Goddard

MC_Gusto

Feb 12, 2004
SAINTS
Criticised to no end on this site...credit where credit is due has had an awesome season and backed it up with a superb game against the pies.

Well done BJ would be leading the saints b&f I reckon.

He will have a huge impact come finals...

He's improved in leaps and bounds this year. Still amazes me how they dropped him earlier this season, and he was playing well at that time too. He's been awesome for me in DT, consistently getting 100+ :thumbsu:

Re: Goddard= AFL MVP

Brownlow, maybe, MVP, no - Hardly has an opponent, so not as valuable.

I said weeks back that Thompson has great odds, haven't seen the incident on his report, but he would go close.

Bout bloody time!!!!!

Well done to him, a great 2 months of footy, single handidly saving my dream team too. He has really taken Lenny Hayes role and ran with it

Embers said:
Bout bloody time!!!!!

Well done to him, a great 2 months of footy, single handidly saving my dream team too. He has really taken Lenny Hayes role and ran with it

He only recently turned 21 mate, what were you expecting? And btw he doesn't play Lenny Hayes role.

He's had a brilliant season.

He DID cop a lot of crap....but #1 pix that arnt nippy inside midfielders always do.

Old school skills....marking and kicking.....not a 100m runner like many seem to expect from a 6'2-6'3 bloke.

I can see why he went at #1...he's probably dropped a yard of pace since bulking up for AFL and now he's running against greyhounds most games.

Same timescale as Luke Hodge....he went at #1 in 2001 and only hit his straps last yr....seems to have been around awhile...hard to believe he's only 21.

Had a fantastic season. Wouldn't trade him for anything less than a special special player. Loved his goal today. Was awesome. Love how he makes players go to where he kicks it. :D

bangko-bangko said:
Due?

So I guess you'd be critising Marc Murphy now??

Pull ya head in

Are you saying he's been faultless his whole career:confused:

Marc Murphy has been a lot better in his first year than Goddard was in his.

Grimreepah said:
Are you saying he's been faultless his whole career:confused:

Marc Murphy has been a lot better in his first year than Goddard was in his.

Hardly. But to expect an 18/19 year old to walk straight in to the AFL is riduclous. He has always shown signs that he would be a great player yet people like you bagged the crap out of him because he wasn't starring.

bangko-bangko said:
Hardly. But to expect an 18/19 year old to walk straight in to the AFL is riduclous. He has always shown signs that he would be a great player yet people like you bagged the crap out of him because he wasn't starring.

Until someone is good, they aren't good. When someone isn't good then they can expect criticism. Murphy has been good from the outset, Goddard hasn't. The criticism was justified.

Grimreepah said:
Until someone is good, they aren't good. When someone isn't good then they can expect criticism. Murphy has been good from the outset, Goddard hasn't. The criticism was justified.
Not quite right. In Goddard's first season his disposal & setting up of other players was very good. Frankly there were many times when I wanted him to have the ball because he was so skilled in distibuting it to others.

After that 1st year I think a lot of other clubs wised up to him and deliberately ensured that he was put under pressure as much as possible which directly contributed to him having less effect in matches. Partially because of that & also because he's never been able/had the opportunity to settle into a position which he might call his own he has always been a work in progress.

I don't think that theres any doubt that before this year BJ has not fulfilled his #1 draft ranking which is reason for some of the sledging which has gone his way. However, I think that a lot of people are all too ready to slag off at kids before they have had adequate time to prove themselves & what some people said about Goddard over the last year or two shows this only too well.

Prefer our pick at 45 that year, Kade Simpson. May not have taken him if we had our earlier picks. Hard runner who gets right into the think of it and uses it well, not a softish midfielder with no opponent who get cheap kicks.

On the credit side Goddard has kicked right on this year and he does use the ball well. Next step will be to see how he goes if he's made accountable.

Goddard