Heathcote DFL 2011

Its not hard to pop into the social rooms at the Zoo after a game, you've gotta walk past them on the way out of the joint.

I must say the Central Murray League is great for the sides getting together after the games for a drink and a chat. I reckon it makes the whole experience of country footy a little more enjoyable

Its not hard to pop into the social rooms at the Zoo after a game, you've gotta walk past them on the way out of the joint.

I must say the Central Murray League is great for the sides getting together after the games for a drink and a chat. I reckon it makes the whole experience of country footy a little more enjoyable

Spot on Roota :thumbsu:

Couldnt agree more Roota, and thats great to hear the CML clubs have a positive relationship with other clubs when it comes to socialising post match!

But that wasnt the point I was trying to make, Im sure its no better or worse in the HDFL....just some weeks will be better than others and surely there are bigger issues and discussions to be had with what goes on between the hours of 2 and 5 on a Saturday arvo.

For what its worth I know White Hills have made it a focus to improve on this area of the clubs image, and most clubs who have been to play at Scott St this year have been pretty good with hanging about afterwards.

But after some poor efforts in this department from years gone by we were well due to get better in this area. Problem is you could do it well for 10 weeks on the trott, and the minute you have a week where nobody turns up some clubs gunna get the sh!ts with it. Hardly "end of sportsmanship/tradition as we know it" stuff though?!

Anyway, back to footy :eek: How bigs the Leitchville v North game this week? A L/Gunny win and they go into the 5 (assuming the Hillies get rolled) while Colbo beating Mounts would see them level on points as well. Massive week of matches for those 4th and 5th spots.

Talking about huntly, what has been going on the last few weeks with some of the players. One of them, defs in top 3 players has been playing full forward , number 10, the last few weeks against top teams. When I watched earlier in the year he was dominating off the half back line for huntly, teaming very well with Fiske, so I don't understand why they just let him play very well off there, also number 23, p. Moore has Been playing in various positions being thrown around. They are a great chance for a win this week against mounts, just hope that there on their game and positions. Any thoughts big footy followers?

I reckon Mts will smash them by 10 goals+ and I mean that in a nice way too. Mts are better than what people give credit for. If its wet though it may be different

Laughing to myself bout the north bendigo bloke complaining of only 2 Elmore boys having a beer after the game. Colbo played at north satdy, and have to thank north for the slab after the game. But must admit, pretty disappointing by the north boys. Supporters yell abuse all day and there would have been a handful in the rooms after the game. After leaving at 6:15 there were 2 senior footballers from north. D lock and j gitcsham. Pretty disappointing especially when the north supporters whinge that no one hangs round for a beer!! Harden up!

Will the final at Leitchy be on a sunday or sat?? and does anyone know if the heathcote league would be interested in the cohuna kangas joining big meeting comin up at Cohuna

If the league were to admit Cohuna (which i doubt) they would seriously have to look at changing the name of the league as it would no longer be a Heathcote and District based league

Cohuna
LBU
Leitchville/Gunbower
Koondrook/Barham
Tongala
Echuca United
Kerang
Boort

Could/would be a reasonable league?

why wouldnt they look at kangas roota would clear the bye for both leeggues would central murray clear them

Div 2:D
North Heathcote
South Heathcote
Tooborac
Costerfield
Knowsley
Mt Pleasant
Colbo
Elmore

Be careful UMP, soon the more influential clubs to the north may push to get ya's out. Could always start up a comp around the demographic of the junior footy and cricket comps perhaps ;)

How far from Heathcote to Cohuna? Who has the biggest trip in HDFL at present?

Heathcote to LG would be the the biggestr trip but not that much further than the Bendigo based teams,Mounts,Colbo, Elmore and Locky are not that far away and it is a good excuse to go to Echuca after the game.

IMO Locky is nearly the best finals venue in our league and they should get a grand final as per Colbo getting home grand finals which I think they have a 100% winning record since i have been involved in the league(32 years).

Please do not try to tell me Locky/LG would lessen the GF crowd-poor excuse as Colbo grand finals have had huge crowds as have Mts and the extra travel is f all

Will you make it to September bound for Moordogga

Its a bugger of a drive from Bendigo to Cohuna for a start (The way back can be ok with a few pubs to stop in at). Then when you get there you have to run your arse off on the biggest footy ground in the country

why woodnt they Roota?? they have said they want another club and echuca utd have said no

As I said earlier travel would have to be a key factor. I wouldn't think that the current clubs would be that keen to have another long trip added to the season. And again as I said if they did add Cohuna to the league it has gone away from being a Heathcote and District League. Just my opinion on it

Heathcote to LG would be the the biggestr trip but not that much further than the Bendigo based teams,Mounts,Colbo, Elmore and Locky are not that far away and it is a good excuse to go to Echuca after the game.

IMO Locky is nearly the best finals venue in our league and they should get a grand final as per Colbo getting home grand finals which I think they have a 100% winning record since i have been involved in the league(32 years).

Please do not try to tell me Locky/LG would lessen the GF crowd-poor excuse as Colbo grand finals have had huge crowds as have Mts and the extra travel is f all

Will you make it to September bound for Moordogga

I would say you have it half right,facilities are great the ground is good on a dry day when it's wet it like a cow paddock,and with Colbo the facilities are below average the ground would be the best in the league dry or wet thats only my opinion