Gippsland Cricket Thread Part 2

Senors buddy and 2 senor country week trips aswell.

Hello dick**** he has been on one country week for SMCA, like to know when he top scored in a GCL final. Considering he has played in one and made 18....which surprise, surprise wasnt the top score....

Get your facts right before you start throwing shit around

How about we name Hendos team, the College first eleven, everyone has got a game....i chose my sides realistically on who will go and what they will probably be hence why there is no King or Massey as they wont go to country week....the players you have mentioned either a) dont want to go or b) cant go. So when the sides are picked we can compare as to what you and stu have said and what i have said.....i think mine will be closer.

Obviously John and I arent in the two best teams currently, but if your picking the two best teams your way out. Actually John was apart of a winning provincial Country week team so he would make it..no gieschen w variety and interestingly the second best bowler didnt get a game in magnuson...

speaking of love childs, take the rose coloured glasses off with Jack Tatt, as you can see I have said the bottom order can swing depending on situations, but I rate Jason Morrison at that level a little more experienced and proven at this moment in time.

Morrison is a better player than jack at moment, but i am saying that in that situation with that side that you have named, the number seven and eights probably will be batting with ten overs left, I would want both Jase and Jack in to belt shit even a Chris Aurisch would slot in there ahead of Trethowan who probably isnt as good a slogger as the above....

Ok, so, lets all pick players that we actually think will go to Country Week.

1 Aurich
2 Foster
3 Nicholls
4 Lanigan
5 Wrigglesworth
6 Sri Lankan (from Bundy, you would assume he will want to play all cricket possible and you would assume he will bat and bowl off spin)
7 Steve Parry
8 Jase Morrison
9 Jack Tatt
10 Ben Durrant
11 (hopefully Parry's mate, or Ian's pom are capable, cos, we look light on for genuine bowling options)
12 S Williams - the bowling spots are definitely up for grabs
13 S Noble

Others to be considered
Trethowan, Bolton, Hendo, Davidson, Mitch Floyd, Klasen,

The obvious omissions here are King, Tatterson, Anderson, Burgiel. I am sure as per usual with the latter 2 they will play a game or 2 work permittting and so on. Who knows, they may decide to go? Porkchop may be able to shed some light. These have obviously been left out due to the fact I think they won't be available, not because I don't think they are good enough, they are all brilliant players.

Caledonia - have assumed the 13 I selected all go to senior country week.

1 A Gieschen
2 B Hurley
3 Minto
4 Al Campbell - if not on international duty with Zimbabwe
5 Trethowan
6 Bolton
7 Wells
8 A Scott
9 J Phillips
10 M Nicholls
11 Henderson
12 Davidson
13 Klasen/Floyd

Undoubtedly, this is nowhere near the side that will go, as a lot will not be interested, however, that is a side which you would think would be competitive in that division.

From discussions held last year with players, Jase Phillips, Wellsy, Mark Nicholls and Simon Williams all were very keen to go. This is the basis of a good experienced side. As to whether or not anywhere near this quality of side can be put on the park is another matter. Unfortunately, in past years, it has not been possible. This ultimately, is what led to Caledonia not proceeding last year.

How about we name Hendos team, the College first eleven, everyone has got a game....i chose my sides realistically on who will go and what they will probably be hence why there is no King or Massey as they wont go to country week....the players you have mentioned either a) dont want to go or b) cant go. So when the sides are picked we can compare as to what you and stu have said and what i have said.....i think mine will be closer.

Obviously John and I arent in the two best teams currently, but if your picking the two best teams your way out. Actually John was apart of a winning provincial Country week team so he would make it..no gieschen w variety and interestingly the second best bowler didnt get a game in magnuson...

I think most people would name Anderson and Foster as walk up starts to SMCA country week and i reckon more people than not would name Trethowan in there side so i can't see how i was biased??????????? I didn't name Chris morrison, wellsy, matt davidson and sam morelli but only named those who should play in a all available side. Funny how the icon of SMCA cricket (N.Tatt) rates trethowan. I reckon he wold be well qualified to judge a batsmen. The reason there is three College players in it is because over the course they have been the best. You also named College to win the flag in a close race even though you know King has gone. Who then will step up a replace his runs and wickets????

No point naming S.Nicholls as he is not signed and would more than likley play at the toons.

Mugsy would not be pick ed as the side was selected on players that have signed or are playing and you reported that he s not playing. Olsten may also have been looked at but from reports he is also not playing.

Who ever is selected will depend on the Captain and his beliefs in winning one-day cricket.

