Goulburn Valley FL - Part 4

Thats not right MJ-a number of our younger players will be in Melbourne at Uni. remember;players select themselves and everybody is provided with opportunities but no guarentees. We signed all our players last year and none will be going to Moama or United I can assure you!!!!
that is the biggest load of crap i have ever heard. this should be a private forum for gg and ringo. perhaps you two should get a room and celebrate now because come september you will be in tears and debt. even if you do manage to win, it wont all be worth it, your recruits wont support the town, buy their groceries or their beer and they wont send their kids to school their, and they wont play junior footy. your sponsors will get o value out of the recruits, they are not going to getheir car serviced in town or get a hair cut while in town, they will play, have a few free beers here and their , collect their (local) cash and take it back to the city. and the locals that have supported the town and footy club will get the shits and leave. and what about the grandparents coming to watch their grandkids play, not seeing them get a game and not knowing who the recruits are will annoy them as well. fair enough to recruit some to help out but over half a team is kaos. premierships are hard to get and need the whole team to make it work, im sure joe blo on $50 a game is not going to enjoy sprints at training after a loss while chris egan gets driven back to melbourne while he counts his cash. reminds me when jerilderie bought their flag, those recruits really treasured the perpeptual cup by smashing it flat under a railway sleeper, then left town and look what happened to jerilderie the next year. i hope echuca dont even make gf. for the greater good of football:)

Mate get a grip, as a past player I know Echuca have always developed juniors and will continue to do so. Gaining these recruits will keep people at the club. Blokes ran out on the Club last year and the year before chasing cash at smaller clubs. DO you think Echuca automatically have all the cash to spend? The same people are involved with the club that have been there for years.

The recruits they have got are moving to the town and working and the others are past players. Obviously Egan is an exception to this but every club has 2 or 3 if not more like him....

You obviously have no idea about the club or the current recruits, do some research or neck up

Mate get a grip, as a past player I know Echuca have always developed juniors and will continue to do so. Gaining these recruits will keep people at the club. Blokes ran out on the Club last year and the year before chasing cash at smaller clubs. DO you think Echuca automatically have all the cash to spend? The same people are involved with the club that have been there for years.

The recruits they have got are moving to the town and working and the others are past players. Obviously Egan is an exception to this but every club has 2 or 3 if not more like him....

You obviously have no idea about the club or the current recruits, do some research or neck up

I thought Murray and Perry from Port were living in Melbourne. Perhaps you need to do some research on your own club.

]Joel Perry [/B]is working and living in Echuca!!!!!!!!!!!!
Brad Murray travelled from Melbourne to Echuca and back last week just for a footy related meeting!
Kristen Height-Local
Jamus Campbell-Local
Tom Sheldon-local
Justin Dorward-now a local-living/working in town
Dylan Butler-local
Craig Sutton local
Chris Egan-Melb
So thats two recruits with no connection to Echuca-pretty good I reckon!

Thats a heap of crap -read above posts. Sorry for recruiting perhaps we should just be happy to finish 9th each year!!! Keep feeding us all the rubbish you like it will only make us more determined:thumbsdown:

Can someone please outline all of the so called best recruits in 10 years by Echuca. I wouldn't consider many of them big names compared to some of the recruits floating in and around other clubs such as Pettifer and Robertson.
Most players so called 'recruits' by the club appear to be ex-Echuca players or people. There appears to be a strong sense of loyalty to the people around the club and as Henderson is a previous U'18 premiership coach and local school teacher, there is no doubt that the club will continue to develop the youth which has always been a strength of the area, somewhat due to those connections. The benefit of having youth is that your top 5 to say 10 experienced players may be reasonably paid but the rest would seem to drop away quickly and there's certainly no superstars there so they wouldn't be paying out huge amounts. Murray and Perry I believe aren't local boys however are subject to working in the area and have some sort of connections to the club. Egan although isn't a previous Echuca boy has a lot of local connections to the area. The likes of Dylan Butler, Jamus Campbell and Kristan Height are all ex-Echuca players returning to their home club. The recruiting people behind the scenes appear to have done the right thing in targeting previous local talent who had left the region. They look like they will be somewhat competitive this year and should look to make the finals this year. Their stocks may likely be further bolstered with the signings of Tom Sheldon (ex-Port Melbourne), Brendan Rinaldi (ex-Box Hill & Subiaco) and Xavier Campbell (ex-Sturt) in the coming weeks. All appear to be born and bread Echuca boys looking to return to their home club to play with their mates after having a few years of state level experience. It's good to see clubs enticing their kids back to the country from the city and it's the approach I think most clubs should look to take.
Ringo, I reckon by the looks of it you should have a bit of a spell from this site every so often.

