Goulburn Valley FL 2020

I don't know how that would go if Sandringham was zoned gold coast sun's roar. Or if the gv was zoned to the dockers. What happens if a country guy goes to school in the city, what zone does he belong to.The whole purpose of the draft is to provide an equal playing field to allow the weaker teams to get stronger.

Wouldn't the guys leave anyway if it was a club aligned under 19s, from 16 years old and move to the city, at least in the current format guys are staying in the area longer and playing some senior footy with their home club.

You also can't blame vfl clubs, as no one got behind the country vfl teams in the past, where there's none left now.
Never suggested zones ??? But whilst on the subject would it not make sense that the vic country clubs be zoned to AFL vic clubs for the purpose of u19’s ? Wa kids Wa the AFL clubs etc etc . With those Clubs getting first crack at them during drafts such as academies work now ?

My apologies roar, sorry it was silver bringing up zones.

The problem is that most kids drafted come from Vic, and interstate clubs prefer country kids as they are less likely to get homesick, just look at the lions where they have selected a large group from Ballarat rebels to base their team nucleus around.

The AFL needs a strong national comp and I reckon that's going backwards

Never suggested zones ??? But whilst on the subject would it not make sense that the vic country clubs be zoned to AFL vic clubs for the purpose of u19’s ? Wa kids Wa the AFL clubs etc etc . With those Clubs getting first crack at them during drafts such as academies work now ?

My apologies roar, sorry it was silver bringing up zones.

The problem is that most kids drafted come from Vic, and interstate clubs prefer country kids as they are less likely to get homesick, just look at the lions where they have selected a large group from Ballarat rebels to base their team nucleus around.

The AFL needs a strong national comp and I reckon that's going backwards
As an example the bush rangers IIRC had 1 player drafted / rookied onto an AFL list this past year , who incidentally played for Victoria at under 12 level . He was one of probably 100 players who started training with the bush rangers the previous October / November and who had to get to wang for training at least once a week . Didn’t play regularly at his home club ( where siblings are likely to be playing football and netball ) and this would have been proceeded by similar albeit for lesser time for the previous 4 seasons ( bottom age vline cup and academies ) .
Consider the amount of travel , time and money which has come at the expense of people , who would have most likely otherwise played at their local club and often taken up volunteer roles .
1 player was slecteced and he was indentified 6 years prior.
Then for kids who have been told they were close to being drafted this cost continues for another 4-5 years , with very low percentage leading to being drafted.
IMO it is a ridiculous system which ultimately country people and clubs are bearing the cost of . The more layers like academies that get put in place the larger the cost on clubs .
Or is it just a case of wanting to have it so that kids who are perceived to fit a certain stereo type get greater opportunity ?
I like the idea that the game and opportunities within the game being available equally to all.

As an example the bush rangers IIRC had 1 player drafted / rookied onto an AFL list this past year , who incidentally played for Victoria at under 12 level . He was one of probably 100 players who started training with the bush rangers the previous October / November and who had to get to wang for training at least once a week . Didn’t play regularly at his home club ( where siblings are likely to be playing football and netball ) and this would have been proceeded by similar albeit for lesser time for the previous 4 seasons ( bottom age vline cup and academies ) .
Consider the amount of travel , time and money which has come at the expense of people , who would have most likely otherwise played at their local club and often taken up volunteer roles .
1 player was slecteced and he was indentified 6 years prior.
Then for kids who have been told they were close to being drafted this cost continues for another 4-5 years , with very low percentage leading to being drafted.
IMO it is a ridiculous system which ultimately country people and clubs are bearing the cost of . The more layers like academies that get put in place the larger the cost on clubs .
Or is it just a case of wanting to have it so that kids who are perceived to fit a certain stereo type get greater opportunity ?
I like the idea that the game and opportunities within the game being available equally to all.

Its not going to take long for kids to realise that 97% of them will not get drafted and that only another 2-3 % make it onto a VFL list. It is wheN the kids and families begin to realise they are only there to support the 2-3 kids that get drafted they might learn that they may have other options. TBH kids are identified as 16 yr olds and rarely does this change. If you have the right last name, go to a private boarding school and can get a bit of the ball you are home and hosed. Kids outside of those categories are minimal chances of being drafted.

What surname should I change my 9 yr old to then to better his chances

Ringo. I totally agree. Parents have already worked out, yes it’s great for the kids to have a opportunity but is 5% at max a real opportunity. For a lot of time and effort.

Stay and play GVL Seniors and play as a 17yr old and when you shift for Uni or work clubs are going to come knocking for you anyway

Do you really think AFL clubs are that unprofessional and would jeopardise their futures and chances of success on that rubbish?
Kids who love footy are willing to take their chances and they know the odds are stacked against them but the challenge is in the trying and the experience they gain is invaluable.

Do you really think AFL clubs are that unprofessional and would jeopardise their futures and chances of success on that rubbish?
Kids who love footy are willing to take their chances and they know the odds are stacked against them but the challenge is in the trying and the experience they gain is invaluable.
Never said they were unprofessional saying kids are identified at 16 and that outside of that chances of being drafted are minimal. Why run a program that sees one kid get drafted at the cost of over 500k and that’s conservative. In case you haven’t realised, country football is on its knees. Do you know the drop out rate of kids that have played in this comp? It is substantial and growing year by year. The kids are burnt out, have an inflated opinion of their worth( if they keep playing) and all think they are going to get drafted. I can assure you that every parent and kid thinks they have a chance and when it doesn’t happen to the 97% of kids they are left disillusioned.