If it is Wrig expect more spinners than quicks as he did last year. He almost won a Country week playing 3 spinners as his main bowlers and another part-time. Everyone said that side would be flogged and it missed the final by bonus points only on the last day. If it is Stuey he would play more seamers and maybe one main spinner and a part-timer.

Big news doing the rounds ------

Wurruk has signed the man mountain from Woodside T-Ron. He will be able to lift the roller with his left arm while the Keamothearapist crawls under to clean the motor.

I tip Wurruk to be a challenger to the top 4 this year.

Big news doing the rounds ------

Wurruk has signed the man mountain from Woodside T-Ron. He will be able to lift the roller with his left arm while the Keamothearapist crawls under to clean the motor.

I tip Wurruk to be a challenger to the top 4 this year.

The term "signed" is an interesting one that gets used a lot in cricket. Generally, in cricket, players are not payed. Clearances have not opened, and to lodge an electronic clearance, you do not actually sign anything. Unless he has written on a napkin that he is committing to playing at Wurruk, I would very strongly doubt that he has signed anything.

Take for example Jason Bruce. He hasn't signed anything, and won't sign anything until after the clearances open.

Now, back on to Ronaldson, the Wriggler and the doctor who specialises in the treatment of cancer have been telling anyone who will listen that they have "signed" T-Ron for the past 2 months. Now, when we played Woodside a while back, I spoke to the big fella, and said that he was playing at Wurruk, and he knew nothing about it. I was also told that he was a certainty to play at Wurruk because their Pom was living with him, and he told me that is a load of bullshit. It sounds like Wurruk are trying to drum up a bit of interest around the place by confirming signings which have not occurred.

Now, on to another point about "signings", T-Ron would not require a clearance due to the fact he is from another league. All that would be required is a registration form to be submitted to the league prior to the season commencing. So, you tell me, why a fairly astute bloke would commit to "signing" when his registration is a meer formality due to the fact he is from another league. He could well turn up to the first training run, which due to his football commitments wouldn't like be until mid September at the earliest and realise that there is no one within 10 years of his age in the 1st XI at Wurruk and decide he doesn't want to play there.

I would say the facts are that the big horse has been rang once every 3 days by Ian Wrig, and he has said, once footy is over, I will have a chat with ya, and Ian is getting around telling everyone he will play at Wurruk. Just like he told everyone that Buddah Massey, Nathan Fowler and Scott Schuback were all going to play at Wurruk with him when he first went there. I wouldn't worry too much about Wurruk's recruits until they actually turn out for the club. It is not a very attractive place to play at.

I think most people would name Anderson and Foster as walk up starts to SMCA country week and i reckon more people than not would name Trethowan in there side so i can't see how i was biased??????????? I didn't name Chris morrison, wellsy, matt davidson and sam morelli but only named those who should play in a all available side. Funny how the icon of SMCA cricket (N.Tatt) rates trethowan. I reckon he wold be well qualified to judge a batsmen. The reason there is three College players in it is because over the course they have been the best. You also named College to win the flag in a close race even though you know King has gone. Who then will step up a replace his runs and wickets????

No point naming S.Nicholls as he is not signed and would more than likley play at the toons.

Mugsy would not be pick ed as the side was selected on players that have signed or are playing and you reported that he s not playing. Olsten may also have been looked at but from reports he is also not playing.

Who ever is selected will depend on the Captain and his beliefs in winning one-day cricket.

If it is Wrig expect more spinners than quicks as he did last year. He almost won a Country week playing 3 spinners as his main bowlers and another part-time. Everyone said that side would be flogged and it missed the final by bonus points only on the last day. If it is Stuey he would play more seamers and maybe one main spinner and a part-timer.

Out of your grand final side

Foster
Moore
Hurley
Anderson
King
Trethowan
Wells
Malone
Morelli
Nicholls
Henderson

8 named not including yourself a bit of bias, and you didnt win the grand final.

I have named you as premiers as i believe if maffra lose who they look like losing they will drop off, i have presumed that S Nicholls is playing therefore you are probably getting a better batsmen than King. And with Mitch Davis playing you may be able to cover his bowling, i say this because Kingys home and away record wasnt that great last year.

As for trethowan, just drop it, i dont really care what anyone says until i see a full year from him where he is great i will change my opinion, until then i wont believe he is a great player.

I am one who said i thought you would push for the final at country week....

Whats wrong with Valey???

The term "signed" is an interesting one that gets used a lot in cricket. Generally, in cricket, players are not payed. Clearances have not opened, and to lodge an electronic clearance, you do not actually sign anything. Unless he has written on a napkin that he is committing to playing at Wurruk, I would very strongly doubt that he has signed anything.

