Heathcote District FL

Doona, it's bad enough going up there when there is no wind at home to get a force 9 gale when you drive in through the gates at Colbo. It doesn't showcase the game and let's be honest, the facilities aren't the gratest there either. If you don't get a spot on the fence you're out in the weather because there is sweet f.a. cover. The best finals I have been to for a long time were Broady and Colbo at Toolleen and LBU v Colbo at Elmore. Even the last two we played in I don't think the atmosphere was as good as that first one I mentioned at Mounts. Keep away from Colbo.:thumbsdown:

I agree RWB, You might not agree with this if the new Strath ground got their new facilities by next football season do you think the league would be interestered in holding the GF their,it's a central location for most clubs and with all the talk about other leagues holding their GF at a neutral grounds i really think the Strath ground would be perfect if it was fully completered IF they went with Strath for GF the League must get out and promote it, it could be a start of somethink big if done correct:thumbsu:

Could be great Ump, agree. Good to see you wrote something constructive for a change.:thumbsu:

What about when Strath FC join the HDFL in 2009? It won't be neutral then.

Eaglehawk's ground would be ideal. Not a heap of parking inside the ground, but plenty of undercover seating/standing room, and the playing surface is the best in the district. Isn't central to the HDFL area though does that really matter?

The league Hepburn play in, can't remember the name of it, play their GF's at North Ballarat's ground and get a massive crowd.

It is a GF, people will turn up wherever it is.

What about when Strath FC join the HDFL in 2009? It won't be neutral then.

Eaglehawk's ground would be ideal. Not a heap of parking inside the ground, but plenty of undercover seating/standing room, and the playing surface is the best in the district. Isn't central to the HDFL area though does that really matter?

The league Hepburn play in, can't remember the name of it, play their GF's at North Ballarat's ground and get a massive crowd.

It is a GF, people will turn up wherever it is.

You might be correct,Correct me if Iam wrong is their going to be 2 grounds at Strath,I think if the league got in quick it could be the HDFL headquaters we really need some were to call home if the league is to continue to improve:thumbsu:

I know it was last week but ive been away this week so let me say well done to the bloods seniors on getting through to a second consecutive grand final. The game on saturday while not overly skillfull was the most exciting game of country footy i have ever seen. Sam Hill said the same thing to me on sunday. I thought we had it wrapped up at 3 qtr time then all of a sudden a damien lock inspired colbo hit us hard and took what i thought was an unbeatable lead with only minutes to go but somehow our boys got over the line. Dirt carter and Rick smith and Ian kaye where all awesome in the last qtr, dirt kicked 2 great goals. We have been accused of going to water when the pressure is on in the past so that was great to see. I hppe we meet colbo again in the final because is this game is any indication it will be a corker.

Bad luck to the twos who were outplayed by colbo on sunday. Colbo where without a couple of prime movers and so where we so no excuses they were the better side and we were not near our best but still it was a step forward from last year so well done boys.

Bad luck to Macca who will miss playing in the grannie after being one of our better players all season. Tribunal should be sacked as they have clearly hung him on reputation and the facts meant nothing to them. the two umpires gave conflicting accounts of the incident, the reporting umpire didnt even show up and the accounts of the two people involved was very different as well.

Apart from that good luck to everyone this weekend looking forward to GF day which by the way should be played at the same neutral venue every year. MCDFL play theirs at Princess park every year and it works out fine with all clubs on a rototating roster so everyone gets a chance to share in the spoils.

You might be correct,Correct me if Iam wrong is their going to be 2 grounds at Strath,I think if the league got in quick it could be the HDFL headquaters we really need some were to call home if the league is to continue to improve:thumbsu:

Gents, all great idea's but i've been tied up with the HDFL for well over a decade and the exec commitee, smart fella's that they are, WILL NOT EVER allow the GF to be held in Bendigo, QEO, Eaglehawk, Strath, anywhere, even if it means losing that extra 10-20k in takings and dont forget Huntly, Nth & White Hills havent always had (supposedly) poor surfaces, they havent got a hope in hell either. The league is paranoid about losing their "country league" identity and as we know the blokes running the show are more concerned about their own clubs than the bigger picture.

dont mounts tap into the big junior resource at strath 2 get their underage players
i wood say mounts wood be xtra keen to use strath as their No. 2 oval
remember northern united in the bfl in the 80s .... they used raywood and kamarooka as alternate grounds for home fixtures

As the old saying goes - opinions are like a$$ holes . . . . we all got one. Here we go lads, Im not a fan of the granny being at Mounts - whilst the netball set up has improved immensely, parking hasn't been an issue yet thru the finals although I reckon come GF day a paddock out the back will come into play - my angst is solely due to the state of the away sheds which for me is poor at best, was like a bloody sauna on Saturday under that tin.

