• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

GRFL Discussion 2025

Murrabit, you'd imagine could nearly go with Barham but I'm not sure what wandella do. They wouldn't merge with Kerang. Maybe Loddon Valley?

On SM-S918B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Murrabit, macorna and wandella should merge and play in the central murray, with the golden rivers interleague jumper. Play 5 home games at wandella and 2 at macorna and murrabit

Certainly did back in the day Roota with Kerang and Rovers

So my thoughts are rather than Wendella and potentially Murrabit just being absorbed into the Kerang Football Club, could a complete new club be created…include Quamby even.

Far fetched I know but just spit balling

So my thoughts are rather than Wendella and potentially Murrabit just being absorbed into the Kerang Football Club, could a complete new club be created…include Quamby even.

Far fetched I know but just spit balling
I agree old mate, add macorna and they'd be able to compete in the cmfl and keep their best young players

AFL vic want less clubs not new ones forming. Their isnt enough good footballers around anymore. Think of how many come out of Melbourne every week just to field sides if the golden rivers go it might mean 2-3 less traveling for each higher league side

Any ideas on what will become of Murrabit and Wandella if the golden rivers finishes up?
Would make sense for Murrabit to head to Barham for a merger. Wandella a tricky one? Maybe Boort or Lalbert? Macorna to Pyramid or Leitchy. Ultima is already signed to the Central Murray but am sure negotiations with Tyntynder could happen. Hay to head to the Picola League.

Macrona and Cohuna would make sense also

I think they'd be far better going together. If murrabit go to the raiders, they might get 1 game a year at murrabit. They nearly all work and live in kerang and wandella is 5 minutes away same with macorna. Theyd have 3 clubs pull to play and instant rivalry with kerang.

Wandella would have to go alone into the lv as would macorna. Macorna always have numbers too so I think if they don't merge with either golden rivers teams and play up a level they go alone

Word out of Wandella is that they would want to follow Macorna into LV
It's a death of a thousand cuts LV would love macorna and wandella cause a couple of their teams are in strife but gets to a stage where the travelling is too much and interest drops off, fair drive for YCW and marong to wandella- if they stay in the LV, could be another reason for them to leave

It's not that far an hour 20

If you were to “reshape” footy in the region what would it look like, how many leagues? Who plays where?
Tough question truck
Do you try two lots of division footy for major leagues with some ncfl, murray, southern cmfl clubs, Bendigo.and gv play a two division comp and then have a two division minor league from the Heathcote, lv, golden rivers and some nc clubs

Or just keep the status quo, I'd think senior footy in the north central hasn't been this strong since the 80s. The Heathcote league has never been stronger either. But the golden rivers is at its weakest, take away marong Bridgewater, and pyramid Hill the other clubs in the lv are struggling.

But all smaller community clubs are struggling with juniors. I think we'll see more juniors, as if you don't have juniors, your club will die.

If it was a big shake up like blowing up leagues, we'd need mous between major and minor league divisions to provide easier ability for players to go up or drop down too

Clubs and communities are trying their hardest so stay around for as long as possible. It’s inevitable the more rural clubs and leagues will fold in the future, whether that’s next year 5 years or 10 years.

5 years of drought in Victoria would see the end of a lot.

Clubs and communities are trying their hardest so stay around for as long as possible. It’s inevitable the more rural clubs and leagues will fold in the future, whether that’s next year 5 years or 10 years.

If the schools have gone or are struggling, then usually the club won't be far behind.

Your better off.merging and having a strong club, look at the mallee thunder and Ouyen united and nullyproof

Call me old fashioned but I think travelling anymore than an hour for a game of footy is pushing things a bit and is not ideal
They already travel 2.5hrs to Hay, I reckon they would appreciate only 1hr20

GRFL Discussion 2025