Just been reading the papers over the last few weeks in Warrnambool and the big news is that the HFNL Interleague may be in trouble of staying alive and there asking for ideas to help keep the HFNL involved....
Here is my thought just wondering what other people think....
The 1st thing that the League need to do is get the Netball involved... Senior Netball and also maybe U17 netball because this is where we will get some parents and family of the netballers to come along, and the senior netballers have always had a really good side...
The next thing I reckon is they need to schedule it the same weekend as the WDFNL have thier bye round, this might draw more south west football followers to the game.
Also need to have it at the REID Oval, take it to where the people are and that is in Wbool...
The football side of things should go like this..
The U18 match should start at 945am followed by the Geelong Falcons Vs North Ballarat Rebels. This would really provide a great oppurtunity for the league to showcase the juniors that have been pushed down to play at the next level, and not a lot of people get to see how good the talent we have is....
Finally the senior game should be played at 2pm after the TAC game. This would be a an oppurtunity to showacase the HFNL not with only the Senior Football but it should make it exciting for the people of the South West to get out there and see the best talent we have got...
Also the players who make themselves available should be rewarded, senior players should recieve all their match day gear, as well as the U18, also the same with the Netballers.
The league have 12 months to organise it, so they should be able to start working with the WDFNL and also the TAC CUP to arrange the fixture so it can happen...
What do you think? Just a thought
Champ you have some great ideas and they are worth pursuing send them into the HFNL and see how you go.
What the article in The Subby failed to address is that the landscape has changed significantly since the glory days of interleague.
Obviously the AFL has changed and broadcasting has too. When I was a boy 3YB broadcast the HFL with score updates of the then VFL. There were no live matches except the Swans on Sundays and Friday nights started in about 1987. The HFL had a much bigger profile in the loca media and a bit of prestige about it.
AFL/VFL was only semi professional most blokes still had regular jobs, there was nowhere near the money involved. Lists were bigger and drafting did not exist, each club had a zone that it could recruit from.
Once finished in the AFL most players filtered back into Metro or Country Footy as playing coaches. Think Grant Thomas and many others in the HFL alone. There were also plenty of others who had had a taste of the city but didn't like it. At one stage I reckon every coach in the HFL was ex AFL, now ...... It's not having a go at the current coaches just a statement of fact.
There was no TAC cup and as a rule guys were recruited a little bit older.
Thus Interleague became the place to see the best of your league that included;
*recent AFL players straight out of the game
*young guns who might make it
*solid players who were happy where they were but could have made it
Every league had heaps of ex AFL players running around and dependent upon who the HFL were playing you would get to see some great players and generally a great game. Importantly their were always recruiters watching these games.
Unfortunately it's just not the same anymore.