Competitions Health and fitness

Big middle finger to those who say you can't train speed.

Back at footy tonight and after six months of absolutely busting my arse I've gone from being the slowest in our midfield group (aerobically best or second best) to second fastest.

I'm middle of the pack now aerobically so it has come at a slight cost.
Unreal effort mate.

Well done.

I remember you saying that was a goal you had. Its great that you've achieved it.

decided to run a route around my BF’s area, I got off the train and I kid you not the biggest fking incline I have ever attempted💀 it cooked me so much that I just decided to walk up the rest

loving footy at the moment. This is the first time I got to choose my number and I went straight for the 29.

Sometimes when I go for a daisy cutter kick I feel like LDU LMFAOOO

I feel like I have been able to perfectly balance my footy and running while using the INTVL app.

3 running sessions, 2 getting the kms in the legs and 1 speed session. The footy trainings are technically the other speed sessions.

I also feel like the reason why I feel so good and recovering well is because I have been eating well. Over the past few years I’ve seriously been underfuelling myself. I’ve been listening to a couple running podcasts, cheeky run club & Trail Kings and it has really opened my eyes. Endurance athletes and runners need WAY more carbs than they actually think (also carbs aren’t bad😭). In addition, I have also been eating clean and trying to hit 100g of protein a day.

Listening to podcasts that actually make you laugh is the ultimate hack for long runs.

Anyone concerned with amount of gear kids are taking these days? Been back in the gym the last 8 months, in a relatively small regional local gym and I’m overhearing kids 16,17,18 year olds talking about what stacks they are taking ect ect. Crazy to me that these kids are taking this shit without any sort of consistent blood work and without any clue that they are completely crashing their own hormone balance & production. I knew roid use was relatively common but didn’t realise it was this common.

Pretty sure most of these fellas are getting dud gear too because they don’t look like they are making considerable strength or aesthetic gains.

Weird world we live in.

Anyone concerned with amount of gear kids are taking these days? Been back in the gym the last 8 months, in a relatively small regional local gym and I’m overhearing kids 16,17,18 year olds talking about what stacks they are taking ect ect. Crazy to me that these kids are taking this shit without any sort of consistent blood work and without any clue that they are completely crashing their own hormone balance & production. I knew roid use was relatively common but didn’t realise it was this common.

Pretty sure most of these fellas are getting dud gear too because they don’t look like they are making considerable strength or aesthetic gains.

Weird world we live in.
Influencer brain rot unfortunately. I'd say the vast majority of even recreational lifters I knew were on the stuff ~7ish years ago, and it's only gotten worse since.

A lot of them also take 'TRT' doses because their favourite influencer said they're on TRT when they were being 'candid' (they weren't) so they don't even make gains anyway.

Influencer brain rot unfortunately. I'd say the vast majority of even recreational lifters I knew were on the stuff ~7ish years ago, and it's only gotten worse since.

A lot of them also take 'TRT' doses because their favourite influencer said they're on TRT when they were being 'candid' (they weren't) so they don't even make gains anyway.

I don't reckon it was that prevalent when I was 18-20 and lifting heaps. Seemed like there was only 1 or 2 people in the gym who were obviously on gear. Seems like that 1 or 2% has jumped to 30 or 40% now!

It's funny, since I mentioned it to a mate that I train with I've been seeing stacks of these influencers on Instagram that give ridiculous advice on steroid stacks and 'TRT'....for god sake there isn't a 16-30 yearold male who should be on test considering you are in your prime hormone producing ages.

Have mastered (for now) zone 2 running.

Was able to run 13kms with an average HR of 140 lowest split being 135bpm

Didn’t even get close to zone 3

Am really happy with this progress

Weird world we live in.

Find it quite funny in all honesty

I've been carnivore for a while, never taken a steroid in my life and am comparatively huge vs most kids hitting steroid cycles at 20.

98% of gym goers, particularly the young ones, just have terrible form or simply don't understand how to train properly and how you actually develop size, strength, muscle mass etc.

They think it's all - eat, smash sets out, eat, throw in some roids = get big.