Can someone please outline all of the so called best recruits in 10 years by Echuca. I wouldn't consider many of them big names compared to some of the recruits floating in and around other clubs such as Pettifer and Robertson.
Most players so called 'recruits' by the club appear to be ex-Echuca players or people. There appears to be a strong sense of loyalty to the people around the club and as Henderson is a previous U'18 premiership coach and local school teacher, there is no doubt that the club will continue to develop the youth which has always been a strength of the area, somewhat due to those connections. The benefit of having youth is that your top 5 to say 10 experienced players may be reasonably paid but the rest would seem to drop away quickly and there's certainly no superstars there so they wouldn't be paying out huge amounts. Murray and Perry I believe aren't local boys however are subject to working in the area and have some sort of connections to the club. Egan although isn't a previous Echuca boy has a lot of local connections to the area. The likes of Dylan Butler, Jamus Campbell and Kristan Height are all ex-Echuca players returning to their home club. The recruiting people behind the scenes appear to have done the right thing in targeting previous local talent who had left the region. They look like they will be somewhat competitive this year and should look to make the finals this year. Their stocks may likely be further bolstered with the signings of Tom Sheldon (ex-Port Melbourne), Brendan Rinaldi (ex-Box Hill & Subiaco) and Xavier Campbell (ex-Sturt) in the coming weeks. All appear to be born and bread Echuca boys looking to return to their home club to play with their mates after having a few years of state level experience. It's good to see clubs enticing their kids back to the country from the city and it's the approach I think most clubs should look to take.
Ringo, I reckon by the looks of it you should have a bit of a spell from this site every so often.

I agree,fighting a losing battle and thanks for the support. Adios from Ringo1 (over and out) as I have more recruiting to do:rolleyes:

[/b][/i]

I agree,fighting a losing battle and thanks for the support. Adios from Ringo1 (over and out) as I have more recruiting to do:rolleyes:

why not change the name of your club and go in a different league while your at it. dont think many of those players you have spent cash on will even get you to the to 4 let alone a grand final. why give so much info o here anyway goose, its just giving other teams a look at you before seaso even starts

Give it a spell fellas sick of hearing of Echuca to be honest. Recruited well should be hard to beat.
Now any truth to Steve McKee in the red and white this year??

why not change the name of your club and go in a different league while your at it. dont think many of those players you have spent cash on will even get you to the to 4 let alone a grand final. why give so much info o here anyway goose, its just giving other teams a look at you before seaso even starts

Ridiculous comment. Everyone who is running rival clubs will know all the information that is put on here well before it goes on anyway so why not talk about it here

Can someone please outline all of the so called best recruits in 10 years by Echuca.

I said best recruiting in 10 years collectively not individually.
Kristan Height is a gun and is best 5 players in the league before he starts.

Has Saad definitely left Seymour as heard today still tossing up between Barooga and Northcote Park. More $$ at Barooga but alot of commitment in travel.Any updates?

And that marks the end of the crap-talking, men. Good luck to Echuca, I wish them every success. Any more rubbish will be removed from the thread.

How are Rochy going? I saw they signed a 19-year-old kid the other day, looks the goods. Anyone else?

And that marks the end of the crap-talking, men. Good luck to Echuca, I wish them every success. Any more rubbish will be removed from the thread.

How are Rochy going? I saw they signed a 19-year-old kid the other day, looks the goods. Anyone else?

Bumped into a couple of blokes the other day and they said they've lost a couple but also picked up a few and the best possible thing for the club was losing their coach from last year....seems old Schmidt didnt have too many mates by the end of the year

You dont coach footy clubs to make friends as sooner than later you have to make harsh calls. I know Dirty was respected when at Rochy but hard to say he was "mates" with too many of the younger blokes. Its called professional distance. I stand by the fact Lenny did a good job and won a premiership as playing coach so short term he did his job.
Doesnt matter if he didnt leave to many firends behind.
Same point above could be used for Richard Warburton at Shepp reading about what happened pre season.

With Echuca splashing the cash out, I only wish they would spend a few sheckles on facilities. The visitors rooms there are a disgrace.