Competitions Health and fitness

Just discovered the Prepare Like a Pro podcast, highly recommend

>Ligma beat me to it
I’ve always followed them on socials but never listened to their podcast til yesterday. Best decision I’ve ever made!

you’ll see me on their story tryna win a giveaway 😭

I’ve always followed them on socials but never listened to their podcast til yesterday. Best decision I’ve ever made!

you’ll see me on their story tryna win a giveaway 😭

First episode I watched was the Dr Peter Bruckner one which was terrible listening to him spruiking all of his apps and closed Facebook groups, but my mate insisted I persist so I went back to episode 1 and yeah it's awesome. Think I got through about 5 episodes yesterday alone.

Have you listed to the Torin Baker episode? He is one of my 3 coaches at Carlton! I also loved the Harry sharp one, I didn’t know he is still going through year 12

Howd u get on with your baby cow?

Incorporate some resistance training into your calf recovery on top of your stretching, foam rolling etc and ice it if its sore and do lots of stretching focused higher up, particularly on your glutes and lower back! You must do some strengthening work in the calf, generally speaking muscle tightness can also indicate muscle weakness. Good luck, they are a shocker.

On SM-G950F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Incorporate some resistance training into your calf recovery on top of your stretching, foam rolling etc and ice it if its sore and do lots of stretching focused higher up, particularly on your glutes and lower back! You must do some strengthening work in the calf, generally speaking muscle tightness can also indicate muscle weakness. Good luck, they are a shocker.

Rural thread pleas..

My baby cows are okay today! I have this foot massager thing and my baby cows can fit in there! So I just got them in there for a full cycle.

My hams are sore today tho but I will do some mobility work today

Need to lose some weight and work on my strength and explosiveness/endurance (especially through the legs) with social beach volleyball in mind.
Anyone got any tips or exercises I should look at doing either at home or the gym?

Need to lose some weight and work on my strength and explosiveness/endurance (especially through the legs) with social beach volleyball in mind.
Anyone got any tips or exercises I should look at doing either at home or the gym?
I think plyometrics would be the best for volleyball! Do you prefer to work out in the gym or at home, I have some workouts I can send you. They are for footy but it’s aiming for the same goal of explosiveness in the gym.

There are also some good YouTube videos! If you just search plyometrics for volleyball, a lot of info will come up😃

Question for the runners/track & field

have you guys overcome calf soreness? Like I know the recovery protocols, but after my latest training sessions my calves have felt like hell. I think it might be my foot strike or just inconsistency in my running. It feels more worn out

I run fairly regularly and I've struggled with calf pain on and off for two and a bit years.

Foot striking will have a major impact (try to avoid heel striking and if you can run on your toes it helps heaps). I've worked really closely with a physio and their main advice was to be consistent in running, avoiding running on concrete or harder surfaces, and to do calf raises as a regular exercise. Other than that, it's just getting regular maintenance and recovery as you've mentioned. I am pretty consistent in running now and having done a hell of a lot of work on gait and foot striking, as well as generally building up other parts of the leg (hip flexors a massive one), you'll find you're not loading your calves as much. The caveat is that I'm definitely not an exercise physiologist and this is only what's worked for me individually.

I'm not a physio but have been a recreational runner for .. a long time .. and have had a crapload of calf injuries. Most likely culprits are overtraining, bad shoes or inadequate recovery. You could look at increasing your magnesium intake if you have cramping problems often. Obviously if you have an actual strain, even a very low grade one, you need to rest it.

(Note - the following is my opinion / experience only. YMMV.) Firstly, foot strike only really comes in with relation to distance running, not middle distance or sprints. IMO the fascination with foot strike that some physios have is bullsh*t. I've had some have me do ridiculous exercises to try to strike further forward on my foot but I later read a great article that pointed out that where you strike is a result of your happens further up your kinetic chain. Heel striking, over striding and low cadence all come from anterior pelvic tilt. If you straighten your posture (think pulling the top of your hip bones up or lower pelvis forward) when you run (distance) you will find your strike moves forward, cadence increases and overstriding reduces. However I still got plenty of calf injuries after changing this. The best things I've done for my calves were getting the right kind of shoes and hitting the foam roller between sessions.

This is an excellent post. Shoes maketh the runner

I run fairly regularly and I've struggled with calf pain on and off for two and a bit years.

Foot striking will have a major impact (try to avoid heel striking and if you can run on your toes it helps heaps). I've worked really closely with a physio and their main advice was to be consistent in running, avoiding running on concrete or harder surfaces, and to do calf raises as a regular exercise. Other than that, it's just getting regular maintenance and recovery as you've mentioned. I am pretty consistent in running now and having done a hell of a lot of work on gait and foot striking, as well as generally building up other parts of the leg (hip flexors a massive one), you'll find you're not loading your calves as much. The caveat is that I'm definitely not an exercise physiologist and this is only what's worked for me individually.

