Golden Rivers FL

Hey boys i last played in this league in 95 just mondering why is Hay struggling, should they be in the league and who are the gun players running around out there?

Hay could not field a seconds side during the second half of this season, so at the moment lack of numbers would be their biggest problem. On top of that, over the last 10 years they have appeared to have a losing culture at the club. Players seem to drop their bundle easily and blame others (umpires, teammates, etc) rather than taking resposibility for their own performances.

They have had some good kids come through the juniors, although these juniors either leave or seem to lose their way in the seniors.

No doubt they find it hard with the travel and competing with other codes, but hopefully they can turn it around and return to their former glory days of the early 90s.

Ps did you play in the 95 senior flag?

i have sort of gathered that, what seems to be a growing feeling around the town is they need to clean out there committee they have a heap of money in the bank but can't seem to get players, Yeah i was the CHF in that side i was young and had hair. Which side is the team to beat this year and is Metro still playing for Macorna?

Moulamein look to be the powerhouse as yet! going to be a very even comp though, should be interesting to see who runs out for who come april. :)

The same thing happens everywhere clubs bring there juniors through and are at the bottom of the ladder for a couple of years and save there money than go out and buy a heap of players it ruins clubs. You would find that the clubs that don't spend alot of money but recruit smart and work with there juniors generally are at the top or near abouts year after year. That is generally what happens at the clubs i've played at. Who are the usual big spenders in your league?

who did he play with last year vet? So i take it he wouldn't get ur approval vet?
As a very interested onlooker, I would hope they don't go down that track. Surely there are other blokes Wandella could throw their hard earned at. Extremely critical player who doesn't mind spraying his own team mates. Something Wandella could do without.

The same thing happens everywhere clubs bring there juniors through and are at the bottom of the ladder for a couple of years and save there money than go out and buy a heap of players it ruins clubs. You would find that the clubs that don't spend alot of money but recruit smart and work with there juniors generally are at the top or near abouts year after year. That is generally what happens at the clubs i've played at. Who are the usual big spenders in your league?

mildura were this year.. they will go again next yr also merbein throwing the monney around as merv neagle signed with them

Hey Appin i Hear you were in the pub Sunday night having a few frothies with a couple ex wandella players, any news with them boys????
We were just having a couple of bets and a few sharpies. Just mates catching up and having a great Sunday arvo. Rarely talked footy but it did come up on the odd occasion. Even managed to get a Trifecta (courtesy of a mystery bet). Both are pretty excited about the season coming up.

Are all coaching positions confirmed for next year, if not, who hasn't yet!
Give me the run down....

ALso, is hay still in the comp?? I believe they should be booted from the league if they cant field a reserves side.

We were just having a couple of bets and a few sharpies. Just mates catching up and having a great Sunday arvo. Rarely talked footy but it did come up on the odd occasion. Even managed to get a Trifecta (courtesy of a mystery bet). Both are pretty excited about the season coming up.

Yeah i hear you did, hopefully you shouted the boys a couple of frothies with the win:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Ultima still without a coach, and ash wilson is no good. was injured a little last year, played in the two's finals for eaglehawk and did not perform at all....

FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

Not only the wrong thread but wrong as well. What do you just pick out the premiers and assume they spent?

Up forward again asked me who the big spenders were in our league mate!
mildura defintly were with ask connick on a mint,danny obree,ant mathews were defintly all in the money.

Assistant Coach : corey campbell (balranad) massive signing.Other signings: josh richards,john dunstone, a bloke that played at balranald this year by the name of "spit" duryea had a stint wit hay a few years ago...tundy bannam has put pen to paper n will be a handy recruit along with kane evans and a possible marcus nalder????? tom mataratzo has gonedown hill in thee last few years iv seen him but the swanners recuting team must see a bonus from him
what locals will be in the side out there

tundy bannam lives in moola and evans is a born n bred moola boi from what iv been told. that leeves richards campbell dunstone anderson mattarazo donno hoo els i can think of..... from wot i can gather they wont be goin over board n the locals down ther cannot wait for 08

Up forward again asked me who the big spenders were in our league mate!
mildura defintly were with ask connick on a mint,danny obree,ant mathews were defintly all in the money.

Maybe this should be moved to the SFL board. This is where nobodies on the fringes of footy get it all wrong! I was involved in all 3 of the players contracts you named. O'Bree was on a pretty standard coaching fee for the SFL (way under CMFL) and the other 2 were tied into jobs, basically costing the footy club nothing. Facts right before you mouth off next time?