Hayden Ballantyne

How bad was Danyle Pearce, butchered the ball more than I have ever seen. Would have made Jigsaw proud

Worthy of a read ... maybe ??

from sydenyswans.com -

RECENTLY retired premiership player Mitch Morton thinks the controversial cost of living allowance given to players living in Sydney should be 20 per cent.
Morton told AFL.com.au’s Gillette Trade Radio that those who have not resided in Sydney do not understand how expensive it is to live in the Harbour City.
"What I honestly think of the COLA [cost of living allowance] is it should be 20 per cent. Sydney is the most expensive place in Australia by 20 or 30 per cent," he said.
Morton spent two seasons with the Sydney Swans and played in the 2012 premiership.
He retired this season, ending a career that began with West Coast in 2005.
He then moved to Victoria in 2008 to play for Richmond before the Swans recruited him at the end of 2011.
He played 12 games for the Sydney Swans including a premiership, kicking two goals in the Grand Final against Hawthorn. He kicked 116 goals in 83 games.
"If you have not lived up there you wouldn't understand it. Every home opening you go to there are 25-30 people trying to get the joint so you have got to pay above and beyond just to get your head in the door," Morton said.
He said that some AFL rookies battled to live in Sydney even with the 9.8 percent allowance they receive.
"All in all it is a very expensive place to live."

Sorry, but Perth is becoming just as expensive.

What is the average rookie salary? I tried looking it up and got $49000?

from sydenyswans.com -

RECENTLY retired premiership player Mitch Morton thinks the controversial cost of living allowance given to players living in Sydney should be 20 per cent.
Morton told AFL.com.au’s Gillette Trade Radio that those who have not resided in Sydney do not understand how expensive it is to live in the Harbour City.
"What I honestly think of the COLA [cost of living allowance] is it should be 20 per cent. Sydney is the most expensive place in Australia by 20 or 30 per cent," he said.
Morton spent two seasons with the Sydney Swans and played in the 2012 premiership.
He then moved to Victoria in 2008 to play for Richmond before the Swans recruited him at the end of 2011.
He played 12 games for the Sydney Swans including a premiership, kicking two goals in the Grand Final against Hawthorn. He kicked 116 goals in 83 games.
"If you have not lived up there you wouldn't understand it. Every home opening you go to there are 25-30 people trying to get the joint so you have got to pay above and beyond just to get your head in the door," Morton said.
He said that some AFL rookies battled to live in Sydney even with the 9.8 percent allowance they receive.

from sydenyswans.com -

I will see your anecdote and raise you an independant study.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-07-11/pricey-perth/4814248

Your team won a premiership and then went straight out and bought an elite KPP. Followed it up the next year with another top 4 finish, and another elite KPP off the market.

I wish that article actually compared some prices of things between Perth and Sydney, rather than just telling us something we already know :thumbsdown:

I agree mate. Except Mooney hit the post from the top of the square...
But in all seriousness Pearce I thought was your poorest performer on the day.

You obviously didn't see Ballantyne's, Clarke's and Dawson's games?

I am no fan, but Pearce had 17 possessions and kicked a goal for a total of 76 DT points.

He also had a better game than Sewell, Guerra, Hale and Burgoyne.

from sydenyswans.com -

Well if an AFL player says it is more expensive to live in Sydney then it must be true.

That does nothing to strengthen your argument.

The cost of living allowance should be whatever percentage each city is worked out to be compared to the cheapest city applied to base salary players only.

When you're on $300k you aren't feeling the extra land rates or car rego payments.

I wonder how WA rookies go living in Perth on 9.8 per cent less than Sydney rookies? It must be a cake walk... Oh wait, actually the rookie wage is shit across the board and any rookie would be struggling on 50k a year when they have to move to a new state and work 6 days a week.

<snip COLA debate>
The issue with the argument that the COLA is spread over the entire list is that it is folly. A player worth $200K to Sydney does not get $220K they get $200K. That same player to VIC, SA or anywhere else would still cost $200K. Really Sydney are paying them $182K with the COLA bringing their wage up to AFL standard. Every player on your list is paid what they are worth including the COLA. Which means, on average you can afford players who are 9.8% better than any other club (except GWS). The net result of this over a list of 38 players is that COLA = Lance for the next 9 years.