Good call Doona,
Perhaps the teams that had issues with the visitors facilities (everyone from what I can gather) should unite and bring this up with the league as a collective health and safety issue and boycot the ground as a playing venue. Maybe then the Mt Pleasant FC will stop scoffing at their opposition and spend a few bucks on respect.

Fantom:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Oh Yeah, Heard Kreuzer was a Gun:D:D

Gents, all great idea's but i've been tied up with the HDFL for well over a decade and the exec commitee, smart fella's that they are, WILL NOT EVER allow the GF to be held in Bendigo, QEO, Eaglehawk, Strath, anywhere, even if it means losing that extra 10-20k in takings and dont forget Huntly, Nth & White Hills havent always had (supposedly) poor surfaces, they havent got a hope in hell either. The league is paranoid about losing their "country league" identity and as we know the blokes running the show are more concerned about their own clubs than the bigger picture.

Well iam sorry to say if they do not look at the bigger picture the HDFL will go backwards instead of moving with the times.On what you have said it's about time they take notice of the clubs and have a go at playing the GF at grounds like QEO the new Strath ground just 2 of many that could be played on.With all the talk that has been going on BigFooty and i would dare to say at all clubs,Iwould say if the clubs are so concerned with this issue, they must highlight it at the next League meeting :thumbsu:

Bit of banter at the clubrooms tonight that Grand Final day may see us return to LBU for a second week, anyone else heard this? This whole exercise is becomming laughable . . . . If Mounts lose, play it there, if Colbo loses play it there and then lets get our heads together and plan for '08 and beyond.

Well iam sorry to say if they do not look at the bigger picture the HDFL will go backwards instead of moving with the times.On what you have said it's about time they take notice of the clubs and have a go at playing the GF at grounds like QEO the new Strath ground just 2 of many that could be played on.With all the talk that has been going on BigFooty and i would dare to say at all clubs,Iwould say if the clubs are so concerned with this issue, they must highlight it at the next League meeting :thumbsu:

Could having it in Heathcote every year be an option, it is after all the HEATHCOTE District FL. not sure on there facilitys but if they were to be told they were gettin the Granny every year they could upgrade teh facilities over teh years and showcase teh league while staying in the country.

Bit of banter at the clubrooms tonight that Grand Final day may see us return to LBU for a second week, anyone else heard this? This whole exercise is becomming laughable . . . . If Mounts lose, play it there, if Colbo loses play it there and then lets get our heads together and plan for '08 and beyond.

Doona you can not be fairdinkim about what you have quoted,I've been trying my hardest to say what you said in the last part of your quote
The league needs R##TING IF they play the GF at LBU:thumbsu:

Could having it in Heathcote every year be an option, it is after all the HEATHCOTE District FL. not sure on there facilitys but if they were to be told they were gettin the Granny every year they could upgrade teh facilities over teh years and showcase teh league while staying in the country.

Heathcote's ground is far too small to showcase the Grand Final. One decent kick from the half back line and you are inside 50. Parking inside the ground isn't good enough either.

Big Ump, if they do have 2 grounds at Strath, using one for the GF would be a good idea. The new Epsom facility will have a couple of footy ovals too I think, but not totally sure on that one.

As for the other HDFL grounds, I would think that Heathcote, Nth Bendigo and Broadford's grounds are too small to use for a GF, and White Hills away rooms are the size of a jail cell, whilst the ground is always too hard.

The other 5 grounds would all be okay I reckon.

Heathcote's ground is far too small to showcase the Grand Final. One decent kick from the half back line and you are inside 50. Parking inside the ground isn't good enough either.

Big Ump, if they do have 2 grounds at Strath, using one for the GF would be a good idea. The new Epsom facility will have a couple of footy ovals too I think, but not totally sure on that one.

As for the other HDFL grounds, I would think that Heathcote, Nth Bendigo and Broadford's grounds are too small to use for a GF, and White Hills away rooms are the size of a jail cell, whilst the ground is always too hard.

