stevothedevo

Jun 4, 2007
Leftfield
There are others?
Hope. Without it all is lost. Well at least that’s what I thought. Have I ever lost hope in the GFC? I don’t think so. Not fully but I did come pretty close.

It wasn’t a grand final. It wasn’t any final. It was round 5, 2001 we were playing Port at KP. Going into the game we’d Won 2, lost 2. During the third quarter Port piled on 8 goals to 2 and it had become quite clear that loss number 3 was on the way. What also became clear to me was that the team of the 90’s which had carried so much hope was now nearly a decade gone. For the first time in my football supporting life a shocking realisation occurred. At ¾ time I turned to my brother and said “You do realise that we could very well go through life and never see a Geelong premiership” He didn’t really seem to pay me much attention as he was simply just frustrated with the game and not the bigger picture.

Believe it or not, half time at the 2007 grand final, that dreadful realisation was still very much with me. But hope instantly turned into reality with Cam Mooneys goal in the 3rd. It was happening. It was actually happening. Geelong were finally going to have another flag to fly down at Kardinia Park.

And I ask myself again. Have I ever lost hope in the GFC? Yep. Last Saturday afternoon at around 4pm. But by that stage I didn’t need it anymore.

The only time I can honestly recall 'losing hope' and thought of not being a member anymore was around the 98/99 period. Was quite a bleak time for the club on and off the field and I had pretty much had enough.. as well as 1997 being the biggest of big disappointments.. more so than the GFs imo.

But then I came to my senses and realised I love the club too much.. with or without the premiership. I love footy too much!! :eek:

The only time I can honestly recall 'losing hope' and thought of not being a member anymore was around the 98/99 period. Was quite a bleak time for the club on and off the field and I had pretty much had enough.. as well as 1997 being the biggest of big disappointments.. more so than the GFs imo.

But then I came to my senses and realised I love the club too much.. with or without the premiership. I love footy too much!! :eek:

That year was terrible, I was devestated, first time I really knew how much football could suck. I was 9.

I hear ya dude. I was 17 and at a mates 18th that night. "Lucky" they were a family of Geelong supporters so I could watch the match there. Man how I cried into my West Coast Island Coolers.

Lmao... Wine coolers!!!!! :D

Sitting in the Sydney members 2005 semi final.

I knew it was happening. I called it at the beginning on the 4th quarter:

"Only the Cats can lose from here"
and "Nick Davis is the one to watch"

Followed up the game with a friend's 30th where I was greeted with "SWANNIES!!!!!!!!" at every turn.

By the third time I was ready to glass someone.

Many times. I think thats the reason many of us were unwilling to take the lid off. 1997 SF definitely springs to mind, we were screwed over by the umpires see Leigh Colbert mark not paid (plus playing in Adelaide despite finishing 2nd WTF?:mad:), after that loss I knew the era was over and we hadn't managed a premiership.

Then 2005 SF at the SCG just reinforced that I would never see another Geelong flag. Only Geelong could lose that game I said to my mate, the list on teh 90's was mentally weak and so was this one I thought. This monkey had become a gorilla - the club was jinxed I thought. 2006 even further reinforced this - 54 points up against West Coast and lost, I thought I have followed this club for almost 16 years and nothing has changed. After the West Coast loss I remembered all the opportunities that we had frittered away just like that one. I thought back to 1991 when we lost to hapless Fitzroy despite being 2nd on the ladder - this was Geelong, I thought - perennial underachievers.

All these thoughts have disappeared since 5:30 29 September 29th. I can now actually watch the last quarter of the Sydney game, and relieved think, at least we got there eventually - I think the story of all our previous failures makes the victory even more special. :thumbsu:

I lost hope when the Weagles came back from 50+ points down against us at KP. Even though we were leading by 50 odd points I somehow knew it wasnt over....

The feeling of utter despair after that game was a low as i have ever been...

I just never imagined that in a year and a half we would have a flag!

I can't say I lost hope, it was always buried inside me...I guess I just lost, well, an interest in winning. I was more focused on the teams development, the off field happenings and the individual achievements.

And then when we started winning it was a real shock to the system, almost like after all my analysis "this shouldn't be happening yet", but I did. It was weird.

I hear ya dude. I was 17 and at a mates 18th that night. "Lucky" they were a family of Geelong supporters so I could watch the match there. Man how I cried into my West Coast Island Coolers.