Take for example Jason Bruce. He hasn't signed anything, and won't sign anything until after the clearances open.

Now, back on to Ronaldson, the Wriggler and the doctor who specialises in the treatment of cancer have been telling anyone who will listen that they have "signed" T-Ron for the past 2 months. Now, when we played Woodside a while back, I spoke to the big fella, and said that he was playing at Wurruk, and he knew nothing about it. I was also told that he was a certainty to play at Wurruk because their Pom was living with him, and he told me that is a load of bullshit. It sounds like Wurruk are trying to drum up a bit of interest around the place by confirming signings which have not occurred.

Now, on to another point about "signings", T-Ron would not require a clearance due to the fact he is from another league. All that would be required is a registration form to be submitted to the league prior to the season commencing. So, you tell me, why a fairly astute bloke would commit to "signing" when his registration is a meer formality due to the fact he is from another league. He could well turn up to the first training run, which due to his football commitments wouldn't like be until mid September at the earliest and realise that there is no one within 10 years of his age in the 1st XI at Wurruk and decide he doesn't want to play there.

I would say the facts are that the big horse has been rang once every 3 days by Ian Wrig, and he has said, once footy is over, I will have a chat with ya, and Ian is getting around telling everyone he will play at Wurruk. Just like he told everyone that Buddah Massey, Nathan Fowler and Scott Schuback were all going to play at Wurruk with him when he first went there. I wouldn't worry too much about Wurruk's recruits until they actually turn out for the club. It is not a very attractive place to play at.

Doesnt Trav Ronaldson have a broken foot and is out of footy for the rest of the season.

Hello dick**** he has been on one country week for SMCA, like to know when he top scored in a GCL final. Considering he has played in one and made 18....which surprise, surprise wasnt the top score....

Get your facts right before you start throwing shit around

When did i say anything about playing in the smca. he played in the BCA as a 16, 17 year old and did top score in a gcl senor grand final so get your facts right you *******.

Are you talking about the right bloke mate Travis Millar has never played a game for any other club than Stratford, either your an idiot or trying to piss me off purposely...

Probably true, hence why you quote before saying something.....because we were talking about Travis Millar and i mentioned Travis's name.

He didnt pick up on it.

Shinboner4life when have you played against Stuart Anderson....

Probably true, hence why you quote before saying something.....because we were talking about Travis Millar and i mentioned Travis's name.

He didnt pick up on it.

Shinboner4life when have you played against Stuart Anderson....

Yeah he is talking about Trethowan.

My take on Mark is that everyone should just wait and see how he goes this year before calling him a champion or a dud. He has got some good figures on the board already in a short time that cant be denied, but those runs also shouldnt be enough to make him a walk up start into GCL and Country Week.
If he continues making good runs then those guys who say his good will be right, and im sure the likes of Nugget and Mayhem will gladly put him in their top 20 lists.
He batted well against us, as a good batsmen should at Briag with our attack. I think Dyl Bolton did give him the most trouble but then again that could be because he was our best bowler not necessarily cos he is a spinner.
I hope he is welcomed into our league cos he is a nice quiet bloke and a good cricketer but i also hope he isnt put into the Sale Maffra side just cos he is meant to be good and plays at College.

Yeah he is talking about Trethowan.

My take on Mark is that everyone should just wait and see how he goes this year before calling him a champion or a dud. He has got some good figures on the board already in a short time that cant be denied, but those runs also shouldnt be enough to make him a walk up start into GCL and Country Week.
If he continues making good runs then those guys who say his good will be right, and im sure the likes of Nugget and Mayhem will gladly put him in their top 20 lists.
He batted well against us, as a good batsmen should at Briag with our attack. I think Dyl Bolton did give him the most trouble but then again that could be because he was our best bowler not necessarily cos he is a spinner.
I hope he is welcomed into our league cos he is a nice quiet bloke and a good cricketer but i also hope he isnt put into the Sale Maffra side just cos he is meant to be good and plays at College.
Hey, Who gives are rats arse about Nuggett and Mayhem. have a look at their stats. Nothing to add it speaks for itself.

Mayhem and Nugget are both good cricketers who struggled last year. Happens to all cricketers. They have both had good years too, i know 2 years ago Mayhem was top 10 in the league statistically.
Just cos your stats arent good doesnt mean u cant have an opinion or good knowledge of the game. If that was true there'd be no such thing as a sports journalist.
U obviously give a rats arse about what they say or u wouldnt have commented.