I'm not sure a dog eat dog world would be great either mate. I'd like to see a far even playing field and promote young guys to play major league footy and over 30 to play minor league footy, with under 23 to be 1 point to transfer from minor to major and over 32 1 point from major to minor.It really is time to return to self governed leagues, no cap, nor points because the longer this continues the more damage is being done to community football.
Otherwise clubs like deer Park won't care, and buy 22 players, some might suggest they don't now, but they didn't play finals this year and they can't just get whoever they want.
I reckon you'd have queues of guys playing for the premiership teams if afl vic did nothing, and we'd see 15 + guys move around with the one coach and destroy a club each time they move. I'm not sure that's coaching.
But there has to be greater incentive for guys to play footy in.the country, keep kids involved after they turn 18 or younger, stop the better teams getting better, where we have tiered comps and allow bottom teams to go from finishing last to being a chance of winning the flag next year, otherwise if there's no hope, players will keep leaving bottom clubs
There also needs to be greater incentives for the best players to play major league footy