Hayden Ballantyne

He was greedy all game, didn't do the TEAM thing. That post was not mine but I did agree with it.

What about when Hayden (can't remember which quarter) took a mark and without looking for better options just turned his back ready to take a set shot. All the while Walters was swinging his arms about at the top of the goal square only to drop his head knowing that it was a goal opportunity MISSED.

All we hear from Swans supporters is about the (bloods) culture (although they have inherit some culture from a defunct South Melbourne side to flog that particular dead horse), and everyone doing it for the team. It's not too hard to build a quality team when you can outbid everybody else for whichever player takes your fancy.

Nobody outside of NSW has any respect for your premierships, as we all know they were just to prop up a team in a rugby state. If you want the rest of Australia to take you seriously, try standing on your own two feet.

LOL ... feeling a tad grumpy ? Wonder why !

I've not said anything about "Swans Culture" or anything Swans. I was posting something from the outside looking in while keeping BOTH eyes open ... seems you have a gripe, doesn't matter to me, it's water off this Swans back.

You gotta problem with the COLA then take it up with the AFL ... I don't make the rules.

He was greedy all game, didn't do the TEAM thing. That post was not mine but I did agree with it.

What about when Hayden (can't remember which quarter) took a mark and without looking for better options just turned his back ready to take a set shot. All the while Walters was swinging his arms about at the top of the goal square only to drop his head knowing that it was a goal opportunity MISSED.

No idea what/when you're talking about. I was simply commenting on your previous post. It wasn't as simple as just passing it to Walters. He had to create space, he wasn't able to. Sure an opportunity for an easy goal was lost, better than a turnover though. Realistically, he should have been able to slot the goal through anyway.

As I said, he didn't have a great game. It wasn't about being greedy, hungry, or whatever else you want to call it though.

Pearce was far worse from what I saw. Spurr was at least as bad as Balla.

It's between Pearce and Dawson. Pearce had one of those shitty days where the worse you play, the more footy you get.

Dawson though, was it five or six goals? First Gunston, then Roughead. He was getting singled out by the Hawks. Talk about up-filed pressure all you like, but bugger me.

Someone said they switched Duff onto Gunston in the second half to quieten him down. He only kicked the one extra goal for the game.

Bizarro world or what, if that's true?

Inappropriate comment re one of our best posters,where is a mod when you need em?:eek:
:rolleyes:

I don't appreciate people trying to take the moral high ground on me and questioning my loyalty because I've criticised a player.

If you guys don't like it, don't read the thread. Pretty simple.

I don't appreciate people trying to take the moral high ground on me and questioning my loyalty because I've criticised a player.

my comments were about the thread and the OVERALL attack on here of Ballantyne...you didn't even start the thread!

Well poster after poster is telling you that your criticism is unjustified and your response has been to make personal attacks on them. Thats hardly adding any credibility to your comments. I think they're unjustified.

Ballas has really made big strides this year. He's pulled his head in and removed the undisciplined stuff like a member of the leadership group should do. He has a bad game, not through lack of effort, and you ignore all the history and all the improvements and all the progress and single him out for criticism which any reasonable person can see is putting the worst possible interpretation on the events that took place.

I've seen plenty of better interpretations that are a lot more valid.

Anyway, you're not Lyon and London to a brick says that he stays in the leadership group, continues to improve and helps us win a lot more games next year. Complaining about him after one bad game is unjustified and unworthy of his efforts.

Well poster after poster is telling you that your criticism is unjustified and your response has been to make personal attacks on them.
Your interpretation of events is utterly wrong, but that is not surprising.

My criticisms were no different than any others', except the added suggestion that Ballantyne should not remain in the leadership group - hardly unjustified given his failings.

The personal attacks were on me first. With one poster just talking emotively and not addressing what I had posted, but my loyalties and credentials as a supporter.
Thats hardly adding any credibility to your comments. I think they're unjustified.
I couldn't give a rats what you think.

Ballas has really made big strides this year. He's pulled his head in and removed the undisciplined stuff like a member of the leadership group should do. He has a bad game, not through lack of effort, and you ignore all the history and all the improvements and all the progress and single him out for criticism which any reasonable person can see is putting the worst possible interpretation on the events that took place.
Ok, this is more like it.

I agree with most of this, but I think its time for him to take what he has learnt and let someone else have a go in the leadership group. He didn't show leadership and that is the bottom line IMO.

Is it a leadership group or a support group for errant players?

I've seen plenty of better interpretations that are a lot more valid.
We each have our own opinions.

Anyway, you're not Lyon and London to a brick says that he stays in the leadership group, continues to improve and helps us win a lot more games next year. Complaining about him after one bad game is unjustified and unworthy of his efforts.
I agree that he will likely hold his position.

He gives his all every week and it sucked that he choked so badly, but regardless I will reserve my right on this board to speak my mind about player performances despite what the tut tut tut posters want to say.

LOL ... feeling a tad grumpy ? Wonder why !

I've not said anything about "Swans Culture" or anything Swans. I was posting something from the outside looking in while keeping BOTH eyes open ... seems you have a gripe, doesn't matter to me, it's water off this Swans back.

You gotta problem with the COLA then take it up with the AFL ... I don't make the rules.

Well, I'd say bad luck. You probably just took over the title of "most hated team" from Essendon today...

I live in a house with 2 Freo members & Balla's old man is a mate of mine. If I have to have a second team then the Dockers are that.

Is it not fair to criticise a player when it is justified, without going over the top and while keeping it civil. Debate is a good thing is it not ?

So let's get this straight. Swans use what options and tools are available, + lead the comp in exploring opportunities so in your opinion that makes them the "most hated team" ?? ... I feel very sorry for you friend, you see the world through Purple eyes only and I think that your JEALOUSY is in control of your brain.

The only reason that YOU hate us is because YOU are jealous.... don't confuse your emotions.

I live in a house with 2 Freo members & Balla's old man is a mate of mine. If I have to have a second team then the Dockers are that.

Is it not fair to criticise a player when it is justified, without going over the top and while keeping it civil. Debate is a good thing is it not ?

So let's get this straight. Swans use what options and tools are available, + lead the comp in exploring opportunities so in your opinion that makes them the "most hated team" ?? ... I feel very sorry for you friend, you see the world through Purple eyes only and I think that your JEALOUSY is in control of your brain.

The only reason that YOU hate us is because YOU are jealous.... don't confuse your emotions.

Swans have options and tools that are unavailable to the rest of the league* (COLA and some promotional benefits outside the salary cap -> AFL Ambassador!) This is millions of dollars the Swans get to pay their players that the rest of Australia can't. Why? Because if they were ever outside the 8 for more than a couple of years, attendances would plummet. The COLA isn't about Cost Of Living. It's about the AFL not believing that AFL as a sport can stand on it's own in NSW.

We aren't jealous, we wouldn't want to be a state incapable of supporting it's team through the tough times. Apart from 86/87 (when the Swans were top 4) It wasn't until the mid 90's when the Swans started drawing more than 20k average to a game, and that is as the only team in NSW. The only way the Swans are anything like South Melbourne is in their inability to draw a crowd. South Melbourne at least played by the same rules as the rest of the competition.

*Except GWS.

Hayden Ballantyne