Heraldsun 8/8 - Essendon to contest suspensions, charges expected in a few days

And on the counter contrary (and possibly getting a little off topic), you could equally argue the AFL 'sullies' it's own integrity with the continued uneven fixtures they put out, year after year, and the focus on money generation above all else.

It's easy to bandy a word like 'integrity' about the place, but be aware it has many applications. And if you consider them all, the AFL sure as hell isn't that obsessed with upholding all aspects of it.

Yes, but the AFL defines what its integrity is, and who has sullied it.

It's the way Vlad likes it.

As a clear beneficiary of the league's imbalanced fixturing, it might not be too wise to challenge them on integrity. Careful what you wish for.

Salary Cap is not illegal and it is not a salary cap issue.

Draft is not illegal either and again has nothing to do with the penalty.

If Essendon want to try and stuff the competition up for everyone I am sure the AFL will get enough support to send the Bombers on a long walk off a short pier.

A club only needs to claim that they wish to pay their employees an amount OVEr the salary cap and take that into court and they win the case. The Draft is clearly a restraint of draft

I agree that the bombers don't have many cards to deal legally

It would be far better for them to have the AFL batting for them and not against - everyone else is. Including the general public

Yes, but the AFL defines what its integrity is, and who has sullied it.

It's the way Vlad likes it.

As a clear beneficiary of the league's imbalanced fixturing, it might not be too wise to challenge them on integrity. Careful what you wish for.
The fact Essendon (with quite a number of other clubs) has been a beneficiary of that imbalance has never affected my dislike of it.

Anyway, not really the thread for it, just wanted to point that out.

A club only needs to claim that they wish to pay their employees an amount OVEr the salary cap and take that into court and they win the case. The Draft is clearly a restraint of draft

I agree that the bombers don't have many cards to deal legally

It would be far better for them to have the AFL batting for them and not against - everyone else is. Including the general public

AFL QC says it will stand up in court, i will take his opinion over a BF poster. :p

and why would the AFL need a QC to comment on that front?

You would think it was a clear cut regime that any organisation and corporation could impose on its employees.

have you noticed that there is NO salary cap for the AFL staff? Especially for the CEO.

funny that isn't it

Perhaps you could seek counsel from a QC that isn't on the AFL payroll?

Haw dare the club defend itself from bogus charges?!? How dare Hirdler defend his impeccable integrity and great name?!?

Even Vlad's lapdog has stated in her latest article that Jim and the boys didn't set out to cheat and they're only guilty of a bit of bad management. Should we cop the vitriol we've endured for 6 months for a bit of bad management? Goodness me, no!

So the wash up of a 6 month investigation that is devoid of any evidence of PED use, is that we at EFC are expected to cop sanctions on the chin? We should accept this fate because the lemmings of BF are foolish enough to swallow whatever they're fed by the mainstream media, and in this instance they have been instructed to think that exoneration of EFC would be an unthinkable outcome, right?

We're going to fight for our players, fight for our coach, fight for our points and I reckon we'll even fight to reduce the fine if it seems a bit steep. And so we should, if bad management were a crime fitting of the mud we've had slung in our directon in the past 6 months, Vlad's repulsive, jiggling scone would be 60ft deep. It's time someone held that fat pig and his dictatorial regime to account for their bumbling incompetence and this is the line in the sand.

Haw dare the club defend itself from bogus charges?!? ...
So the wash up of a 6 month investigation that is devoid of any evidence of PED use.

I'm 99% sure you're trolling, but just in case:

Witness testimony and documentary evidence, included that provided by fitness adviser and convicted drug offender Shane Charter, regarding his provision of Thymosin Beta 4 to Dank and advice on how to administer it.
Player consent forms reflecting Charter's advice to Dank regarding dosages of Thymosin Beta 4.
Documents and communications, including invoices, text messages and emails, referring to the use of a Thymosin peptide at Essendon.
Player consent forms, public assertions by Dank, text messages and an admission by Essendon skipper Jobe Watson strongly suggest that AOD9604 was given to players.

Haw dare the club defend itself from bogus charges?!? How dare Hirdler defend his impeccable integrity and great name?!?

Even Vlad's lapdog has stated in her latest article that Jim and the boys didn't set out to cheat and they're only guilty of a bit of bad management. Should we cop the vitriol we've endured for 6 months for a bit of bad management? Goodness me, no!

So the wash up of a 6 month investigation that is devoid of any evidence of PED use, is that we at EFC are expected to cop sanctions on the chin? We should accept this fate because the lemmings of BF are foolish enough to swallow whatever they're fed by the mainstream media, and in this instance they have been instructed to think that exoneration of EFC would be an unthinkable outcome, right?

We're going to fight for our players, fight for our coach, fight for our points and I reckon we'll even fight to reduce the fine if it seems a bit steep. And so we should, if bad management were a crime fitting of the mud we've had slung in our directon in the past 6 months, Vlad's repulsive, jiggling scone would be 60ft deep. It's time someone held that fat pig and his dictatorial regime to account for their bumbling incompetence and this is the line in the sand.
Lol!

C'mon guys it was just "a bit of bad management", its not like the club in question was systematically injecting an entire list with banned substances! Don't be silly!