We had the knowledge that Lance wanted in with the Swans. We had 3 retirees and have taken Mummy's departure into account. If we had not been approached by Liam Pickering after last years Granny we would be none the wiser and would've gone down a different path.

We've now put 4 of our bickies into one basket but just continue not seeing the truth, it's your prerogative.

Suppose it was foolish to enter the sanctum of the Dockers and have something to say about a player whom I admire, only to be dragged into Swans business ... silly me !

. . . . end of discussion as far as I'm concerned & good luck next year Fremantle Dockers, their members and fans.

He was greedy all game, didn't do the TEAM thing. That post was not mine but I did agree with it.

What about when Hayden (can't remember which quarter) took a mark and without looking for better options just turned his back ready to take a set shot. All the while Walters was swinging his arms about at the top of the goal square only to drop his head knowing that it was a goal opportunity MISSED.

Keep up or keep out champ.
This was answered immediately above your post ( ref post 191 ).
And furthermore, he didn't turn his back.
The pass wasn't on because it would have been a hospital job or an easy spoil, to get the ball to him.

We had the knowledge that Lance wanted in with the Swans. We had 3 retirees and have taken Mummy's departure into account. If we had not been approached by Liam Pickering after last years Granny we would be none the wiser and would've gone down a different path.

We've now put 4 of our bickies into one basket but just continue not seeing the truth, it's your prerogative.

Suppose it was foolish to enter the sanctum of the Dockers and have something to say about a player whom I admire, only to be dragged into Swans business ... silly me !

. . . . end of discussion as far as I'm concerned & good luck next year Fremantle Dockers, their members and fans.

If it's any consolation, I think you're not far off the mark with most of your posts, particularly in that our anger about Sydney's 'special treatment' should be directed at the AFL not the Swans, agree there.

But one argument I think you'll never get anybody around here or probably outside of the Swans fans and Vlad to agree with is that the COLA is a fair and necessary thing. Sydney does have smart recruiters, an excellent executive and playing culture, great leaders on and off the field, and are the envy of many clubs - but they do, absolutely do have a distinct advantage with COLA whichever way you slice the bread.

COLA should be for up to 2nd year players only and/or those under a certain player payment, and be indexed by some formal system that reflects actual COL not the made up version that the AFL have. Otherwise it's nothing more than a keep Sydney in the top 8 allowance and nothing else.

Anyway, that's my one post on this subject and, like you, I'm leaving it at that.

Have had a brief glance at this thread. If this has been said before, good on you. All Hayden baggers who follow Freo. Pull your heads in !!!

The guy had a bad day. He wasn't alone.

The guy bleeds purple. We all loved him when he sealed the Richmond game. We all loved him when he turned the game against Carlton. We all loved him when he kicked the goal that put to rest any minor chance Sydney might have had in the Prelim.

After seeing his bloodshot eyes after the GF loss, how can anyone bag him? PULL YOUR HEADS IN OR DO BETTER YOURSELVES .

Rant over.

You obviously didn't see Ballantyne's, Clarke's and Dawson's games?

I am no fan, but Pearce had 17 possessions and kicked a goal for a total of 76 DT points.

He also had a better game than Sewell, Guerra, Hale and Burgoyne.

He had it 17 times at 59% effeciency. Hence why I said he BUTCHERED it. Also kicked one shot out on the full and dropped a simple chest mark.

The right amount of Ballantyne pest for me was against Carlton where he got his jumper torn to shreds and then kicked a goal from a HTB tackle against Andrew Walker.

I also loved the "He punched me in the nuts!" incident.

Anything more than that is too much, especially if he dives or gives someone a bit of a love tap. I don't think he does that much anymore but it is always a fine line with him.

Footy first - Ballantyne needs to stick to the basics and try not to do so much that he gets caught or ends up slipping over.

All that other entertaining stuff is an extra.

That's for sure. His sledging days are definitely over.

