• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Goulburn Valley FL 2025

Jack Lefroy is a good signing for Tatura
Hopefully Tatura can start the climb back up the ladder, I'm not so bullish on United and Benalla. In fact Benalla are a real worry for the GV. Seems to me there are only 4 teams capable of winning the flag next year; Echuca, Shepparton, Kyabram and Rochy. It appears that Euroa is falling apart and Mooroopna need to steady the ship.

United will have a pretty good midfield. They will win more games this year.

I see tat are looking for an assistant coach and are using social media to find one. Wasn't that rhe point of getting the footy gm appointed mid year to have had this in the bag by now. He should have had a short-list of 5 by august and got one by now
I think u will find Ash Quinn was the assistant coach up until last week, but has stepped down, due to his wife now playing netball at Ky!
I see tat are looking for an assistant coach and are using social media to find one. Wasn't that rhe point of getting the footy gm appointed mid year to have had this in the bag by now. He should have had a short-list of 5 by august and got one by now

Really worried about footy in Benalla though. Favourite son is coaching them and playing he's guts out for them at 41. You'd think Benalla kids would be wanting to play there

I think its a bit of the same issue as Tat. Some kids head to Galen College in Wang and are lured to play that way?

Unfortunately there is a cluster of clubs around benalla, you've got benalla saints, all blacks, VT and goorambat. If you look, none of them are particularly strong atm.
There was a proposed merger with saints and allblacks, with a rebrand to benalla united. Which was knocked back.
There will be 1 or 2 clubs in the region fall in their sword, to many clubs not enough players.

Benalla as a town needs a strong club, in a major league, else footy will die out there.
I allude to a previous post of mine, I think benalla suffers from the aforementioned commitment to play in a major league. Kids, and seasoned players just don't want to give up that much time.

Maybe a merger, and move to the Murray league would best suit benalla.

Unfortunately there is a cluster of clubs around benalla, you've got benalla saints, all blacks, VT and goorambat. If you look, none of them are particularly strong atm.
There was a proposed merger with saints and allblacks, with a rebrand to benalla united. Which was knocked back.
There will be 1 or 2 clubs in the region fall in their sword, to many clubs not enough players.

Benalla as a town needs a strong club, in a major league, else footy will die out there.
I allude to a previous post of mine, I think benalla suffers from the aforementioned commitment to play in a major league. Kids, and seasoned players just don't want to give up that much time.

Maybe a merger, and move to the Murray league would best suit benalla.
Benalla was highly regarded for its junior structure not so long ago .
Ole mate shut down the junior comp and surprise surprise both wangs sides have won premierships in The last couple of years . Benalla we’re screwed over as we’re the wang magpies and you can be assured rovers won’t face the same scrutiny .

Benalla was highly regarded for its junior structure not so long ago .
Ole mate shut down the junior comp and surprise surprise both wangs sides have won premierships in The last couple of years . Benalla we’re screwed over as we’re the wang magpies and you can be assured rovers won’t face the same scrutiny .
Benalla once had a flourishing junior system, developing tac players, mellington x2 Webster, marchbank, rockliff, martyn, downie.
That right there should be a strong nucleus for a gv side. But for reasons, all bar 1 of them doesn't play there.

The benalla junior league once had 5 sides in its top under 17 age bracket,
That's roughly 100 kids, if you had 1/4 of them so 25, go on to play open age footy that builds a club and keeps it going.
1/4 of the current is roughly 8,
Unsustainable honestly.

As much as a merger may divide the town, it surely is the only way to Keep then afloat.

Benalla once had a flourishing junior system, developing tac players, mellington x2 Webster, marchbank, rockliff, martyn, downie.
That right there should be a strong nucleus for a gv side. But for reasons, all bar 1 of them doesn't play there.

The benalla junior league once had 5 sides in its top under 17 age bracket,
That's roughly 100 kids, if you had 1/4 of them so 25, go on to play open age footy that builds a club and keeps it going.
1/4 of the current is roughly 8,
Unsustainable honestly.

As much as a merger may divide the town, it surely is the only way to Keep then afloat.
Start the junior comp back up and tell ole mate to get rooted
The GV board who was more interested in jumping in the cot with the AfL at the time of the Benalla junior comp destruction , should hang their head in shame .
Benalla losing their junior comp and the rest of the state having to endure a proven and known flawed point system all for one purpose . Given that purpose has now been achieved , hopefully both are quickly reverted .

Goulburn Valley FL 2025