Going To Gigs On Your Own

probably a 50/50 split on having gone to gigs with others and having gone on my own. since moving to melbourne been to far more on my own. most of the mates i've made down here are into electronica.

sometimes works better cause you just go for it. sometimes works worse cause you don't have a mate to buzz off.

in general if your on your own heavier bands are better cause everyone else is fired up and into it anyway.

Only been to a gig on my own once - Shihad (back when they were Pacifier:eek:) and that was only because I was on holidays in Melb and no-one wanted to come with me. I do go to the movies on my own quite often, however.

• Banned
Only been to a gig on my own once - Shihad (back when they were Pacifier:eek:) and that was only because I was on holidays in Melb and no-one wanted to come with me. I do go to the movies on my own quite often, however.

You didn't go see Toy Story 3 on your own did you?

I'd actually find it a bit more obtuse going to the movies on your own..

Actually, I went and saw Toy Story 3 on my own, although in my defense I had absolutely rooted my AC joint on the snow two days earlier in NZ, my mates were all on the snowfields and i had a few hours to kill before a flight back home.

As for gigs on my own, before Metallica I had been to the four gigs before that on my own (Bodyjar, You Am I, The Meanies, Frenzal Rhomb). Not that many close mates like alot of the bands I do, or enough to go up to sydney to see them, so I usually end up on my own for these shows. I dont really mind anymore, I just wanna see certain bands play live. It's a bit weird between bands, but if you're at a venue like the Annandale you can often just chill watching the footy between bands and that seems to work. Once the band is playing it doesnt matter at all, you're watching them, not talking to your mates.

I reckon there was a thread on this not long ago...

But as my memory is hazy, I had never considered it but due to circumstances went to ECSR at the Excelsior in Sydney on my own and had an absolutely amazing night including getting on the piss with the band.

Just do it.

I've done it a few times, and had no regrets. If it's a band you really like, and nobody else is available/into it, there's no point missing out. If it's a big festival like BDO, sometimes it's actually easier and more fun to get around alone, see whatever you like and mingle with randoms. You usually end up running into someone you know around the place anyway (you do in Adelaide at least).

I'd actually find it a bit more obtuse going to the movies on your own..

I go to the movies a lot on my own. It's not as if you're talking once the movie starts. However, I go in a time slot that is a lot more acceptable to be alone, such as a weekday afternoon. If you go to the movies alone on a Friday or Saturday ngiht it does make you look like a bit of a loser.

I go to movies and gigs on my own pretty regularly. If none of your mates want to go but you do then why should you miss out?

Footy's the same. I go for West Coast but live in Melbourne so if the boys are playing here I might go by myself if I can't find a mate that goes for the opposition. Being an MCC member makes it easier because you can just walk up and see a game if you're bored.

1234525508_ben_stiller_-_do_it.gif

If you wanna see the act bad enough, you'll go it alone. Lived in UK in 90's and didn't know too many with same musical interests. Some of the best gigs I've been to (Melvins, Ween, Frank Black, Fugazi). Just do it.

Most of the gigs I attend are alone, it's not exactly easy to find someone to go to every gig I attend though (120 gigs last year), so I just buy one ticket to most gigs and if a friend happens to be attending I'll catch up with them there.

Have ditched mates at festivals a few times to go see bands/artists I was really keen to see, don't regret it at all.
This. Standard festival procedure for me to end up on my own watching some band. If I've paid over 100 bucks for a festival and been dragged with mates to see some average music I wanna actually see the bands im most keen for, eg Homebake a few years back mates were watching Bliss and Eso and Cut Copy, I went off to see You Am I and Crowded House, much better!

I figure if you're going to a band with either a seat or the moshpit you aren't going to sit/stand there and chat to anyone once the band comes on anyway so i have no qualms about going by myself. The only thing i do is get there just before the band comes on and then leave straight away rather than get there early and have a beer and a chat.
If you're desperate to see a band then you'll do it.

in terms of footy i almost prefer going on my own so i can watch the game with minimal distractions. cricket would be the same, but it's too long to have to sit on your own with loads of people around.

Who regularly does it?

Contemplating going to a few smaller gigs alone after always having a couple of mates with me.

I went to pixies on my own which was shyte. I would have gone to four tet and caribou on my own if i didn't find people to go with.

I don't have a problem with it at all, just do it.

This. Standard festival procedure for me to end up on my own watching some band. If I've paid over 100 bucks for a festival and been dragged with mates to see some average music I wanna actually see the bands im most keen for, eg Homebake a few years back mates were watching Bliss and Eso and Cut Copy, I went off to see You Am I and Crowded House, much better![/quote]

Elitist !!!!

I have been to plenty of gigs on my own. I currently have tickets to see The Gwilym Simcock Trio (jazz) and Jack de Johnette (jazz) at the Perth Arts Festival. My wife wasn't keen so I booked to go alone. I have friends that I go to see jazz with but recently 2 of them were living in China and one was in Europe on holiday so I did not ask them. I went to see Branford Marsalis alone last year and he was incredible so it is not worth missing something just because you have nobody to go with.

My wife is not as keen on the Blues and Roots line up as me this year so I have booked one ticket. As it happens, I know plenty of people going so I will catch up with them, but when a band starts, it is always about the music.

Going by yourself is fine. Sometimes you can meet and talk to new people there anyway, and most people are just focused on the music. If I got a friend that is into the band as well, thats great, makes for a great night as well, but if not, doesn't stop me from going. No use dragging someone along that isn't interested in the music for the sake off company, hard to enjoy the night that way.

Agree. No one cares how many people you are with anyway. If anything, you are not interrupted by people calling out the setlist or yelling out stupid things.

If anything, you might meet up with others who are in the nearby and might even find a new friend.

Going To Gigs On Your Own