This is an excellent post. Shoes maketh the runner
Thank youuuu, I messaged my s&c coach about it and he said it could be either loading or foot strike, I think it could just be loading because I do think my running form is pretty good lol ran wickets run too many times🤢🤢🤢

I got asics for my plantar fasciitis and they are elite absolute love them

Thank youuuu, I messaged my s&c coach about it and he said it could be either loading or foot strike, I think it could just be loading because I do think my running form is pretty good lol ran wickets run too many times

I got asics for my plantar fasciitis and they are elite absolute love them
If you have had plantar fasciitis and now sore calves, ill say with some confidence your glutes will be tight. Release and stretch the top of the posterior chain and the rest will improve. Long glute stretches fixed my fasciitis and my calves which used to twinge regularly running are now mickey mouse

Now you can fly😏

I think plyometrics would be the best for volleyball! Do you prefer to work out in the gym or at home, I have some workouts I can send you. They are for footy but it’s aiming for the same goal of explosiveness in the gym.

There are also some good YouTube videos! If you just search plyometrics for volleyball, a lot of info will come up😃
Sounds good, send them through! :)
I can do either but obviously home doesn't involve leaving the house.

Planar Fasciitis sucks ass.
Found a lot of calf stretches and physio cream helps.
But its about regular maintenance more than anything.
You cant just stretch on game days and expect it to be ok.

Planar Fasciitis sucks ass.
Found a lot of calf stretches and physio cream helps.
But its about regular maintenance more than anything.
You cant just stretch on game days and expect it to be ok.
Yep :( endless rolling and feeling like it would snap. Bruh off convo but bloody hell the rain and shit is heavy

Sounds good, send them through! :)
I can do either but obviously home doesn't involve leaving the house.
Here’s a body weight workout! They are all super sets!
7D980764-BE03-41A2-8750-01DA191B072B.png

I look forward to hearing about how Zondor stays in shape...
They are called Brothels Scotty. But ****en Lockdown has meant I’ve had to hit YouPorn for some Self Service. I’ve put on some weight but I keep snaring KOMs on Strava. I suppose I’m a Natural. :stern look

Yes you may have heard of My Fitness Pal reading this thread. Well for the Novice out there you may ask what the **** is that? Well it is a Calorie Counting App. Now yah may think Counting Calories? **** that Shit! But learning what Foods have what calories can be beneficial. :stern look

So now you may be wondering how to use the ****er. Well it involves weighing your food with a scale (obviously) plus taking educated guesses about the amount of food you are ramming down your gob. So if you’re cooking at home you can weigh your food. Almost all packaged foods can be scanned which will provide you the calories of that food for every gram. If you go to Nandos and buy a Chicken Pita you should be able to search for that in the App. Things like Tomatoes you should be able to search for as well. A tomato for example has approximately 1 calorie for every gram. See, you’re learning. :stern look

Well an average bloke burns around 2,000 calories a day just living. They will burn more if they exercise. The idea is to burn more calories than you eat. in theory you should drop weight if you’re burning 3,000 calories a day but say only eating 2,500 calories a day. I personally dropped weight eating 2,700 calories a day but I did a fair bit of weights plus bike riding. Anyway that’s my little experience. I hope it helps you understand the basics of dropping weight by calorie counting. :stern look

Yes you may have heard of My Fitness Pal reading this thread. Well for the Novice out there you may ask what the fu** is that? Well it is a Calorie Counting App. Now yah may think Counting Calories? fu** that sh*t! But learning what Foods have what calories can be beneficial. :stern look

So now you may be wondering how to use the f***er. Well it involves weighing your food with a scale (obviously) plus taking educated guesses about the amount of food you are ramming down your gob. So if you’re cooking at home you can weigh your food. Almost all packaged foods can be scanned which will provide you the calories of that food for every gram. If you go to Nandos and buy a Chicken Pita you should be able to search for that in the App. Things like Tomatoes you should be able to search for as well. A tomato for example has approximately 1 calorie for every gram. See, you’re learning. :stern look

Well an average bloke burns around 2,000 calories a day just living. They will burn more if they exercise. The idea is to burn more calories than you eat. in theory you should drop weight if you’re burning 3,000 calories a day but say only eating 2,500 calories a day. I personally dropped weight eating 2,700 calories a day but I did a fair bit of weights plus bike riding. Anyway that’s my little experience. I hope it helps you understand the basics of dropping weight by calorie counting. :stern look
I didn’t know you were this smart sir😳

If you straighten your posture (think pulling the top of your hip bones up or lower pelvis forward) when you run (distance) you will find your strike moves forward, cadence increases and overstriding reduces.

Went for a run this morning. Tried a few things out and for anyone who has issues with foot striking, Ether is on the money. The best way I can describe it is to imagine you're being pulled along by a string attached to your belly button. Faster cadence will almost always lead to less pain during and after a run :thumbsu:

Competitions Health and fitness