Gippsland League

Cut it out mate. He went to Darnum for 1 year, obviously got paid solid cash there. Other than that, he has played the last probably 8 - 10 seasons with Sale. I read a rumor that Hayden Burgiel was offered big dollars to leave Maffra, does that mean he loves cash, or that he is a good player. Just because someone offers Brenton Martin money to go play somewhere doesn't mean he loves cash. It probably means he is a good enough player to get cash, however, it would appear he is staying at Sale, which would mean he doesn't love cash.

Just heard that that's how it is, even at Sale. Never said there was anything wrong with it. Who would argue with handsome money to do something you enjoy and only part time really.

I read a rumor that Hayden Burgiel was offered big dollars to leave Maffra, does that mean he loves cash, or that he is a good player.

Yeah but the difference is that Burgiel didn't take it.

I'm not criticising Martin's decision or suggesting he isn't a good player because he is, but to suggest money wasn't the main reason he went to Darnum is absolutely ludicris and you know it.

Sure, I'm sure he enjoyed playing in a flag there but there was no link/loyalty before he went there.

$$$ talks.

As I said, I'm not criticising him (heck if I was getting offered that sort of coin I'd probably switch clubs to) but again, to suggest money wasn't the main reason Martin left is complete and utter crap.

Brenton Martin money to go play somewhere doesn't mean he loves cash.
I'm pretty sure he went to darnum for one thing, CASH, if it wasn't cash, why did he leave after one year??

Did you read the whole post. I made it fairly clear I thought. Marto has played 9 of the last 10 years with the same club. He left, for one season, obviously for cash, and then went back to his "home" club. If he loved cash so much, why has he played 9 of the last 10 years at the same place. Fair enough, he left for one year, decided he wanted a change, and then to head back to Sale. If that was the instance with me, I would go where the money was best as well. However, if he "loved cash", he would do it every year.

Yeah but the difference is that Burgiel didn't take it.

I'm not criticising Martin's decision or suggesting he isn't a good player because he is, but to suggest money wasn't the main reason he went to Darnum is absolutely ludicris and you know it.

Sure, I'm sure he enjoyed playing in a flag there but there was no link/loyalty before he went there.

$$$ talks.

As I said, I'm not criticising him (heck if I was getting offered that sort of coin I'd probably switch clubs to) but again, to suggest money wasn't the main reason Martin left is complete and utter crap.

Maybe re-read the post. At no stage did I say that he did not go to Darnum for money. What I did say was, that Brenton Martin has played all of his senior footy, other than 1 year, at Sale. If he "loved cash" as everyone is implying, then he would club hop from year to year to get the best deal. Basically, there was one year where he decided he wanted to do something different, so he took the best offer, which makes sense to me. Then, after that year, he decided to go back to his home club. If it was all about money, why didn't he take one of the other offers that he had last year which were up to double the amount he got to play at Sale?? The point that I am making is that Bairnsdale offered him money, he knocked it back. If he loved the money, he would have taken it, wouldn't he???

He was offered more to come back to Darnum this season, but declined. It is also fair to say that there were a few blokes from those parts to come down and have a kick.

They were obviously mates that got together after hearing of the dismal history of Nilma Darnum and decided they would try and make a difference. And to be fair, also, they were all bouyed by the fact that Mal Michael was signed to play, fresh out of the AFL.

So the coin was good, but for a guy that has played 9 out of 10 years at one club, there were obviously other factors that came into play.

WTF happened with Cowell & Sale?

He has apparently signed as coach of Bairnsdale over the last few days.

did the offshore job fall through or what?

massive news for the Redlegs and is sure to fuel the rivalry with Sale.

Massive loss to Sale. Devastating news for the club to go to that length to secure a player of that quality and to lose him at this time of year.

I wonder if Bairnsdale will target Martin even more heavily now, I assume knowing Sale and how professional they are Cowell would have been in contract and that nothing would have fallen through at there end.

Had been offered the job previously I wonder what exactly did swing his mind!

WTF happened with Cowell & Sale?

He has apparently signed as coach of Bairnsdale over the last few days.

did the offshore job fall through or what?

massive news for the Redlegs and is sure to fuel the rivalry with Sale.

If the story that I am hearing is correct, it is a credit to both Sale and Cowell how everything went down. Apparently he had agreed in principle to play at Sale. He then moved back over here and was approached by B'dale to coach them. Having a family connection (I believe mother/father on the committee) and the fact that B'dale weren't in the major league when he committed to Sale, probably had major impacts on him changing his opinion. He then apparently approached all the people that he had been dealing with at Sale, and informed them of his situation and that he believed that he wanted to take the opportunity to coach his home town club, that his family is involved with. Sale then said, we understand your decision and appreciate your honesty, and all the best for the year.

In reality, it is country footy. I would think that any contract that he would potentially have signed/not quite yet signed, would not be binding anyway, so the fact that he was upfront with Sale, and kept them informed throughout the process is probably a credit to him. The fact that Sale have chosen to take the approach that they can understand his decision and not attempt to draw out the situation, or portray the guy in a bad light is probably a credit to them.

Good to hear :thumbsu:

Story stacks up and yeah, his dad is an absolute legend at the Bairnsdale footy club from when it was last in the Gippsland League.

Damian Kerr ......Morwell ?????

Really??

Damien Kerr from Woodside? I thought he was playing at Sale, as he has some involvement with Gippsland Power and was intending on bringing some younger players to Sale. This could be false though.

Ive seen Kerr play, moves well - but getting on a bit.

Wouldnt think he'd make much of a dent in the Gippsland league.

Why is that? Cos none of them can be bothered doing the job wholely and solely on their own??? Sounds like a recipe for disaster to me!

I think its more or less because not any of them can commit to being there every day for the whole season from November to September.

I know Simmy is a sparky with a growing business and I think Makey has a job at the Desal so there is a real problem with day to day availability. You have 2 very experienced campaigners there. Im sure they will work well together.

Moe have bigger problems than that. Players arent recommitting due to the fact the ground wont be ready and they will be playing elsewhere again for the first part of the year.

who are these supposed players who arent committing to moe plug? because i know for a fact all contracted players from 2010 have re-signed with the club except fonz, chandler and mcmahon. so, again, name the players who wont commit. and as for the ground not being ready, u know as well as i do that the ground will be ready for rd. 1, theres no doubt about that.

You have to fell a bit sorry for Moe they had to do there ground as it will set there club up for years to come but inflict some short term pain.
I imagine they are very pissed off with Leigh Mcdonald who had committed to coach them for the 2011 season only to pull out after everything was agreed to. Leigh wouldn't be making to many friends with the LV sides as apparently he did the same to Traralgon last year but only as a player. Will be interesting when he plays both Traralgon & Moe next year to see if there is any niggle.

You have to fell a bit sorry for Moe they had to do there ground as it will set there club up for years to come but inflict some short term pain.
I imagine they are very pissed off with Leigh Mcdonald who had committed to coach them for the 2011 season only to pull out after everything was agreed to. Leigh wouldn't be making to many friends with the LV sides as apparently he did the same to Traralgon last year but only as a player. Will be interesting when he plays both Traralgon & Moe next year to see if there is any niggle.

Who is he playing for?

who are these supposed players who arent committing to moe plug? because i know for a fact all contracted players from 2010 have re-signed with the club except fonz, chandler and mcmahon. so, again, name the players who wont commit. and as for the ground not being ready, u know as well as i do that the ground will be ready for rd. 1, theres no doubt about that.

Rumour only however i heard james blaser is moving to western australia, would be a massive blow if true, as he is far and away their most valuable player

How many have followed tony price to YYN