• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Goulburn Valley FL 2017

Have to disagree with your comment about the Kyabram side and there ability to mix it with past sides. While the overall competition standard may of dropped, (always hard to compare past teams) the Ky side is a truely great one with strength in every position. When you look at the quality of guys who didn’t get games or went to other clubs to play, you realise how strong the side was. I think they would give any GVFL side I can remember a run for their money.
Exactly what I said Freak ...Ky would've have been a power in any era with that team

I'm hearing a handful of players from Ky will be on the move to a couple of Murray League clubs in 2018, namely Nathalia and Echuca United.
Maybe a few that played in the reserves flag might leave, think most of the senior players will stay apart from Smith and Clarke who are tossing up if they have a crack at VFL for a season and see if they can progress, Josh Vick talking about retirement but I bet they talk him out of it, think they will go for three flags.

Reeves looking to pull the pin but reckon he will get talked into it again, burstin could be on the out to but do know he loves the club so could go one more, few big losses if all leave! But Paul will have a few in the pipeline no doubt. Who are looking to be heading to Echuca united and Nathalia tucky? Hearing tonny is talking to a few players from ky aswell!

I reckon the days of under the table cash jobs are about done. I know over here AFL central vic made clubs jump through big hoops to prove things like house reno's, car purchases and jobs with sponsors were not linked to the recruitment to particular clubs

Did they prove any were being dodgy?

Vick and Williams have been linked to Echuca United, Childs to Nathalia.

I reckon the days of under the table cash jobs are about done. I know over here AFL central vic made clubs jump through big hoops to prove things like house reno's, car purchases and jobs with sponsors were not linked to the recruitment to particular clubs
Can you elaborate on that a bit more Roota? Clubs or players were made proof house renos? renos?

Both the clubs and the players had to prove that the reno's or purchases were not linked to the player signing with the footy club ie invoices/quotes/ receipts etc were provided to the investigator
don't doubt this is what has happened rooto but it is a bit of a joke. what players do in their private lives is their business.
I would suggest there is absolute minimum amount of players who earn above their working hourly rate within footy.
Footy also isn't that high on people's priorities these days including players , officials or sponsors.
I can see alot , in particular sponsors choosing do something else with their time and $$$'s .
Multi Million dollar businesses who employee a few blokes play footy with the local town or throw a few bob into the clubs coffers ain't going to open their books to AFL.
They support the local club to keep it going to assist the town , attempting to view what they pay will just see them remove all contribution.

Absolutely they do happen and they are attempting to stamp it out

Did they find any of them guilty?

Also how much is all this costing to investigate and who pays for that?
Does anyone even care about the ridiculous amount of money this could cost to police?? Buggar me that money could be spent on things to actually assist clubs
And promote dare I say it community club football.

I'd rather the $$ actually went to players who will most likely spend local and even at the club bar not to mention keep my club going than pay people in suits to paper push.

Gemmil was approached by Tongala before the grannie
He laughed at them

Hahaha that's not true at all mate. Gem did not laugh at them so will clear that one up! If u no Gem which u may, you'd no that his not a rude person at all and he'd never laugh at them. Especially to the club where he started out and which he still has a lot of time for!

In saying that I think tonny could've held off on the the talk until after finials!

Hahaha that's not true at all mate. Gem did not laugh at them so will clear that one up! If u no Gem which u may, you'd no that his not a rude person at all and he'd never laugh at them. Especially to the club where he started out and which he still has a lot of time for!

In saying that I think tonny could've held off on the the talk until after finials!
I'm with you Donkey, there is a nervous embarrassed laugh which knowing Gem he would have done, if any, and there is "laughing out of contempt" which he should have done to any club who approaches a player about playing for them directly before or after a granny. I got howled down last year by one poster on this forum for saying that last year after Ky players were approached on the day after the game. But I really believe it is not very respectful doing this on the day.

Sorry my mistake
I thought he might have laughed at the offer
It was all in jest and I do know Gem

What, and let everyone else get in first? Nothing wrong with "good luck in the gf, we'd really love to talk to you when you're ready about next year." Recruiting is ruthless these days, can't afford to sit on your hands.

Talking to some Locky boys and hearing Bacon is leaving Rochy to return to his home club in 2018. Any truth to the rumour?