Sep 9, 2000
Glenelg, Redbacks, Lakers
To the sturt supporters who came on here with the sour grapes attitude -
Glenelg clearly were the superior team, so what if sturt had squire out. Are you claiming you rely on 1 player ? Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team. Sturt are just bitter that they have not produced as many footballers for the AFL.I recall sturt whinging many times that Port magpies had so many players from the AFL. Good on them ! They put the effort in to producing talent then they should be rewarded. The better team won on the day and I think that Laurence Angwin WILL be one of the stars of the AFL in the future. He is the perfect size and dominated at times (and he is only 17 !). Kane Cornes, well he has the world at his feet, what a future ! Also, it was great to see the reserves play so well and it proves we have alot more depth this season. Next week will be tough but on yesterdays performance we will only improve which will definitely make it the match of the round. Go Tiges !

Originally posted by eastaugh36:
To the sturt supporters who came on here with the sour grapes attitude -
Glenelg clearly were the superior team, so what if sturt had squire out. Are you claiming you rely on 1 player ? Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team. Sturt are just bitter that they have not produced as many footballers for the AFL.I recall sturt whinging many times that Port magpies had so many players from the AFL. Good on them ! They put the effort in to producing talent then they should be rewarded. The better team won on the day and I think that Laurence Angwin WILL be one of the stars of the AFL in the future. He is the perfect size and dominated at times (and he is only 17 !). Kane Cornes, well he has the world at his feet, what a future ! Also, it was great to see the reserves play so well and it proves we have alot more depth this season. Next week will be tough but on yesterdays performance we will only improve which will definitely make it the match of the round. Go Tiges !

You have NO idea Easty. Michael Handby, Mark Harwood and Lawry Angwin didnt have anything to do with Glenelgs junior system. They were placed there by Port and the Crows.
You had one AFL listed player on the ground that went thru the juniors - Matthew Bode. Thats all. Sudjai Cook, and Brett Higgins were recruited from Norwood and Port respectivly. The only other 'AFL' players there were was Liptak, who is past it, and Golding who is useless at AFL level anyway.

Angwin is a sook...he spent most of the game on the ground whinging and crying.

Port had HOMEGROWN AFL players when sturt complained. Fiegert, Carter, Poole, Burgoyne, Chalmers, Brown - were all junior Port players, not players from victoria who were plonked at Port.
Glenelg did not dominate the game...they dominated the last half, but were SHITE in the first half...why else were they 5 goals behind at 1/2 time??

Good win, but dont brag just yet...and dont state things you know nothing about.

Originally posted by Macca19:

You have NO idea Easty. Michael Handby, Mark Harwood and Lawry Angwin didnt have anything to do with Glenelgs junior system. They were placed there by Port and the Crows.
You had one AFL listed player on the ground that went thru the juniors - Matthew Bode. Thats all. Sudjai Cook, and Brett Higgins were recruited from Norwood and Port respectivly. The only other 'AFL' players there were was Liptak, who is past it, and Golding who is useless at AFL level anyway.

Angwin is a sook...he spent most of the game on the ground whinging and crying.

Port had HOMEGROWN AFL players when sturt complained. Fiegert, Carter, Poole, Burgoyne, Chalmers, Brown - were all junior Port players, not players from victoria who were plonked at Port.
Glenelg did not dominate the game...they dominated the last half, but were SHITE in the first half...why else were they 5 goals behind at 1/2 time??

Good win, but dont brag just yet...and dont state things you know nothing about.

You obviously know nothing, Angwin WILL be a top player for the crows, you just had to see the game yesterday to know that.

Yup sure thing Easty...whatever you reckon. Funny how you didnt retract your statement that Glenelg have sooo many homegrown AFL stars.

I don't know what you lot are going apeshit over. All you are doing is playing for 5th spot in the five because the top four will be, and not in any particular order, Centrals, Eagles, Port and Norwood.

