knees and isn't limited in the positions he can play.

There are still doubts on Selwood's knee lasting more than 150 games.

Pelchen said this to a group of Hawthorn supporters when he gave a talk on the draft and Hawthorn's selections in Canberra.

They overlooked Selwood for Thorp.

Gibbs or Selwood