At my gym (and most I've ever been too tbh), majority of people are lifting weights that are too heavy for them, they are far too quick during their movements, they don't contract/tension in the full range of motion and they don't actually work until failure/muscle fatigue/muscle damage. They don't stay in contraction or tension long enough either and deload. They dont understand hypertrophy.

What alot of them fail to understand is, you aren't really doing anything by pumping out 8 reps if you aren't achieving any of the above. They need to understand effective rep theory. You may as well have stayed home on the couch.

The gym and weight training no different to sports in a way, if you aren't sweating/fatigued like most other sports or exercise systems (HIIT, running, etc) you have room to work harder in your workouts. It should be extremely hard if you are maximising failure points.

It's hilarious to see some kids rock up in get ups like they've walked out of a nightclub, throw on some headphones and walk out like they've had a stroll in the park 40 minutes later and wonder why they look the same in 4 months.

Any kid who has ever sought advice in the gym from me, I've told to research myo rep sets, give 1 session a go, that quickly demonstrates what level of effort you need to be trying to focus on for each workout.

Halve the weight you are lifting and try doubling or triple the time you are taking to do the movement and almost all of them can barely do the amount of reps they were doing with twice the weight.

Find it quite funny in all honesty

I've been carnivore for a while, never taken a steroid in my life and am comparatively huge vs most kids hitting steroid cycles at 20.

98% of gym goers, particularly the young ones, just have terrible form or simply don't understand how to train properly and how you actually develop size, strength, muscle mass etc.

They think it's all - eat, smash sets out, eat, throw in some roids = get big.

At my gym (and most I've ever been too tbh), majority of people are lifting weights that are too heavy for them, they are far too quick during their movements, they don't contract/tension in the full range of motion and they don't actually work until failure/muscle fatigue/muscle damage. They don't stay in contraction or tension long enough either and deload. They dont understand hypertrophy.

What alot of them fail to understand is, you aren't really doing anything by pumping out 8 reps if you aren't achieving any of the above. They need to understand effective rep theory. You may as well have stayed home on the couch.

The gym and weight training no different to sports in a way, if you aren't sweating/fatigued like most other sports or exercise systems (HIIT, running, etc) you have room to work harder in your workouts. It should be extremely hard if you are maximising failure points.

It's hilarious to see some kids rock up in get ups like they've walked out of a nightclub, throw on some headphones and walk out like they've had a stroll in the park 40 minutes later and wonder why they look the same in 4 months.

Any kid who has ever sought advice in the gym from me, I've told to research myo rep sets, give 1 session a go, that quickly demonstrates what level of effort you need to be trying to focus on for each workout.

Halve the weight you are lifting and try doubling or triple the time you are taking to do the movement and almost all of them can barely do the amount of reps they were doing with twice the weight.

Totally...and I'm really not surprised that many of the kids don't know how to train hypertrophy correctly. Some of the advice out there on social media from these self proclaimed 'coaches' is downright stupid, especially when it comes to the use of PED's and nutrition. I often watch and see some of the youngers train for 40-50 minutes and hardly work up a sweat, and you think to yourself 'what was the point of that? you are just going through the motions'...

On the opposite end of the spectrum the other ones that I find funny are the kids/younger guys that come in and ego lift every session. Trying to beat their bench/deadlift/squat PB, week in week out. It makes absolutely no sense at all from a strength or hypertrophy standpoint. I used to do a lot of powerlifting style training and we'd be looking at blocks of 8-10 weeks before attempting any 1 Rep max efforts.

I've moved away from the powerlifting training these days and really focus on slow and controlled reps to failure along with stacks more mobility work. Really enjoy the challenge of the mobility work particularly hip related stuff as it translates so much to general athleticism, really wish I hadn't of overlooked this type of training in teens and early twenties.

I actually wholly disagree with the previous two points. No need to sweat your ass off to make gains and I reckon there's a lot of good things about 'ego lifting' that it gets a bad wrap.

decided to run a route around my BF’s area, I got off the train and I kid you not the biggest fking incline I have ever attempted💀 it cooked me so much that I just decided to walk up the rest
I think I know where that is, brutal hills 🤬

I’m in for 4 maras this year, Ballarat - pacing duties, Brisbane - racing, Sydney - pacing duties and Melbourne - racing. Took a few weeks off at Xmas and it’s hard work getting any sort of fitness back. The older I get the harder it seems. Especially training in the heat.

