Golden Rivers FL

glen_winderlich said:
check out Mondays Guardian...

Death Notices - Brad Cliftons Footy Career

Not true, I was at the game and thought that Brad played quite a good roll up forward, and had he have had a bit of luck go his way, he could have ended up with a couple. As it went he didnt, but he will still hold his spot.:thumbsu:

Results of round 2

Wakool quite easily over Wandella
Ultima over hay in low scoring contest
Nully VERY VERY easily over Moulatown
Quamby over Macorna

Any thoughts on these results.:thumbsu:

champ said:
Not true, I was at the game and thought that Brad played quite a good roll up forward, and had he have had a bit of luck go his way, he could have ended up with a couple. As it went he didnt, but he will still hold his spot.:thumbsu:

did you happen to miss the amount of time that he sat on the bench? you'd think a big bloke like that would spend the whole day on the ground...

jimmyboy said:
Results of round 2

Quamby over Macorna

yes, i am a pathetic tipper. have no idea about the rest of the league, but get on the marooners.:thumbsu:

jimmyboy said:
Results of round 2

Quamby over Macorna

Hay easily accounted for Wakool last week at home but struggled on the road. Wakool had 5 extra recruits on Saturday apparently (big $$$). No real upsets!:cool:

glen_winderlich said:
check out Mondays Guardian...

Death Notices - Brad Cliftons Footy Career
clifton is going through the same heartache as west coasts michael gairdner. Clifton has to decide whether he wants to be a senior footballer with hay in the GRFL

alfie said:
clifton is going through the same heartache as west coasts michael gairdner. Clifton has to decide whether he wants to be a senior footballer with hay in the GRFL

He'll be right, not quite in the same boat as Gardiner, Clifton is still allowed to train with his club, but he didn't get great supply from a team that was missing a fair few from the week before and he was carrying an injury. He will admit he aint fit, but he aint the only one. ultima looked ok. Nat Condely spoke well and still has his side playing a good running game. At this stage there looks to be about 6 teams in the hunt...early days tho....Go Moula

iamfooty said:
He'll be right, not quite in the same boat as Gardiner, Clifton is still allowed to train with his club, but he didn't get great supply from a team that was missing a fair few from the week before and he was carrying an injury. He will admit he aint fit, but he aint the only one. ultima looked ok. Nat Condely spoke well and still has his side playing a good running game. At this stage there looks to be about 6 teams in the hunt...early days tho....Go Moula

he may be allowed to train with them but from what i saw it didnt look like he had been...

glen_winderlich said:
he may be allowed to train with them but from what i saw it didnt look like he had been...

Well, I'm sure he'll take your comments on board. Know-it-alls like your good self often provide players like Clifton some motivation to answer your criticism, then again, players like him probably couldn't give a rat's A-hole abou what you see or think. As the great Chopper Read once said in H division "Beethoven had his critics too"

iamfooty said:
Well, I'm sure he'll take your comments on board. Know-it-alls like your good self often provide players like Clifton some motivation to answer your criticism, then again, players like him probably couldn't give a rat's A-hole abou what you see or think. As the great Chopper Read once said in H division "Beethoven had his critics too"

well i look forward to him proving me wrong, but im yet to see him perform in at least the last two years so i call it as i see it. you seem to be putting up a fair fight here, good mate of Cliftons or perhaps a close relative?

glen_winderlich said:
well i look forward to him proving me wrong, but im yet to see him perform in at least the last two years so i call it as i see it. you seem to be putting up a fair fight here, good mate of Cliftons or perhaps a close relative?

I am related...closer than you think Glenny boy:thumbsu: .
I was watching the game on the weekend and while a lot of talk centres around the Condelys and O'Toole at Ultima, Brendan McKenzie is the story of the year. He showed he is one of the best ruckman in the comp with his effort against John Fitzpatrick (2005 league runner-up B&F). I have rarely seen Fitzpatrick beaten, let alone matched in the centre square and around the ground. McKenzie is without a doubt the most improved player in the comp and it is fair to say Ultima would be in a lot of strife without him this year, particularly with Sam Cleary out.

