Gippsland League

looks like your wrong again nugget, where do you get your info from, or do you make it up for big footy

Mate I clearly said "unless you know something i dont' referring to Connelys employment. I honestly thought that he was working in another field until someone from maffra cleared it up.

I just make stuff up about cricket so morons like you believe it!!!:D

You could bet it wouldn't be located in Maffra thats for sure it would be over here in Sale like the rest of them.Not everybody can work at Murray Goulburn.These days the town of Sale supports three clubs through employment and sponsorship Sale ,Sale City (NGFL) and Maffra.Even the Maffra coach lives in Sale and runs a milk bar here .

Maffra is hardly employment opportunity central. Look at the comparisons between Maffra and Sale in population, area and business opportunities.
I dunno where you expect Sale City to go for employment other than Sale?

I often wondered why the first thing the people of Maffra do is every day is to drop to their knees facing the South South East and bow continually. They are obviously giving thanks for being fortunate enough to live so close to Sale. Maffra must indeed be the luckiest town in Australia.

Matt Johnston's wife is from maffra, he has been working away in the peninusula and made the move back to be closer to family I presume, obviously pretty easy for him to play at maffra. He is a massive ex Cowwarr boy so would not play elsewhere theoretically in the NGFNL.

Pretty simple decision to play at maffra as he is a classy footballer wanting to play at that level whether he is getting money or not is not the issue but he is not drawn to the Maffra football club he is just located there.

Of course he is drawn to the Maffra Football Club - he has played there previously and knows a number of the current players and support staff. I thought with your knowledge of the extended Johnston family you would have known that.

I don't doubt they will. They played a full ground zone on a small oval which makes it very effective and hard to play against.
Well would it be wrong to assume that maffra has a great reputation and it draws players on that (matt Johnston)? And Connelly got a job instead of a pay packet.
I dunno, are drouin offering jobs or what? I was told they had several ex-VFL players on money, i'll find out tonight the names.

Who are these VFL players they have recruited, I would also like to see who they have picked up that didnt play on saturday.

If they got money to spend good on them, and if they are under the points then thats good. Would probably still be about 15 blokes that played juniors at drouin in the side.

Connelly is working part time at steel line with burgs while looking for a building apprenticeship. Not exactly high paying. He isn't as esso if that's what ya thinking Nugget.

Can tell u now moe got connelly that job at steeline. he signed a contract with the club then dogged it to maffra because they alledgedly got him an apprenticeship. its interesting to hear he hasnt started an apprenticeship and is still workn at steeline. i watched him play saturday, and drouins ruckman tore him a new arse. he was ordinary

if thats the case, moe wouldnt want him anyway, if he's ordinary, moe are probably saving themselves a quid or two

Top answer!!! Hahaha. Always the way isn't it, when a bloke leaves a club or knocks back a clubs offer, they all say he is no good anyway and they aren't too fussed they missed out on him.

I can't wait to see him get 83 hit outs and best on ground against Moe.

I'm looking forward to travelling down to Warragul to watch the new Sale side play this Saturday. Plenty of new players, and returning players and from all reports, signs are good down there. I wouldn't expect they would be blowing anyone off the park in the first 3 or 4 rounds as they adjust to the new players and coach, however, once they hit full stride after the halfway mark, I would expect them to keep pace with most of the sides in the league.

I'll be sure to give you guys some insight on Sunday after I've seen them, but, I'm optimistic that there will be some good signs from the boys. Will be the first time in a while that I need a tagger at the gate on the way in, as there will be a few new faces that I am not familiar with from the sounds of the talk around town.

I often wondered why the first thing the people of Maffra do is every day is to drop to their knees facing the South South East and bow continually. They are obviously giving thanks for being fortunate enough to live so close to Sale. Maffra must indeed be the luckiest town in Australia.
As someone has already said Maffra isn't employment central but i don't see the need for the continual bagging Sale the town and the footy club by the Maffra faithful as goes on.The arrogance of trapsing down the main street of sale pissed and making absolute pricks out of themselves after winning grand finals even when sale wasn't involved .Say what you like about the Sale FC but when we won our last GF the last place our boys would want to have gone would be Maff town if at all.As for giving thanks for being located so close to the joint ,well it's got to be worth something when the majority of your players live and work in the town ,the major sponsors are Sale businesses ,at the very least just stop bagging Sale and quit the small town vs big town crap and admit that if Maffra fc just relied upon it's own town for it's survival ,it would probably be in the NGFL by now.

I'm looking forward to travelling down to Warragul to watch the new Sale side play this Saturday. Plenty of new players, and returning players and from all reports, signs are good down there. I wouldn't expect they would be blowing anyone off the park in the first 3 or 4 rounds as they adjust to the new players and coach, however, once they hit full stride after the halfway mark, I would expect them to keep pace with most of the sides in the league.