Who says that a GF has to be played on a big ground? Yes a big ground has its pro's and con's for a GF but so does a small ground. Maybe a small ground would be a better spectical for a GF. For instance, Closer to the action, More goals scored, alot more contests. etc.

There is no rule that states a GF has to be played on a big ground. So long as the facilities for spectators are up to scratch I cant see a problem.

If I was a player in a GF team I could not give too hoots about where I was playing or what sheds I was changing in, so long as one team does not have an avantage I would be happy.

Who says that a GF has to be played on a big ground? Yes a big ground has its pro's and con's for a GF but so does a small ground. Maybe a small ground would be a better spectical for a GF. For instance, Closer to the action, More goals scored, alot more contests. etc.

There is no rule that states a GF has to be played on a big ground. So long as the facilities for spectators are up to scratch I cant see a problem.

If I was a player in a GF team I could not give too hoots about where I was playing or what sheds I was changing in, so long as one team does not have an avantage I would be happy.

Exactly, same for both sides. Theres some pretty valid points being made on this topic, lets hope some of them find there way to the ears of the League executive. But Im not holding my breath for any progress, which is a shame, because I think at the pace this league is growing, with the big players it is attracting, and crowds it is generating, we should strike while the iron is hot and try something different, or abit left field, like hosting a GF in Bendigo (either QEO or Canterbury)

I reckon just the sheer initial novelty factor of it would double a GF crowd, and give the league some fantastic exposure. But looking at the current board, Id reckon change is a word not many of them are familiar with. Expect GF's to be rotated netween Elmore, Mounts and Colbo for years to come....in what is a very lopsided competition financially, money talks Im afraid.

Exactly, same for both sides. Theres some pretty valid points being made on this topic, lets hope some of them find there way to the ears of the League executive. But Im not holding my breath for any progress, which is a shame, because I think at the pace this league is growing, with the big players it is attracting, and crowds it is generating, we should strike while the iron is hot and try something different, or abit left field, like hosting a GF in Bendigo (either QEO or Canterbury)

I reckon just the sheer initial novelty factor of it would double a GF crowd, and give the league some fantastic exposure. But looking at the current board, Id reckon change is a word not many of them are familiar with. Expect GF's to be rotated netween Elmore, Mounts and Colbo for years to come....in what is a very lopsided competition financially, money talks Im afraid.

I agree it would be alot better at Eaglehawk or the QEO and but what the league really needs is some younger members on the league executive who are more in touch with the players and the football community to show some intiative and try some things. The league is travelling alright but there is alot of improvement to come hopefully. Also Brent there is no point whinging about Elmore, Mounts and Colbo have a look at what there doing well and think what you can implement to improve your own organisation.

The last thing the supporters would want to see is a scrappy affair I think. Colbo would be the biggest ground in the league and an open, exciting end to end game would be what the punters would really rather see.

If the Granny has to stay in the HDFL the game should be played at a fixed venue (which I believe should be either either Elmore or Colbo.) Who gives a toss if it's a sides home ground or not. Players are travelling 30-50 minutes up the road. It's not a 3 hour plane trip to Perth for crying out loud.

Ideally though I'd like to see the game at the QEO. Atmosphere would be fantastic and with the ground the size it is would provide an awesome spectacle for the fans. I can't see this happening though.

On to tomorrow's game. Colbo will easily account for Mounts. Mounts haven't given a yelp the last 2 times these teams have played and I don't think there will be anything different this time. I'd like to see a bit of fire in the belly of the Mounts boys but I sadly think they'll go down gently to the tune of 50 odd points.

Elmore vs. Colbo in the big one :thumbsu:

Huntly would have to be pretty keen to re sign 18 y/o ruckman chris long, one of their better talents would have to be right up there in the b&f, has held his own against some of the better rucks in the league, word is he might be on the move next year...

I agree it would be alot better at Eaglehawk or the QEO and but what the league really needs is some younger members on the league executive who are more in touch with the players and the football community to show some intiative and try some things. The league is travelling alright but there is alot of improvement to come hopefully. Also Brent there is no point whinging about Elmore, Mounts and Colbo have a look at what there doing well and think what you can implement to improve your own organisation.

OTM, that wasnt intended as a "whinge" mate, just simply stating the facts. Ive no doubt they do a great job behind the scenes, but that wasnt my point. Either the GF is shared on an equal rotation between ALL clubs, or we look to find one neutral ground that we can showpiece the biggest game of the year, in front of the greatest number of people possible.