I have been told that Kane Cornes was the difference between the 2 teams. Perhaps his new found match winning ability is the product of a pre-season with an AFL club.. not the fact that he is with the amateurish Glenelg.. one win does not a season make. Roll on "Septober"

[This message has been edited by Blues_Brat (edited 01 April 2001).]

What I reckon:

That was a superb game of football. You'd have to look pretty hard to find a better game. Sturt was not bad, not by a long shot. They gave the Tigers a fair challenge; certainly outplayed them in the second quarter, if not for the whole match: The ABC stats leaned ever-so-slightly in Sturt's favour, while the stats in the paper had Sturt somewhat more on top of the Bays. Take nothing away from Sturt; they were far from disgraced.

The Bays were excellent. Coming out after half time they dug in and had a red-hot-crack at it. By 3/4 time they were still a point down, and Sturt looked to be in the box seat, coming home with a stiff breeze. Last year the Bays would have folded like the meek flock of lambs they were... but on Saturday they dipped in deeper, did the hard yards and ground out an impressive, fighting win. It was a treat to watch; been a long time since I've seen the Bays play so well... perhaps the best since the win over Port towards the end of '99.

A lot has been said about Cornesey's final quarter, but for my money the Bays best player was Ryan Smythe. He played a scorcher, making plays from nothing, was in many contests, and laid a few bone-crunching tackles. Raidis up forward was more than seviceable, and Angwin does deserve a mention though I wasn't too impressed with his kicking - but he did settle into the game better after half time.

Next week coming up against a fresh Port out at the wharf, I don't see the Tigers getting up. In fact I doubt it will even be close, despite Saturday's poor showing. Nevertheless it looks like the Bays' season will be a lot better than last year's dismal effort.

A final piece of trivia: The Sunday Mail reported that Carman has not won a round 1 match in 7 seasons at Sturt.

It's great to have the footy back - best luck to all in the coming season.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
I have been told that Kane Cornes was the difference between the 2 teams. Perhaps his new found match winning ability is the product of a pre-season with an AFL club.. not the fact that he is with the amateurish Glenelg.. one win does not a season make. Roll on "Septober"

[This message has been edited by Blues_Brat (edited 01 April 2001).]

isnt it a great time ! The bays finally with a list that has depth, great to see all grades get up, we most probably will go down but bring on round 2, we have nothing to lose.

Uncle Steve: Finally a Glenelg supporter who we can have a decent discussion about football with. I forward the motion the we eliminate eastaugh and make Steve the resident voice of the Bay.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat:
Uncle Steve: Finally a Glenelg supporter who we can have a decent discussion about football with. I forward the motion the we eliminate eastaugh and make Steve the resident voice of the Bay.

excuse me ! read the opening post on this topic. It was a sensible one with facts in it.

To those who were at the game could you please decribe how and where K Cornes won his posessions. I did not see the game but have read/heard sensational reviews about his performance.
As far as the Angwin debate goes what I have seen he does look to be a bit of a sook but is still adjusting to senior football, however looks the goods to me.

excuse me ! read the opening post on this topic. It was a sensible one with facts in it.

ARE YOU JOKING?!?!

Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team.

Even though you are a completely brainless imbecile, I thought you at LEAST knew the facts about your own team. But no, you have plummetted to an all new low.

Lawrence Angwin and Michael Handby aren't even from SA, let alone went through the grades at Glenelg! The only reason you ended up with them, is because they were drafted to the Crows from Dandenong!

As Macca said... most of the other AFL players you were going on about were from other clubs, and even other states altogether!

It was a sensible one with facts in it.

Sensible? What a joke - it's laughable!
Facts? Your facts WEREN'T TRUE, let alone make sense.

Yet another post of complete idiocy, freshly picked from the Easty anus.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

My thoughts exactly Go South.. I bet this guy gets punched out at the footy .... by his own supporters for embarrasing them and perpetuauting the stereotype of the Glenelg supporter (loud mouthed know nothing).

