Hawks need a small defender

What would you give for someone like Steve Morris from the Tigers? Doesn't get much of the footy but is handy with ball in hand. Also never loses a contest. Has only given up 2 goals in the last 8 weeks.

I doubt he would be pushed out of Richmond, but I reckon with Tigers signing up guys like Riewoldt, Cotchin, Deledio and Martin to long expensive contracts, a few players might look elsewhere for extra $$$
There's no way Morris will be going anywhere.

Tommy Logan has hit good form for Port and is 27 years old, adds experience. was in the top 2 or 3 for Port last week. Would be a lot better in a better team like Hawthorn
Can I ask how the development of Sammy Grimley is going? Looked decent in the last 2 games he played.

Tommy Logan has hit good form for Port and is 27 years old, adds experience. was in the top 2 or 3 for Port last week. Would be a lot better in a better team like Hawthorn
Can I ask how the development of Sammy Grimley is going? Looked decent in the last 2 games he played.

As you are probably aware, Grimley was recruited as a project player and this is his 4th year on the list.
From memory he was playing in the development squad at Box Hill at the start of last season and there were a few that were suggesting that he wasnt going to make it. I know I certainly did not hold out much hope.
But by all accounts he has knuckled down and had a ripper pre-season, showed some promise in the NAB cup, and was playing well in the Box Hill seniors at the start of the year.

Adds another dimension to the side with his mobility and overhead marking.
Seems to have a very good set of dukes.....not surprising really that an ex-basketballer can take a strong grab. But I think most it comes down to confidence and attitude. Many of us were thinking that this might be his last year on the list if he didnt start pushing for a spot in the seniors, but he really seems to have his attitude right and is doing everything to make the most of his opportunity.

Check out this picture of Sam posted by Ben Stratton the night he got named to play his first game a couple of weeks ago.

This is what you want to see in your young players. It is pretty obvious what it means to him to play senior footy. This is what you want to see in your young players. Proud of the club they play for and keen to impress.

The question will now be how we get him regular games in the seniors.....who makes way so he can get more experience and further build the depth at Hawthorn. We might have to rest Buddy for a few games so Grimmers can stay in the side for a few more games.

Garrick Ibbotson from Fremantle would be perfect fit. He is having a really good year for the Dockers. Is he out of contract at the end of the year? At 25 he could offer plenty for our defense in my opinion.

Hawks need a small defender