Hey Jimmyboy, can you give me a run down of his pre-season training program....I know somebody who would love to have it :)

iamfooty said:
Hey Jimmyboy, can you give me a run down of his pre-season training program....I know somebody who would love to have it :)

After contacting my mole in the UFNC ranks, and quizing them on McKenzies training program, they say that he didnt do anything unusual, it seems that over the whole pre-season and up until now, he has only missed three sessions, which would be a good base for most players. On to your next point, my mole says that Ultima dont see him as the most improved player, he was just very underrated by opposition clubs last year and Ultima always knew that he was a big key to them being successful. He is set for a great season.:thumbsu:

Nominations for Goal of The Week: Ultima v's Hay

1 - Ben Mahon's wonderful snap from the cricket nets.
2 - Dwayne Grey pushes opponent under ball, explodes & goals from Mud Hut.
3 - Aitken drops chest mark in goal square kicks goal off turf.

glen_winderlich said:

Well i wish him the best of luck in his efforts to silence the critics, not sure if he will ever reach the stature of beethoven though:D
Did he steal a chop off your BBQ Glen? or just feel like a good pay out on a bloke down on his luck? :cool:

Break-away said:
Nominations for Goal of The Week: Ultima v's Hay

1 - Ben Mahon's wonderful snap from the cricket nets.
2 - Dwayne Grey pushes opponent under ball, explodes & goals from Mud Hut.
3 - Aitken drops chest mark in goal square kicks goal off turf.

Aitken drops chest mark in goal square kicks goal off turf would get my vote from all reports!!!! :thumbsu:

wakool are surpose to have a couple of good rucks, 1 of them is a former league medallist in divvy 1 diamond valley and the other is surpose to be really handy who has been wakool's best in both there games.

it should be interesting when they come up against these other good rucks in the comp.

boora said:
wakool are surpose to have a couple of good rucks, 1 of them is a former league medallist in divvy 1 diamond valley and the other is surpose to be really handy who has been wakool's best in both there games.

it should be interesting when they come up against these other good rucks in the comp.

Yeah, i've seen Matt Graham play. Long pony tail and pretty big. Great leap on him and very aggressive in the ruck. Jumps into his opponent well. Can also play forward and loves a goal. They start Adam Pollock in the ruck, big unit but ruck is his limit.....haven't seen this other character....

iamfooty said:
Can anyone tell me if the great Ryan Currie is getting a kick at Nullawil? Massive recruit from Woorinen...superstar....

Not real well, I don't even have to have any feedback from people that even know. I am footy you can not be serious?????????

iamfooty said:
Yeah, i've seen Matt Graham play. Long pony tail and pretty big. Great leap on him and very aggressive in the ruck. Jumps into his opponent well. Can also play forward and loves a goal. They start Adam Pollock in the ruck, big unit but ruck is his limit.....haven't seen this other character....

ryan smith played his 1st game of footy for them on the weekend, about 6"5, very good mark, nice kick and their new go to man at chf i have been told, he would have to be about mid 30's now i reckon but the grfl standard is no diamond valley (that ain't any disrespect to the guys in grfl).

they signed clint wheatley (older bro of paul from melbourne) he can play about 6"2 good mark, nice kick can play onball/chb/fb and adam kearney abit of a goal sneak who is an alright player still when not injured.

if they don't win the premiership this year with all these players they will be spewing, considering the $'s they have spent.

Bowser said:
Aitken drops chest mark in goal square kicks goal off turf would get my vote from all reports!!!! :thumbsu:
aitken should of let it just go through then i would of had another to my name. hunger!

boora said:
if wakool don't win the premiership this year with all these players they will be spewing, considering the $'s they have spent.

How many of these blokes train with wakool, or do most of them travel on Saturdays? (6 foot 5 inches, that is a very big man, are you sure about that):thumbsu:

champ said:
How many of these blokes train with wakool, or do most of them travel on Saturdays? (6 foot 5 inches, that is a very big man, are you sure about that):thumbsu:

there training at a dv club in melb here, they are travelling fri nite well so they say there's around 11 of them, i think that are making the trek weekly. yeah around 6"4-6"5 i remember he is a big unit well height wise anyway and was very agile/mobile when i last seen him play afew year ago and with his exp would be hard to match up on.

boora said:
there training at a dv club in melb here, they are travelling fri nite well so they say there's around 11 of them, i think that are making the trek weekly.

Eleven :eek: thats a massive recruiting season $$$ from the Wakool boys. If they dont win the flag this year, i wonder if there will be a club next year? These blokes wouldnt be cheap. Do you know if they are all available to play nw or are some still waiting on clearances etc.:thumbsu: