Heathcote District FL

I care, go Huntly, hope they can hang onto those young kids and take them into their junoir club team. It was only a few years ago that Jamie Hogan coached the Huntly juniors to a premiership, where are all those boys now?

I was talking to a fella from White Hills and he said they have 12 senior footballers who are products of the juniors at white hills, maybe thats what old huntly need to do, develope and hold junior players.

What do you think, how many senior players at your club have come through from the thirds team at your club?

I'm rapt to say that of the 61 players to have represented the BFNC at senior/reserves level this season, 52 of those have played under age football at Broadford. It was always the plan to introduce 3-4 (Billy, Dipper, Rowey, Tayls) to the list and play the locals, now if we can get 2-3 recruits into that for 2008 we should be in reasonable shape to be taken more serius.

Could be 53 but Sambo Taylor has returned home after time away, then played at West Footscray but is born and bred Snodgrass St. Broadford

Skip Bray married a Broadford girl and moved back to town after time away in Adelaide at a guess 7-8 years ago now. Liam Collier is a Broadford kid who spent a year or two with mates at Wallan U/18s, Aaron Ginn (married a local) and Steven Joyce played with me at Yea, as did Dipper. Tayls is a ring in - obvioulsy hails from Essendon/Airport West. Scottie Marshall, John Rowe and Danny Heppell are from neighbouring Kilmore (8 mins away) . . . . have I left anyone out fella's???

I'm rapt to say that of the 61 players to have represented the BFNC at senior/reserves level this season, 52 of those have played under age football at Broadford. It was always the plan to introduce 3-4 (Billy, Dipper, Rowey, Tayls) to the list and play the locals, now if we can get 2-3 recruits into that for 2008 we should be in reasonable shape to be taken more serius.

Could be 53 but Sambo Taylor has returned home after time away, then played at West Footscray but is born and bred Snodgrass St. Broadford

Skip Bray married a Broadford girl and moved back to town after time away in Adelaide at a guess 7-8 years ago now. Liam Collier is a Broadford kid who spent a year or two with mates at Wallan U/18s, Aaron Ginn (married a local) and Steven Joyce played with me at Yea, as did Dipper. Tayls is a ring in - obvioulsy hails from Essendon/Airport West. Scottie Marshall, John Rowe and Danny Heppell are from neighbouring Kilmore (8 mins away) . . . . have I left anyone out fella's???

What about your right hand man Trottyboya??????:D

Pretty sure the chook was a handy forward in his younger days, may have even won a comp goalkicking in the old Waranga North East - played a few senior games before the grog and the punt got him.

Was a pretty handy team manager/orange cutter/chewie distributor during the 80's from memory - coz he could enjoy a can whilst performing those duties!!! :D

Pretty sure the chook was a handy forward in his younger days, may have even won a comp goalkicking in the old Waranga North East - played a few senior games before the grog and the punt got him.

Was a pretty handy team manager/orange cutter/chewie distributor during the 80's from memory - coz he could enjoy a can whilst performing those duties!!! :D

With all jokes aside clubs need more people like Trotty around clubs:thumbsu:

As for the comment in bold, youve just further gone down in my estimations, not that they were all that high anyway.

We might have had our dramas at Scott Street and just missed out on the 5, but dont forget you guys fell in, not to mention nobody remembers who finished 4th, let alone 6th.
With the personel and start to the year they had Heathcote severly underachieved in my opinion, so dont try deflect the attention elsewhere.

As for Colbo's injuries, they will make a difference, but I reckon they have the depth to cover them. Mounts would need to play out of there skin for 4 quarters, but theyve been written off before....
Initially BM I thought that your comment about Heathcote underachieving was reasonable, but that must have been because I was a little hungover yesterday. Personally I don't like using injuries/unavailability as an excuse but I think I have to make a stand in this case and go into bat for the Saints. The first two rounds of the year we had everyone on the ball park and we won games against good sides and then for one reason or another during the year we lost these players for a period of at least more than three or four weeks; Waters, L. Carroll (season), Featherstone, Saladino, Jess. Now these are five fairly big types and I would say paramount to Heathcote's success and individually, it was no secret that when the Saints weren't going that good, Lech was playing with the Pioneers. Throw in the likes of Tony Ring, jacques and even against Mounts on the week end Travaglia and Taylor missing, your depth get's tested. Unfortunately, ours wasn't quite deep enough this year for them to keep going. But, beware as the recruiting has already begun and looks like all the boys are sticking around!:thumbsu:

Yeah thats fair enough RWB, and in hindsight it was probably abit harsh on your lads. My comment was more directed at gob offs like your old mate punters who are happy to slag other clubs which he has little or no knowledge about.

And if Heathcote can hold on to the majority of there side for 2008 and perhaps add 2 or 3 into the mix, Ive no doubt they will be contenders, as will all those sides who finished abit off the pace.

You musta drew the short straw this morning Blackbeard - $hit of a day to be doing the yard duty at morning smoko!!!

Just seen that Robert (the) Beare won the league medal playing for Trentham seconds. Great achievement for a 47 year old and they are also playing in the Grand Final on Saturday week. Bob has never won a Grand Final and I know the nerves have already kicked in!!

Now there's a blast from the past, I thought he went back to Kyneton to wind down his career. Fantastic effort by a bloke who has been a pretty handy footballer over the year - how long has he been at Trentham?

Bobby Beare was involved in Kyenton's seconds in 2005 and took them to a first semi-final with a pretty good crop of youngsters. Last year I think he went to Woodend briefly before going to Trentham. A great bloke and was a terrific footballer!

Well if bobby gets the flag it will be stouts alround!!
There is no doubt the bloke can play he took out the league medal in the BFL 2's in the late 90's, congrats to him, but what does say about the standard of the comp in the MCDFL??:thumbsdown:

In regards to Huntly's coach next season i believe they've had preliminary talks with Dan O'Bree and ex Geelong footballer Shane Hamilton is very keen.

Good on them I say, gotta get an announcement shortly to give themselves every chance in the recruiting frenzy pre-Xmas

Great effort from Bob.You will have to brace yourself if they wins the GF RWB.Can you answer this what's going to happen if boc plays with a broken hand and also wins the GF. if it was me RWB i would be taking a weeks leave:D:D

Ablett, I inferred O'Bree was being approached about fifty pages back!!!! Won't be doing it though. Hamilton has been interested in a few jobs over the years around this way....we'll wait and see.

Great effort from Bob.You will have to brace yourself if they wins the GF RWB.Can you answer this what's going to happen if boc plays with a broken hand and also wins the GF. if it was me RWB i would be taking a weeks leave:D:D
I doubt very much that Robert or Boo Boo will be at work that week. The former has already taken a fortnight off!!

The Saints are coming!
- insipid Roos eliminated

by Matt Nicholls

HEATHCOTE looms as a ‘smoky’ for a grand final berth after smashing an insipid Broadford line-up on Sunday.
Hordes of fans packed Mount Pleasant’s Toolleen ground to see the biggest non-event in the Heathcote District Football League finals for quite some time.
In a 50-50 match where Broadford was rated a terrific chance of advancing past the elimination final, the Roos simply didn’t come to play.
It was a game where the midfield would decide the victor, and the Saints were simply brilliant in the centre.
With an abundance of talls, Heathcote was able to play young gun Lech Featherstone in the ruck for most of the day, freeing up full-forward Matt Waters and centre-half-forward Tom Tobin.
Playing coach and big man Alistair Meldrum was restricted to the bench in the second half with a shoulder injury, but because Featherstone, Waters and Tobin were so dominant, he was able to enjoy a back-seat ride.
When the Broadford on-ballers did manage to sneak forward, the Saints’ half-back line repelled many of the Roos attacks.
Daniel Carroll was quiet early, but found much more of the ball as the game continued, combining with Jon Jess in defence to rebound the ball back into their attacking zone.
John Rowe battled hard in the centre for Broadford, along with Chris Dunne and Adrian Wilson, but the Roos were hammered in the ruck and beaten at the stoppages as a consequence.
When Tobin marked and goaled from 35 metres out within the first minute of the match, you knew that the Roos were going to be hard-pressed to restrict Heathcote’s goalkickers.
Nick Redenbach floated forward to sneak the next one to keep Broadford in touch, but soon had to leave the field with a hip injury.
When Waters marked and goaled, it wasn’t long until the Saints held a 30-point lead, with only the quarter-time siren slowing them down.
The second term was much better for the Roos, apart for wasted opportunities.
Broadford kicked the first two goals and Aaron Bray had a chance to put them within 11 points from a reasonably easy set shot and sprayed it.
Moments later youngster Andrew Saladino floated forward to snag a goal and halt the Roos’ momentum.
A mark and goal from a 50-metre penalty bonus to Daniel Fletcher saw the Roos get back within 16 points, and when John Taylor kicked accurately to put them within 10, the crowd thought there was a contest.
But some brilliance by Matt Waters saw him kick three of the Saints’ next five goals and blow the margin back out to 35 points at half time.
No one was game to dismiss Broadford’s chances of a comeback, but you sensed that Heathcote players were so full of confidence that they just wouldn’t let the Roos get within cooee of their score.
Once again it was Waters who did the damage.
While he didn’t kick the first goal of the second half, he contributed with a smart knock over his right shoulder into the arms of teammate Dan O’Bree who put Saints up by 41 points.
Moments later, when 150-gamer Mick Ring goaled to blow the lead out further, you could see the die-hard Broadford fans drop their heads – the game was over with virtually a half to play.
Heathcote went on to kick a further seven unanswered goals in the term to lead by 89 points at the final break, before slowing down to rest key players for the first semi-final against Mount Pleasant on Sunday.
As a result, Broadford kicked 6.4 to 2.5 in the last quarter to bring the margin back to a reasonably respectable 66 points, but the damage was already done.
WATCH OUT
Assuming Heathcote stays injury free this week and keep the same or similar side on the park, there is no way they can lose to Mount Pleasant on Sunday.
The Saints are full of confidence and have a close-knit playing group which is bound to be a huge advantage against their more experienced rivals.
As for Broadford, they still have four netball sides in the finals, as well as their reserves and Under 17s. Both will have benefited from their bye on the weekend and should be raring to go.
The seniors will get together before Christmas for another strong pre-season, and should be much improved in 2008.
SENIORS
Heathcote 7.2, 13.3, 22.6, 24.11 (155) d
Broadford 2.2, 7.4, 7.7, 13.11 (89).
Goals (H): M. Waters 10; T. Tobin 3; D. O’Bree, M. Ring 2; A. Saladino, W. Sanders, B. Sheppard, R. Taylor, J. Dellar, L. Featherstone, J. Hancock.
Best: Tobin, Waters, Featherstone, Saladino, J. Jess, D. Carroll.
Goals (B): J. Taylor 5; R. Rowbotham, J. Rowe 2; C. Dunne, M. Edwards, D. Fletcher, N. Redenbach.
Best: Rowe, A. Wilson, M. Gillard, L. Collier, M. Williams, G. Wearne.

Matt, i tghink you may owe the mountain men an apology! Nah, actually why dont you just stick to what you know best, whatever that may be

Yeah thats fair enough RWB, and in hindsight it was probably abit harsh on your lads. My comment was more directed at gob offs like your old mate punters who are happy to slag other clubs which he has little or no knowledge about.

And if Heathcote can hold on to the majority of there side for 2008 and perhaps add 2 or 3 into the mix, Ive no doubt they will be contenders, as will all those sides who finished abit off the pace.

Who is Brentmeistergeneral?

I know that I seen some things from the White Hills camp last time the two teams met (Hills v Cote) and it did not impress alot of respected clubmen or myself. The 3's footy game ended with Heathcote apparently winning the game by 1 point, Heathcote boys walk to shake there opponents hands only to be rejected by upset White Hills boys. I can understand the boys being shattered over there loss but to not shake a hand of the opposition after just encountering 2 hours of battle is disgusting. If my kids where to do this they would not play again. Now these antics flow from senior pesonnel around a club. Kids dont learn this themselves. They along with every other kid that has grown up with a footy family should know that what happens on the field stays on the field. You only had to read the article from the Bendigo Advertiser the other day that was posted on here from Doona that the battles Heathcote had with mounts back in the 90's were always fierce on the field but after the final siren they shared a friendship. Now you wouldnt ask that of a bunch of kids from two different teams these days but maybe just a little achknowledgment of a good game with the small gesture of a hand shake. These are the small things BrentmiesterGeneral doona of Broadford has worked so hard on for over a year since his appointment that have made his club and enjoyable club to play,socialise and attend. Now yes, there are some quality people in the ranks of White Hills and they do have there attributes but more work needs doing.

Big form turnaround by the Mountain Men today saw them stop what had been a red hot Heathcote dead in their tracks with a 13 goal to 3 second half. Wasn't there so can't comment on the match but wanna congraulate Alistair on a terrific first up season as Saints coach :thumbsu: Again I urge the Saints committee to lock him in for 2008 a.s.a.p. if it aint done already before the phone starts ringing. . . . . . oh yeah and how did the Boz go?

The canteen were wrapt with his performance. Four pies, two hot dogs and a gallon of coke before the game. Put RWB to shame!!:thumbsu:

Big form turnaround by the Mountain Men today saw them stop what had been a red hot Heathcote dead in their tracks with a 13 goal to 3 second half. Wasn't there so can't comment on the match but wanna congraulate Alistair on a terrific first up season as Saints coach :thumbsu: Again I urge the Saints committee to lock him in for 2008 a.s.a.p. if it aint done already before the phone starts ringing. . . . . . oh yeah and how did the Boz go?

The canteen were wrapt with his performance. Four pies, two hot dogs and a gallon of coke before the game. Put RWB to shame!!:thumbsu:

Did he replace the fluids and food after the game?????:D