No Easty
Fact: Thing that is known to exist or be TRUE

Your post was full of lies. Glenelg were not hte superior team all day...if they were so superior they wouldnt of been goals down at half time.
Glenelg had One current AFL homegrown player in their side...not all of them l ike you stated.
Hence they are lies...therefore they are not facts

I love the way that Sturt and South supporters band together against other clubs, particularly Glenelg. Maybe the fact that your clubs havent won a premiership(senior)in so long gives you something in common. And funnily enough although it is only monday you seem to forget that both of your teams lost this weekend.

Originally posted by Justin:
I love the way that Sturt and South supporters band together against other clubs, particularly Glenelg. Maybe the fact that your clubs havent won a premiership(senior)in so long gives you something in common. And funnily enough although it is only monday you seem to forget that both of your teams lost this weekend.

Macca19 doesn't follow Sturt or South - He is a Port supporter.

We weren't banding together against Glenelg... more banding together against the prize w***er himself - 'eastaugh36'. It isn't just Sturt and South supporters that band together against him - it is basically the whole of Big Footy.

Take a look at any of his past topics and postings, and you will see why.

------------------

Originally posted by Go South:
Macca19 doesn't follow Sturt or South - He is a Port supporter.

We weren't banding together against Glenelg... more banding together against the prize w***er himself - 'eastaugh36'. It isn't just Sturt and South supporters that band together against him - it is basically the whole of Big Footy.

Take a look at any of his past topics and postings, and you will see why.

and you dont have to worry about south winning a flag for a long while yet !

*blah blah... the usual crap*

Isn't it funny, how whenever you're proven wrong, you completely ignore the fact, and go on about something completely different.

Take a look at the bottom of Page 1.

------------------

I wasnt proven wrong at all.
Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge but in the last quarter kicking to the non scoring end against the breeze Glenelg kicked away to be the worthy winners. Glenelg had 2 home grown AFL players where were Sturts ? They complain about AFL listed players but they have just as much of a chance to get them in the mini draft as any other club so where are they all ? Apart from Squire sturt were at full strength and Glenelg had many players out such as Mcentee,Ottens and Moore etc. who would clearly be in Glenelgs best team when fit.

Glenelg (or any other sanfl club bar sturt) should be praised for having so many AFL listed players as it proves they can develop their juniors into making it to the big league and its a just reward to have them play when not in their AFL team.

There were 2 AFL listed players that went through the juniors. You then went on to rave about Lawrence Angwin - he had nothing to do with Glenelg, or it's junior program!

Do you need a lobotomy or what? Surely you're joking - noone could honestly be that thick

------------------

Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge

?!

So you're saying 'it was all Sturt' for three quarters - but somehow, Glenelg were 'clearly the better side'

Seek help - I don't think even YOU know what you're talking about.

------------------

I wasnt proven wrong at all.
Glenelg were clearly the better side, up until half time it was Sturt and even at 3/4 time Sturt had the edge but in the last quarter kicking to the non scoring end against the breeze Glenelg kicked away to be the worthy winners. Glenelg had 2 home grown AFL players where were Sturts ? They complain about AFL listed players but they have just as much of a chance to get them in the mini draft as any other club so where are they all ? Apart from Squire sturt were at full strength and Glenelg had many players out such as Mcentee,Ottens and Moore etc. who would clearly be in Glenelgs best team when fit.

Sturt have a chance of getting players in the mini draft??? Now I've fu(king heard it all, we actually do well in the seasons so we don't often get picks. Glenleg, like normal, were bollocks last year so they got a donation of Laurence Angwin and Michael Handby. Two guys who'd probably never heard of Glenelg before and you being the tosser that you are try to claim it was Glenelg's junior development??? If only you knew how stupid you sound.

and you dont have to worry about south winning a flag for a long while yet !

Nor Glenelg.. we may not have won a premiership in some time but 1986 is hardly last week. Eastaugh, youre starting to make Peter Carey look like a nuclear physicist.

I'll just add my two cents worth. Keep it going in regards to the mindraft, there is one side that hasn't had a pick in the last two mini-drafts - the Eagles. And yes, they do have a junior development program.

Glenelg win !!!!!!