Has Hamling improved?

He has not improved. He is simply doing what he was doing in his final season of the VFL for Geelong. The coaching staff, for whatever reason, never gave the kid an opportunity in the senior team. Perhaps he wasn't meeting the teams training standards? I have no idea why he was never given a go.
Always felt he was worth persisting with. 195cm tall, 90kg, Indigenous blood, just a really good prospect who was always going to take time.
I was always a bit of a fan of his, so perhaps I'm giving too much praise but saw a bit of Joel in the VFL over the years and always rated his attack/courage at the contests (for a very skinny frame) and his athletic ability. If he ends up going on to become a 200 game player at the Dogs, the Geelong Football club should be extremely disappointed they never even gave this one a chance but the likes of Jesse Stringer & Jackson Sheringham received games :confused:

Said at the end of last season that I would spit the dummy if club let Hamling go without a senior game or two to see if there was something, he ended up at another club and did okay ...

Well - the dummy is still in the oraface but is getting well chewed.

My first thought is to be happy for him and Hunt (who I also thought was crazy to let go).

Must say I think the MC and probably Scott has been very, very blinkered, played "favourites " (including pencilling players like Kolo into roles that they may not necessarily develop into) and not showed flexible thinking in Hamling and others situations.

Sure - the queue of tall backs at the club was and is still big, but they could have:
- started Hamlingon a HFF (with the odd switch to half back) for a game or two - wouldn't have lost anything against Kersten's finish to 2014
- started Hamling at tihe back and Lonegan, Taylor or even Rivers at CHF in those games where we had no CHF

Be interesting to see the reaction from the Geelong faithful if Bulldogs win at Kardinia park and Hamling goes okay.

As pointed out above - letting Hamling go was a crazier decision against the back drop of large numbers of LTIS on the list. On this front, it has been a massive mistake to have backed 5 or 6 chronically injured players Into another season that we were never going to be a threat for a GF playoff. Building for a premiership is about getting a a healthy list to 50-100 games. Really need to stop recruiting chronically injured players and show a little bit of common sense (and tough calls) for guys on Lti for 2 plus years. What is the proportion of chronically injured guys who recover to go on to have good to great careers ? bugger all I would think.

Think you can carry one only with unrealiable health into year three but only if they are youngish, shown a track record (20-30 plus games) of good to great games. Menzel perhaps fits this but no other chronic LTI on our list. Crazy to have recruited Stanely, Clark, Read and in particular Delaney in the situation we had heaps of LTIs already. As much as Stanley and Clark are talented it ain't much good if they only get on the ground half the year and have a a reasonable chance of doing ankles, calfs in a big game. Going to be particularly embarassing if StKilda's Goddard (taken for Stanley's pick 21) turns out half decent.

That's the thing I couldn't quite get and was wondering whether he has just shown rapid improvement or if there was some other reason (bad relationship with coach, etc). Would think that you would at least give him a debut game.
We don't understand it. Showed some real albeit raw promise in the reserves. Would rather have him then Kersten right now.

Hamling was a project selection wasn't he?

I thought so. Thought it was always believed it would take him a few years playing VFL before he'd be ready for a shot at AFL, which is why not getting an AFL game shouldn't have worked against him. Really seems like a situation where Geelong did the development work for three years, and then for some reason chose to piss it away by letting him go somewhere else.

Not sure if he was offered a rookie deal or a lesser deal than Bullies could offer, so he walked.

JJ is a speed demon off halfback for us, in a club released Q&A video with JJ he was asked who the fastest player was in the team. His response was either him, Lin Jong or Hamling, incredible for a player his size. I think I read somewhere he may have been more an athlete then a footballer and was drafted as a project player. Sort of like Blicavs for you guys and Easton Wood for us, hopefully he can improve on a similar trajectory to these guys. us dogs know better than most that recruiting athletes over footballers is fraught with danger though, Tom Williams although playing 100 games was a bust with pick 6.

Hammer seems a strange cat (no pun). Sounds a bit indifferent in interviews, saw him rocking double denim at a VFL match in Franskton the other week, might be a country lad.

It's all swings and roundabouts with this stuff, you get some steals you miss out on other stuff, Blicavs, Gregson, Lang have been huge finds for you guys.

JJ is a speed demon off halfback for us, in a club released Q&A video with JJ he was asked who the fastest player was in the team. His response was either him, Lin Jong or Hamling, incredible for a player his size. I think I read somewhere he may have been more an athlete then a footballer and was drafted as a project player. Sort of like Blicavs for you guys and Easton Wood for us, hopefully he can improve on a similar trajectory to these guys. us dogs know better than most that recruiting athletes over footballers is fraught with danger though, Tom Williams although playing 100 games was a bust with pick 6.

Hammer seems a strange cat (no pun). Sounds a bit indifferent in interviews, saw him rocking double denim at a VFL match in Franskton the other week, might be a country lad.

It's all swings and roundabouts with this stuff, you get some steals you miss out on other stuff, Blicavs, Gregson, Lang have been huge finds for you guys.

We could/should have found a way to get a game or two into him.. he still may have gone. Not every pick end up where you hope. And the players he would have pushed out are still better than him.

Sorry, who is JJ?

Sorry Jason Johannisan
Don't like our chances against your team in the next few weeks.
Last year in the wet at Geelong was a real struggle, and I recall saying to my footy mate that this could be the last time for a while we have a win against them.

Always hard to win down your way. Think the wet game helped us last year. Thought that was the day Wallis really announced himself as a player, when he went off injured we lost all of our momentum.

Never been to the Cattery, will definitely make it down this time.

I was disappointed with the decision to delist him. When I first heard that he's been performing well down back for the dogs I thought "that sounds about right". Between Hamling and Taylor Hunt, I don't think that the GFC have made the best calls in the off-season last year.

Because he is a rookie and they wanted to rookie him
Am I correct in thinking I may have heard that they wanted to rookie Hamling, but the Doggies offer was obviously better, hence the Delaney move, or no relationship at all?

If he was injured we would have kept him
tumblr_m1dxfrAa1L1rq4no1o1_r1_500.jpg

I was disappointed with the decision to delist him. When I first heard that he's been performing well down back for the dogs I thought "that sounds about right". Between Hamling and Taylor Hunt, I don't think that the GFC have made the best calls in the off-season last year.

Geelong's last off-season was a mess in terms of recruitment and list management. There'll be real cause for concern regarding the list management and recruitment strategies under Scott if the club makes similar blunders at the end of this year.

The Bundy post season shenanigans may have had an impact.
They would not have accounted for that departure prior to some of their recruiting thoughts, and don't know if the potential Lonergan to Dogs move was a real distraction for them, but I would guess yes.

I thought it was a poor list management decision at the time and I still think it was a poor one today.

The oddest decision was that they reportedly offered him a rookie list spot (and he didnt want it) which is odd, because they only used the spot to recruit Blease, who we could easily have got as a rookie anyway, so the risk was for naught, besides which if they were trying to move anyone to the rookie list to make space it would have been far easier to do that with Cowan who no club would have touched due to his injuries, when it was obvious Hamling as a KPD would be snapped up. I think Kolo will be far better than Hamling, but it was a very odd list management call.

Has Hamling improved?