I dare say there would be a number of people in the central Bendigo region who would be interested in attending the HDFL Gf, yet are possibly put off by having to drive out to Mounts/Colbo/Elmore.

And while I know some will scoff at the fact these venues arnt whats considered a long way out of town, its the whole point of wanting to spend a day at the footy, and have a few lagers, without the worry of losing the ticket on the way home for example.

Anyway, wont happen this year, probably wont happen at all. Another one of those ideas that looks and sounds great, but doesnt get followed through.

Nothing half intelligent dim sim boy.... Got to agree with Doona. If we could get hold of the QEO or similar and lock it in, it would be a great thing for the league. It is a joke that Elmore and Mounts get two finals when the surfaces on thier grounds are no better than any others, and the mounts away change rooms are among the worst that I have ever seen.

Your a tosser Hill Bully! What about the crap change rooms and the cow paddock at Scott St???? Ask yourself why you did not get a final at your club? Lack of quality committee members to organise it or shit ground and facilities?? I'd say both!

OTM, that wasnt intended as a "whinge" mate, just simply stating the facts. Ive no doubt they do a great job behind the scenes, but that wasnt my point. Either the GF is shared on an equal rotation between ALL clubs, or we look to find one neutral ground that we can showpiece the biggest game of the year, in front of the greatest number of people possible.

I dare say there would be a number of people in the central Bendigo region who would be interested in attending the HDFL Gf, yet are possibly put off by having to drive out to Mounts/Colbo/Elmore.

And while I know some will scoff at the fact these venues arnt whats considered a long way out of town, its the whole point of wanting to spend a day at the footy, and have a few lagers, without the worry of losing the ticket on the way home for example.

Anyway, wont happen this year, probably wont happen at all. Another one of those ideas that looks and sounds great, but doesnt get followed through.

Ever heard of organising a ride d/.head? Oh sorry i just noticed what club your from. I did not mean to sledge a nuffy.

Mate, you have to be kidding on the size of the ground. It's 160m long near enough to and 120m wide at the farthest points and a much bigger ground than Toolleen. You must be a decent kick! The parking issue is shite because at Colbo and Toolleen, you have to park in a paddock once the fence is full. At Heathcote, we have bitumen all the way around the ground which means no chance of getting bogged on a wet day and there is no need for parking attendants once inside the ground is full because there are white lines to show you where to put the car. Oh yes, and we have a great big verandah to keep you out of the elements and indoor netball courts to keep the girls dry. Don't kid yourselves to say that we couldn't host a Grand Final for all of the reasons that are usually stated. You couldn't have the final at Huntly because too many would get in for nothing, everybody reckons Mounts' changerooms aren't up to scratch, it blows a gale at Colbo and LBU too far away and too many flies:D

As Ive stated earlier and I said the same at our rooms last night, I reckon I'd travel bloody anywhere to compete in a granny. It's pretty consistent we all agree this years finals fixturing has been a shambles, there's no point bickering just go with it and like you all seem to agree on push for a better scenario for next year an beyond.

Sam Cheatley Sunday, who's it gunna be? Can't remember my previous tips but I forward the following to Troy for the Yabba.

1. Lock
2. Grant
3. Featherstone
4. Wilson
5. Douglas

Carter to win it because of his redboots. Or Lock because of his skinhead. You need to standout to collect votes off country umpires; ie Fev last year (dark skin), gav bowles (red head), ake fonua (dark skin). All well and truely deserved their medal but all also stand out on the field.

Its also a bit of a poisoned chalis of late with 4 of the last 5 winners playing in losing grand final sides - Slater the exception.

Carter to win it because of his redboots. Or Lock because of his skinhead. You need to standout to collect votes off country umpires; ie Fev last year (dark skin), gav bowles (red head), ake fonua (dark skin). All well and truely deserved their medal but all also stand out on the field.

Its also a bit of a poisoned chalis of late with 4 of the last 5 winners playing in losing grand final sides - Slater the exception.

About time someone started talking about this weeks football events. All you out there sooking about the grounds get over it. It is done and dusted stop your whinging and talk about what we really want to hear, this weeks footy.
For me I think Colbo will be to strong in the 1's to much run for the mounts boys.
For the cheatley, I would have to say Lock. had a fantastic season but a real smokey from colbo could be Millar. Had a fantastic year and gets plenty of it. Others to consider maybe McCleary from mounts and Kay from elmore?? Who knows really!
Good Luck to all!