$500k is being ridiculously conservative and assumingly only considers the cost to the club for that one year . If you were to factor in the cost to each player / parent of kids in the team and the associated costs for the proceding years in elite squads I would suggest the true cost could be 15-20 times that figure . Then when you factor in the loss of spectators / volunteers at local footy due to talented kids not playing and it increases again .
Reality is over 95% of participants in these elite programs are knowingly led up the garden path , encouraged and told there’s a chance, to enable the programs to run for the 1-2% that will get drafted .

Admit we are getting off gv here however I reckon the afl and afl Vic need to admit that the current tac/vfl is stuffed and it needs to mirror the sanfl and wafl with vfl clubs running a traditional 3 side model with a discrete suburban and country zone...

Reinstate an afl 2s comp nationally and then have something along the lines of the following...

Box hill - eastern subs and north east country
Casey - outer south east and gippsland
Port - inner city/suburbs and country zone tbd
Willy - inner west and share western district with werribee
Werribee. Outer west and geelong, share western district with Willy
Sandy - inner southern bayside and country tbd
Frangers - peninsula
Preston - inner north and share north West Country with coburg
Coburg - north western burbs and say Bendigo through to Seymour

That way the elite juniors are combined metro and rural and would leave more kids to play locally

Just a rough back of envelope thought to start some discussion

From your experience, how many of these 14,15,16 yr olds have player managers already?

You get the feeling that footy is becoming an elitist sport, why not just scrap the tac cup and let the private schools give out scholarships to the best kids and all other kids just play seniors at their home clubs, maybe have under 21 interleague championship in Vic, where recruiters can go and look to top up their picks, as the money used to run the tac cup could be better spent on country footy as it's on its knees and I don't think Gill and co. Care

Ringo when you were coach of the pios, did the cm boys all still travel down for training each week in a car? And on top the travel parents do in the tac to all parts of the state, especially from places like Mildura, Warrnambool, Maffra, Wodonga etc surely a better system can be found. I don't think the younger players would lose that much by playing against men in good quality country comps.

You get the feeling that footy is becoming an elitist sport, why not just scrap the tac cup and let the private schools give out scholarships to the best kids and all other kids just play seniors at their home clubs, maybe have under 21 interleague championship in Vic, where recruiters can go and look to top up their picks, as the money used to run the tac cup could be better spent on country footy as it's on its knees and I don't think Gill and co. Care

Ringo when you were coach of the pios, did the cm boys all still travel down for training each week in a car? And on top the travel parents do in the tac to all parts of the state, especially from places like Mildura, Warrnambool, Maffra, Wodonga etc surely a better system can be found. I don't think the younger players would lose that much by playing against men in good quality country comps.
[/QUOTE
Boys in Swan Hill and Mildura usually trained at their local club. From memory a couple of times parents car pooled from Swan Hill. Big ask for all concerned

They couldn’t have a manager officially until too age year but plenty were doing work behind the scenes mate.
As we have discussed ringo, parents who are ambitious for their son, and wealthy enough, are lured by private schools with links to TAC facilities.

My own experience observing this environment is that most of these kids (and parents) finish their schooling devoid of the promised AFL opportunity.

Point being, as others have suggested, not only do many parents and kids pay for the system where their son will never be drafted, but the kid whose parents cannot pay for a private school education misses out. And that pisses me off.

AND over 50% (someone inform me the exact figures please) only last 2 years on AFL lists anyway!!

On your point about the affect of kids playing against men . A few years ago there were stats that more kids were being and had been drafted from district comps than major comps ( believed to be a result of having consistently played senior footy at a younger age ).

They couldn’t have a manager officially until too age year but plenty were doing work behind the scenes mate.

What is "too age"

I know of 15 yr olds in the GV (touted top 10 draft picks) already being approached by the private schools and their "managers" negotiating the school fee deals

As we have discussed ringo, parents who are ambitious for their son, and wealthy enough, are lured by private schools with links to TAC facilities.

My own experience observing this environment is that most of these kids (and parents) finish their schooling devoid of the promised AFL opportunity.

Point being, as others have suggested, not only do many parents and kids pay for the system where their son will never be drafted, but the kid whose parents cannot pay for a private school education misses out. And that pisses me off.
Great post mate. My issue was and still is that kids going to Private schools were offred flights home to mildura, parents put up in Quest apartments and picked up from school and dropped back off every weekend. Those less fortunate had to pay their way and IMO it was disgraceful.

Add-on the facilities at private schools compared to TAC clubs. Also it appears it's more enticing to coach a private school than a tac cup eg Robert Shaw, Matty Lloyd, no tac team could afford those type of coaches. We will see less and less dusty Martin's in our great game and more and more private school players (a qtr of players drafted from 11 private schools this and rising).

If I'm not wrong most of the AFL commission also is a product of the private school system and don't give a stuff about the health of country, metro or vfl footy

Great post mate. My issue was and still is that kids going to Private schools were offred flights home to mildura, parents put up in Quest apartments and picked up from school and dropped back off every weekend. Those less fortunate had to pay their way and IMO it was disgraceful.

Goulburn Valley FL 2020