One of my fave sayings to young blokes .... the more you do something, the easier it gets, except for running. It's relatively easy enough when you're cruising through your 20's, but somewhere along the way the effort is more, or the recovery says "give me another day" ....

Did my back recently trying to put shoes on, lmao.
Was playing futsal 2 weeks ago, my mate Tom - who's business it is - was keeping but playing out. He shifted the ball to get around me, pulled his calf, so I got the ball and scored. The next night he sends me a pic of his leg up with some ice underneath it ....... calls me the next arvo, says "you'll get a laugh out of this" .... in the morning his calf blew up so he went to the Hospital ... they did a scan, has a grade 3 tear, but worse than that he says, there is a blood clot behind it .... He was right, I did laugh. Poor bugger.

On a different note, my best little mate has been constantly watching the growth of his thigh muscles. I have been blessed with some powerful legs, not like young Matty Larkin, but heavier than most folk. He was watching some Cristiano Ronaldo thing, reckons "he's legs are bigger than yours dad" .... no sh1t Sherlock .... then proceeded to tell him that walking home from school will turn his little saplings into decent tree trunks :-D

Are Nike speed shoes worth it anymore? I have a staff pass and unsure what to buy

I really like the old tempos and now I’m confused what’s what lol

Did my back recently trying to put shoes on, lmao.

Oh mate, it's the worst. You always seem to do it in the most non-descript ways. I did mine one day putting my 4 month old down for a nap. Had to get my old girl to come out an hour later because I couldn't lift him out of the cot once he woke up!

I've had issues with mine the last 6-7 years and it's only now that I'm starting to get strength back in my deadlift and in my squat.

Have a look at lowbackability and rehabfix on Instagram or Youtube. I've found that the exercises/mobility they prescribe have really helped my lower back and hip mobility/strength.

Oh mate, it's the worst. You always seem to do it in the most non-descript ways. I did mine one day putting my 4 month old down for a nap. Had to get my old girl to come out an hour later because I couldn't lift him out of the cot once he woke up!

I've had issues with mine the last 6-7 years and it's only now that I'm starting to get strength back in my deadlift and in my squat.

Have a look at lowbackability and rehabfix on Instagram or Youtube. I've found that the exercises/mobility they prescribe have really helped my lower back and hip mobility/strength.
100%!

Thanks mate, been down this road a few times before so thankfully know what to do, to keep mobile, what pain I can push through, etc.

My lower back was feeling so good as well, squatting and deadlifting great weight, great mobility, etc.

Hamstrings were a bit tight one day, I bent down to put on some shoes and bang, there it goes.

Hopefully it doesn't take too long to get some strength into it again. It's taken all my power away at footy that I've worked hard for, though, which is hugely disappointing but it is what it is.

Pushed out some light deadlifts today and felt okayish.

100%!

Thanks mate, been down this road a few times before so thankfully know what to do, to keep mobile, what pain I can push through, etc.

My lower back was feeling so good as well, squatting and deadlifting great weight, great mobility, etc.

Hamstrings were a bit tight one day, I bent down to put on some shoes and bang, there it goes.

Hopefully it doesn't take too long to get some strength into it again. It's taken all my power away at footy that I've worked hard for, though, which is hugely disappointing but it is what it is.

Pushed out some light deadlifts today and felt okayish.
Needs more back extensions.

I did my longest run ever today lol 15km. Was really good listened to a funny podcast, tried the pure sports gels which are amazing!! I ran out of maurten and they were sold out everywhere so tried pure and omg it’s like juice. I don’t really like the gooey gels because of the sticky texture, so any other gel recs would be great 🙏🏼

Maurten is top tier if you ask me. It was first recommended to me on this very forum too.

Second tier is SIS and the Clif chews. Tho I don’t like Clif gels that much.

Every other gel I’ve tried I don’t like.

Dunno if you have the capacity to take/leave liquids on your running track, but my favourite endurance supplement is actually Tailwind.

Competitions Health and fitness