Goulburn Valley FL 2020

Whilst it is good to see some of the guys in the HDFNL, lets be realistic as these guys are getting well looked after in a number of ways. Both Kerridge and Lamb are certainly being well paid at White Hills and I am informed Baird will be at Mount Pleasant (although there was some lure to help out his mate in Walsh). As for Geary he is a terrific player and still in his prime so a move to Colbo is surprising. Great footy club at Colbo but I would have thought Geary was a few years away from heading there. Maybe the loss of Haberman at Square has resulted in a number of players looking for greener pastures. I have heard there may be a couple of others on the move too.

According to Beligerentblue on the Bendigo forum Geary is not going to Colbinabbin. Maybe it's one of those rumours which, when repeated enough, 'almost' became a fact.

At least we are talking about footy and not that other topic.

Whilst it is good to see some of the guys in the HDFNL, lets be realistic as these guys are getting well looked after in a number of ways. Both Kerridge and Lamb are certainly being well paid at White Hills and I am informed Baird will be at Mount Pleasant (although there was some lure to help out his mate in Walsh). As for Geary he is a terrific player and still in his prime so a move to Colbo is surprising. Great footy club at Colbo but I would have thought Geary was a few years away from heading there. Maybe the loss of Haberman at Square has resulted in a number of players looking for greener pastures. I have heard there may be a couple of others on the move too.

Believe all is not well at Square.

According to Beligerentblue on the Bendigo forum Geary is not going to Colbinabbin. Maybe it's one of those rumours which, when repeated enough, 'almost' became a fact.

At least we are talking about footy and not that other topic.

It is definitely still on the cards although if I was Rochy or Echuca I’d be getting in touch with him ASAP...definitely gettable

Think
Believe all is not well at Square.

Think you may be correct Ringo, hence my comment that some others are also moving on. The manner the Haberman not being reappointed has not been well received. Most players were expecting him to coach again in 2021 hence the unrest. The club has now got a problem with no coach and many players looking to move on. Haberman was very well respected and doing a good job but was not reappointed due to politics within the club.

Think

Think you may be correct Ringo, hence my comment that some others are also moving on. The manner the Haberman not being reappointed has not been well received. Most players were expecting him to coach again in 2021 hence the unrest. The club has now got a problem with no coach and many players looking to move on. Haberman was very well respected and doing a good job but was not reappointed due to politics within the club.

Bernie is a quality coach! No doubt someone thinks they can do a better job than him. If that is the case they have to find a coach that fills his shoes and that wont be easy. no doubt the truth will come out in the wash and when it does the people responsible will have plenty of egg on their face(s)

Is Habers not coaching Square in 2021?

Was travel a factor ringo, he's living in Macedon, I read how much he was enjoying the year off. Could be a good pick up for any Riddell league club looking for a coach. Squares a pretty well run club, it's surprising to here, how it turned pear shaped with no coach appointed to replace bernie and it sounds very poorly managed, with their two best players and greats of the club on the move

No mate...some ducks and drakes going on at GS...under the surface. Personally, think he is a great coach.

Yeah I really rate Bernie! No mate I wasn’t aware of that but reckon there will be so many AFL ac’s after a time they will be lining up. If anyone is interested in a coaching role Dm me as I have a couple of rippers

Was travel a factor ringo, he's living in Macedon, I read how much he was enjoying the year off. Could be a good pick up for any Riddell league club looking for a coach. Squares a pretty well run club, it's surprising to here, how it turned pear shaped with no coach appointed to replace bernie and it sounds very poorly managed, with their two best players and greats of the club on the move
Yes it was, his business is only getting bigger in Melbourne and wanted to cut down to only coming down to training on a Thursday night, the club wasn’t keen on that.

Think you may find another Bendigo league club that is located closer to his place of residence is very interested in securing his services for 2021. Haberman was already doing one night a week sometimes so I am not sure why everything blew up. The club had supported his situation in previous years so I am not sure why things changed all of a sudden. What has occurred is very unsquare like!

I can see why a Club would want their Coach at training both nights.

Are you able to add more to this local, or are you speculating? Kyneton and Gisborne have appointed new coaches so I wonder which Bendigo club you are referring to.

I understand Square are looking for a high profile coach out of AFL/VFL circles on the logic that a lot of these guys are now becoming available in the present circumstances. They would not want to lose too many of their top players loyal to Haberman in this process or it's going to blow up in their face.

Are you able to add more to this local, or are you speculating? Kyneton and Gisborne have appointed new coaches so I wonder which Bendigo club you are referring to.

I understand Square are looking for a high profile coach out of AFL/VFL circles on the logic that a lot of these guys are now becoming available in the present circumstances. They would not want to lose too many of their top players loyal to Haberman in this process or it's going to blow up in their face.

I agree mate. The bottom line for an ex AFL assistant coach i reckon would be 60 k plus a very very well paid job. Sometimes they arent all that they are cracked up to be. Peter German and Todd Viney come to mind!

Nath Thompson would happily hand over the reigns at Kyneton if they found a suitable alternative

Goulburn Valley FL 2020