That and the similar approach being taken by the club.

Agree.

When this story first broke, I was fairly ambivalent about it- if it was the case that Essendon had been sold down the river by a few unscrupulous operators, its hard to have anything against them- just they'd cop their fair whack and everyone move on.

But Essendon's behaviour over the past few months is gobsmacking. From CEO down, they genuinely don't believe they did anything wrong, and they have done their utmost to lie, cheat and obsfucate their way out of this crisis. They are acting like an organisation whose moral compass is incredibly messed up, and every day they continue down this path it gets easier and easier to believe they would have quite happily jeopardised their player's safety in a concerted effort to cheat.

I don't think I have ever been more disgusted about anything to do with the AFL ever.

Really? A newspaper article? Oh dear, seems like a watertight case then. So if we've used a banned substance at any time during the program the players implicated will be suspended, right? You can get back to me and share your thoughts on developments when all of our players are cleared. Bring your newspaper clippings, we can make a collage in honour of the scandal.[/

And where exactly are you basing your opinions on?? Unless, you've read the ASADA report, your opinions are based on (dare I say it), newspaper articles!!!!

Theoretically, if Essendon get their points stripped after round 23, does whoever finishes 9th move up into the 8, or is the 8 made into a 7 and some modified finals played out?

Obviously the latter option would be desirable but if it does occur then it would be really interesting if there were say 2 or 3 teams vying for that position, effectively getting a second chance to make the 8.

At the moment you have Carlton on 36 pts in 9th, followed by North Melbourne, West Coast and Brisbane in 10th-12th respectively, on 32 points. West Coast will probably beat the Scum bombers this week and North are in a position to give Adelaide a real go. Brisbane will probably get beaten by the Tiges and Carlton may have an upset loss against the Dogs who are finding some form.

Next round (21) Roos should beat the Scum, who are done, Brisbane should beat the Giants and West Coast would be an outside chance to beat the Cat's at home. Meanwhile the Blues would definitely start as underdogs against the Tigers.

I don't know, footy's footy and anybody is a chance at the end of the day but if someone is going to get put into the 8 come finals time, if the bombers are relegated to OBLIVION, then it'd seem there's 4 teams who will be going for that spot up until Rd 22/23

Should be good!

What I love about this debate is the fact that now ASADA has no credibility and its findings after 6 months of thorough investigation, 130 interviews and reviewing 13000 documents are dismissible.

The masses want blood and there is no way in hell a club, which has apparently not broken any law, is getting away scott free.

Seriously, if bad corporate governance was a hanging offence then god help perpetual basket case clubs like North, Bulldogs, Saints, Melbourne......These shambolic organisations have made a habit out of mismanaging for decades. How much cash is Melbourne begging for now? How many tin rattling exercises do the Bulldogs need.

Oh but that right, Essendon are dirty cheats. Just ask ASADA

It's supporters like you is the reason I'd like to see Essendon get totally reamed.

Yeap. Initially I felt some pity for the rank and file supporters, but it's fanboys like this and flogs like Tim Watson that I hope Essendon get absolutely smashed.

Memo to Essendon: You are not the victim in this.

Siege mentality at it's worst.

and why would the AFL need a QC to comment on that front?

You would think it was a clear cut regime that any organisation and corporation could impose on its employees.

have you noticed that there is NO salary cap for the AFL staff? Especially for the CEO.

funny that isn't it

Perhaps you could seek counsel from a QC that isn't on the AFL payroll?

Opinion is split on the matter depending on who you ask. Not for this thread though

You're living in fantasy land.

Way too much for the AFL to lose by getting rid of the 2x Collingwood, Carlton and Richmond games. That's a non-negotiable in the draw.

We've already had 2 Perth trips this year, 2 Sydney trips, 1 Adelaide trip - not many more possibilites while maintaining the above.

Way too much for the AFL to lose to shaft Essendon from ANZAC Day.

Constant 5 day breaks mean we will be playing about 6 extra games than everyone else by the end of the season, lol

The AFL could easily fit any of carlton v collingwood or geelong v hawthorn games into anzac day if they wanted. With the AFL on something of an equalisation bender at the moment, its far from non negotiable that these guaranteed return matches keep gettng played, they are an anachronism that ignores the more recent relevance of Geelong and Hawthorn.

If the Bombers take it to court I will lose any shred of sympathy I had for them.

The question of whether their negligence has brought this whole mess upon themselves is crystal clear.

Man up Essendon and don't hide behind lawyers. The AFL community is going to despise you even more if you draw it out through the courts and tarnish the game in such a way.

Fight for the players sure, but the Club has clearly made massive errors and must pay the price.

The AFL run the game, the fans own it, not Essendon.

Like most people I've gone from being fairly benevolent about it....naive coach strung along a little by a snake oil salesman ..cop a bit of a whack and move on... people make mistakes....now I want to see a scorched earth policy enforced against the Bombers

I feel like that after I come on here and read enough posts by arrogant Hird supporters (can't call them Essendon supporters). You know the cure? When I run into a mate who barracks for Essendon. Gee, I feel sorry for Essendon supporters.

Heraldsun 8/8 - Essendon to contest suspensions, charges expected in a few days