Bloody hell you lot. Give the guy a break. I vividly recall the roar at several games when he got near the ball and we all just knew something good was about to happen. It's not the only time Ballas has had an off game. But too much emphasis is being put on this one because it was a GF. If every player played to their optimum EVERY game, we would lose none. The beauty of our game is that nearly every match produces surprise performances - both good and bad. That does not mean those performances will be reproduced in the next game. Had Hawthorn lost, would their supporters be calling Mitchell a dud because he only managed a handful of rushed disposals? Not likely.
I for one have long admired Ballas tally of 1 percenters he provides nearly every time he crosses the line. Things just didn't go his way this time. Anyone prepared to bet that it will be the same in his next big game is likely to have a lighter bank balance.
Sheesh! :mad:

Bloody hell you lot. Give the guy a break. I vividly recall the roar at several games when he got near the ball and we all just knew something good was about to happen. It's not the only time Ballas has had an off game. But too much emphasis is being put on this one because it was a GF. If every player played to their optimum EVERY game, we would lose none. The beauty of our game is that nearly every match produces surprise performances - both good and bad. That does not mean those performances will be reproduced in the next game. Had Hawthorn lost, would their supporters be calling Mitchell a dud because he only managed a handful of rushed disposals? Not likely.
I for one have long admired Ballas tally of 1 percenters he provides nearly every time he crosses the line. Things just didn't go his way this time. Anyone prepared to bet that it will be the same in his next big game is likely to have a lighter bank balance.
Sheesh! :mad:

The Ballantyne story was an interesting one. I live in Perth and watch alot of Freo games and in every single one Ballantyne is running around talking trash, pushing people over who have given away free kicks and trying to milk free kicks by getting into a players face then falling to the ground faking high contact. In the GF he didn't even make a peep - didn't see him say a word which is an interesting insight into his mindset.

Given his shocker he is going to cop more than he gave out next year. There are going to players lining up to call him a choker so it might be that the tables have been turned. Will be a huge amount of pressure on him.

I'm not the only person to hate Crowley and Ballantyne, but Crowley has extracted the respect he deserves.

I
The Ballantyne story was an interesting one. I live in Perth and watch alot of Freo games and in every single one Ballantyne is running around talking trash, pushing people over who have given away free kicks and trying to milk free kicks by getting into a players face then falling to the ground faking high contact. In the GF he didn't even make a peep - didn't see him say a word which is an interesting insight into his mindset.

Given his shocker he is going to cop more than he gave out next year. There are going to players lining up to call him a choker so it might be that the tables have been turned. Will be a huge amount of pressure on him.

I'm not the only person to hate Crowley and Ballantyne, but Crowley has extracted the respect he deserves.

If Ballantyne was particularly vulnerable to what other people say, he wouldn't be such an annoyance on the field - one I appreciate highly as a Freo supporter! Given he's little guy who's had to force his way in, I expect that his brash attitude is backed up by some mental toughness, making him a good chance to move on from a shocker and rebound next year. Go Ballas!

Ballas was a huge Eagles fan and was hoping to get picked up by them in the 2008 draft as their 2nd draft pick after he won the Sandover Medal in the same year.

But the Eagles picked up Luke Shuey at pick 18 instead and then went for club legend Tom Swift at pick 20 opting get Ballas with their next pick, which was pick 36 if he was still there.

Freo took him at pick 21 with their second pick after taking Stephen Hill at pick 3 leaving the Eagles to pick up superstar Ash Smith instead at pick 36.

Small forward doesn't perform in grand final. Colour me surprised:

On that note I am worried about Ballantyne. The gap between his home & away form is pretty massive. I hope that if the ball isn't falling his way around goals he plays a fully throttle defensive game like he can. Something like how he played against Carlton.
Yeah, but historically small forwards struggle in grand finals, and Ballantyne has struggled away from Subi. It would take a unique effort from him to be a major contributor on the scoreboard. As such I hope he emphasises his forward defensive game and takes whatever comes his way offensively.

TBH he played a better game than I expected from him. And anyone criticising him not passing to Walters is an idiot. Every forward should take the responsibility upon themselves to go for goal if they are in range.

Hayden Ballantyne