Lmao... Wine coolers!!!!! :D

Run out of Passion Pop did ya Shell...or was that on ice for when the coolers were knocked over? :p

Passion Pop?? You talking about Passiona? The soft drink?? :confused:

I knew I'd get bagged for the coolers.(Come on I was only 17 at the time. What you expect me to drink? Scotch? Rum? Uzo?!?) Suprised it took this long!! ;)

After barracking for the Cats for many years I thought I knew heartbreak but 2006 was the killer. After that round 22 debacle I had fully lost hope in us ever winning the flag, although it shames me to admit it now. Let's face it Hawthorn are dead set ordinary and I hate the way we keep on losing to them. If they are were a good side I could cop it but they are rank.

I thought that if the playing group had any feeling for Bomber at all then they would display plenty of fight in the round 22 match against our bogey team the Hawks. The fact that the Hawks blew us off the park that day was to me a damming statement of what the whole shitty year was about. Then the review comes out and on the surface made bugger all changes and then the coach comes out and says 'shit review!'.

I had never had less enthusiasim for a new footy season than this year. Yes, I lost hope.

regards,

REB

I knew I'd get bagged for the coolers.(Come on I was only 17 at the time. What you expect me to drink? Scotch? Rum? Uzo?!?) Suprised it took this long!! ;)
LOL you don't know what Passion Pop is? It's some sort of wine - the drink of teenagers... Can't say I've ever tried it though.

It's about a $6 (full size) bottle of 'wine'. Cheap and oh so nasty.

To put it into perspective, you'd seem classy drinking coolers compared to this stuff.

I remember after an U/14's cricket grand final we won, us kids pooled our miserly saving together for a few bottles of this tonic...haven't had it since.

Did some real damage, but those were the days.

Don't go out looking for a bottle of this stuff now Shell will you. Not only will you inject yourself with a migraine, but the shopkeeper selling it will give you the look of shame.

Lol, DAM is was so just going to go out and buy myself a bottle.. curl up and watch 'The Burbs"... Now is that a night in, or is that a night in?!?!? :D

LOL you don't know what Passion Pop is? It's some sort of wine - the drink of teenagers... Can't say I've ever tried it though.

Back when I had my one & only dose of Passion Pop (around 9-10 years ago), UDL's were the fad drink back then and around $6 a can!

Oh how times have changed!

Back when I had my one & only dose of Passion Pop (around 9-10 years ago), UDL's were the fad drink back then and around $6 a can!

Oh how times have changed!

Whatever happened to those alcohol icy poles?? They were goooood. I remember buying one at Heat :)o) at Crown, but then they just disappeared..

They probably run out of stock permanently with you around :D.

And as for Heat. You think its embarrassing being there. You know whats worse. GETTING KNOCKED BACK TO GET IN!

I've only been there that one time, but how much does that suck....I am a guy though, so you get used to the discrimination, plus I was probably pretty smashed at the time.

Ugh.... UDLs and cruisers are the devil!!! I do like the girly sweet-ish drinks but those taste like shite.

They were huge early days though UDL's as they were really the first mob to start making the premix Vodka cans.

Now they are like Red Bear, and the bourbon equivalent is Old Crow *shudder*

Anyway, I stick to the Carlton Draught & Jim Beam. Can't lose really (except money).

I usually only have SKYY vodka premixes. Cocktails don't go well with me, and Bacardi Breezers are ickyy.

Whoops. That's another thread that's been hijacked.

They probably run out of stock permanently with you around :D..

Oh ha ha. Still doesn't answer my question though. I think the discontinued them cause icy poles are too much like something kids would be into. Kinda like that beer flavoured milk they wanted to bring out!! Anyway, I'm gonna make my own!! Icy Poles that is.. maybe make some margeritas and freeze them into icy pole moulds. Would that work??? Or would something gross happen to the margerita mix, when it chages from a liquid to a solid?? :confused:

And as for Heat. You think its embarrassing being there. You know whats worse. GETTING KNOCKED BACK TO GET IN!

I've only been there that one time, but how much does that suck....I am a guy though, so you get used to the discrimination, plus I was probably pretty smashed at the time.

HA. Suffer.
Yeah the place was always overcrowded and full of wogs. (And btw, i can say that cause I am one ;)) I'd only been there a few times myself.

And yes, sorry for hijacking the thread...

Last year when Collingwood beat us by 102 points. When Leon Davis is tearing you a new one, you know you're in heaps of trouble.

That Pies game was second-worst Geelong moment ever for me. Worst was being in Pakistan in 1994 during the finals and making the effort in Karachi to get Radio Australia to listen in to the GF. Hocking is off early and it's a complete disaster. Never felt so alone (couldn't even get a drink to drown sorrows) and down about a result.

Certainly made the wait worthwhile. I'm not sure if there is any supporters left from other clubs I haven't yet told about the result.

Had you ever lost hope?