I'll be sure to give you guys some insight on Sunday after I've seen them, but, I'm optimistic that there will be some good signs from the boys. Will be the first time in a while that I need a tagger at the gate on the way in, as there will be a few new faces that I am not familiar with from the sounds of the talk around town.
The pre-season practice match program wasn't exactly huge either ,might take them a while to adjust.Not having a recognized ruckman is a bit of a worry too .

Top answer!!! Hahaha. Always the way isn't it, when a bloke leaves a club or knocks back a clubs offer, they all say he is no good anyway and they aren't too fussed they missed out on him.

I can't wait to see him get 83 hit outs and best on ground against Moe.
i dont recall saying he cant play. im pretty sure i said he was ordinary last week against Drouin. he was on an AFL list, he obviously has some talent. dont get me wrong, the lions were very disappointed to lose him but u move on. if he plays well against moe, good luck to him but he'll be rucking against a fairly handy player, remember Hancock received the most votes last season in the league B + F but was ineligable due to suspension, so we'll see how he goes!

Of course he is drawn to the Maffra Football Club - he has played there previously and knows a number of the current players and support staff. I thought with your knowledge of the extended Johnston family you would have known that.

To say he was drawn back to the club is a joke. yeah he played there previously, the way I interpreted what yummy said was that he was drawn back to play football there, no he wasn't! He has moved back to the area to be closer with his family, not to play football.

Yeah I am apart of his extended family, I wish matt well and cant wait to see him play on tim (his little brother).

i dont recall saying he cant play. im pretty sure i said he was ordinary last week against Drouin. he was on an AFL list, he obviously has some talent. dont get me wrong, the lions were very disappointed to lose him but u move on. if he plays well against moe, good luck to him but he'll be rucking against a fairly handy player, remember Hancock received the most votes last season in the league B + F but was ineligable due to suspension, so we'll see how he goes!

i heard connoly didnt play, what's the reason, hope it wasnt just a one week injury

Knee complaint. Even if it is a one week injury why risk making it longer?

Really got on the defensive quickly there.

He is not trying to say that the guy is weak for missing one week with a sore knee. He is giving the guy a compliment by saying he hopes he is still missing when they play against Sale.

I am not saying this is the case for every Maffra person, however, this is the prime example of a Maffra person having so much hatred towards people associated with Sale that they take offence to what a Sale person says, even when they are paying Maffra/Maffra players a compliment.

went down to warragul on saturday, brentin martin was at his sharp shooting best, slotting them from anywhere, also i reckon jordy dessent could be sale's trump card this year, can play anywhere from back, forward or in the middle, played very well & i also thought phil harris played well in the 2nds & will be inline for a call up next week

Spot on. Brenton may not kick 3 or 4 every week, but, when he is hot, he won't miss and can win games against any side. Damn right on Jord Dessent, hell of a player, strong, good skills, goes straight at the ball and will be very valuable. Had a good game on the weekend. Gooch in the ruck played very well, and I am sure Sale will be happy with his performance. The ruck seemed to be a position up for grabs, and I would think that we will be seeing Gooch filling that role for the year on his performance on the weekend. Jarrod Clohesy in his Sale debut played a good game and I am sure he will be glad he has taken the step up to play for Sale and Stasinowsky also showed some good signs after fumbling a few marks early. The defence looked very settled and organised, and I am sure that Craig Flint had a big role to play in that. His game was very composed and he looked the goods.

All in all, Sale looked rusty early, and improved as the game went on. Very promising signs for Sale, and a couple of guys to come into the side still, things are looking up for them I would say.

Really got on the defensive quickly there.

He is not trying to say that the guy is weak for missing one week with a sore knee. He is giving the guy a compliment by saying he hopes he is still missing when they play against Sale.

I am not saying this is the case for every Maffra person, however, this is the prime example of a Maffra person having so much hatred towards people associated with Sale that they take offence to what a Sale person says, even when they are paying Maffra/Maffra players a compliment.

I wasn't defending anything. I don't know the duration of his injury as he pulled out friday and I only found out Saturday. I'm just saying that if it is a precaution it is probably for the best so that he doesn't miss further football as he is our "gun" recruit.

I didn't even realise it was a Sale person who said that, I just quickly replied before I had to work, my reply would have been the same regardless of who said it anyway.

Can anyone tell me how Moe are travelling. Got probably the two hardest assignments first up against Traralgon and Maffra first up but were they blown away completely or will they stand a chance to make finals?

From what I can tell early it looks like Traralgon, Drouin and Maffra are the top teams to beat. Moe, Morwell and Sale will be the ones to battle it out for the rest of the finals placings.
Hard to tell early but from what i've been told Leongatha aren't a top contender and Warragul have completely gone down hill?

Moe weren't terrible on the weekend, just their skill errors were to frequent but Maffra played as good as I have seen, they pressured well and ran hard when they had the ball which was a good contrast to the week before. Also good for Maffra to debut two young players and have them perform well.

i heard allan chandler hasnt been playing because of injury can someone from the gippsland league confirm this? or maybe even duck yourself if you read this?