High paying: Part-time jobs for students

Also, I don't understand how anyone could work on a cash register. Time must stand still.

I actually enjoy it somewhat, it's been my part-time job for the 18 months or so i have been at uni. I guess it depends on the store you work at I guess because some stores can be non-stop serving people and that can annoy the hell of you if you're doing that for hours. But at my store, at Woolies, it isn't too bad, you get your busy periods for awhile but there are usually quiet times as well where you'd go and do other jobs etc. I do trolleys and other stuff so if it not in the mood to serve can usually go find something else to do if I'm not busy. But even then I don't mind chatting to other customers, most are generally pretty good plus the people I work with are nice too. It's not as boring as I though as it would be.

I work about 20 hours a week, the other thing when you know how long you've been working there you recognise half the customers that comeinto the store.

Anyone have a clue about somewhere a 16 year old can find full time work and make a decent crust out of it?

Youll be hard pressed to find anyone that will be willing to give a decent/adult wage to a 16 year old school leaver, when simply they dont have to.

Look up different award rates on the internet, see which ones are higher for under 17s and see if that would interest you, then go search for a job in that field.

You might be able to find some relatively decent data entry clerk type roles that might pay ok. Also, weekend work as a kitchen hand at a restaurant would pay ok as well.

Pub service, in a section that's open 24/7. Make 25 an hour on weekdays, 35 - 40 on weekends. 30 when I'm forced to do night shift. It's a good student job, but the night work can mess you up.

who needs a job when centrelink gives you youth allowance

Welcome to your life with Centerlink...

The experience of working far outweighs the handout you receive...

Am just 16
got quite lucky in finding the link, but am really enjoying my job! Selling footy/horseracing records. Works entirely on commision, some days selling records at the footy you'de get 110 bucks over 3 hours, yet some days, you can only get 11-12 dollars an hour. In my first year, sold records at the GF, hardest thing i've ever done, but really good experience ,great on a resume and of course the obligatory free tickets into the GF sitting wherever you want (besides MCC), minus the 2nd quater.

Pros: Rewarded for your work
Free tickets to the footy
Work in groups so the small sunday games are good, as instead of
splitting the money into 3, can be split in two or even all for
yourself
Choose your own games/ shifts, so don;t have to miss out on a sat
night or your own team

Cons: every now and then you don;t do well
: Have to put up with ********s, and your not very popular selling in the ground when people yell at you to sit down and STFU
: If your voice breaks, it can get abit embarrassing :p
: I'm extremely introverted, and the people their are usually very confident and extroverted which makes me abit uncomfortable, though i have no problems yelling to strangers

Hopefully this'll lead me to sell records at the australian open.

Hope this was a help

1. what super market are you at?
2. What's so bad about the job that all these people quit?
3. I can imagine the job being tedious, yet so easy. What's the pay rate and how old are you?
1. Coles

2. People quit due to a variety of reasons. Finishing at 11, sometimes later like 11:30 or 12 most nights can get a bit much. Personally I'm the biggest night owl ever, I mean look at the time I'm posting this, so working late nights doesn't bother me in the slightest. But people just starting out don't tend to enjoy it (maybe not what they expected, some people don't like any work!), and when you finish so late you consider working elsewhere. Also lots of people are young and don't have their licence so having to be picked up every night is a pain on everyone. I know when I first started I had thoughts about quitting but after being there for 2 years now I'm glad I didn't. Sure it's boring and repetitive but it's good money and some days aren't so bad.

3. I'm 21 and get $21 per hour, $30 on Sunday's. See what I mean? ;)

I've worked near 20 hours this week and am working tomorrow, so as you can see a nice amount of $.

Why not either finish school or finish your apprenticeship? You are completely unskilled, yet you expect decent pay. It's not going to happen.

where abouts are you picking fruit and how'd you get that job. sounds awesome over the summer period
dunno if you were talking to me mate, but i'm going to a farm somewhere down in the channel south of hobart somewhere.

not exactly a hard job to get as it requires no skills and basically just have to be in good enough health to work in the sun for 8 hours.

i applied to a couple of places, one my mate told me about the other was in the paper. berry/cherry season is starting pretty soon so they shud be advertising in your local paper now.

I actually enjoy it somewhat, it's been my part-time job for the 18 months or so i have been at uni. I guess it depends on the store you work at I guess because some stores can be non-stop serving people and that can annoy the hell of you if you're doing that for hours. But at my store, at Woolies, it isn't too bad, you get your busy periods for awhile but there are usually quiet times as well where you'd go and do other jobs etc. I do trolleys and other stuff so if it not in the mood to serve can usually go find something else to do if I'm not busy. But even then I don't mind chatting to other customers, most are generally pretty good plus the people I work with are nice too. It's not as boring as I though as it would be.

I work about 20 hours a week, the other thing when you know how long you've been working there you recognise half the customers that comeinto the store.

I'm the same.

Been working on the registers of Coles for a 3 years now and quite easy. Tend to do finish at midnight in most of my shifts and start at either 3 or 8.

Being 18 I can sell cigarettes which means I can spend half my shift hanging around the kiosk either serving small items or packing the bags for the person serving on the main register.

Basically every shift I do I spend talking to the other employees for about half of it, and with the 8 to midnight shifts after 10 it is often dead with gaps as long as 20 minutes without a customer which means I spend that time talking or just doing easy jobs like counting the draws or cleaning conveyor belts.

For all this I get $21 an hour, a lot more on Sunday after 9pm and something like $45 an hour on public holidays.

On top of this the hours are flexible and plentiful.

I'm the same.

Been working on the registers of Coles for a 3 years now and quite easy. Tend to do finish at midnight in most of my shifts and start at either 3 or 8.

Being 18 I can sell cigarettes which means I can spend half my shift hanging around the kiosk either serving small items or packing the bags for the person serving on the main register.

Basically every shift I do I spend talking to the other employees for about half of it, and with the 8 to midnight shifts after 10 it is often dead with gaps as long as 20 minutes without a customer which means I spend that time talking or just doing easy jobs like counting the draws or cleaning conveyor belts.

For all this I get $21 an hour, a lot more on Sunday after 9pm and something like $45 an hour on public holidays.

Open to midnight??

I'm the same.

You have to be 18 sell cigarettes? Doesn't matter for us.

You do just end up talking to other employees half the time as well, although that can depend on what time you work, during the day it usually more busier. Later on after 8 (well, 9 now since it's been hot lately) it usually is pretty dead, but we're not open to midnight anymore but when i worked to midnight a few times barely anyone came into the store at 10 onwards. You could only clean registers for so long.

Welcome to your life with Centerlink...

The experience of working far outweighs the handout you receive...

This is very true, I tried the whole youth allowance thing while at uni & I absolutely hated the restrictions it placed on how much you can work. Try telling an employer that you can't make over $230 (or however much it was) per fortnight and see how many jobs will still take you on. It just felt so counter-intuitive to restrict the amount you work, life was never better after I stopped getting youth allowance and was able to work more hours without having to tell the government every 2 weeks.

dunno if you were talking to me mate, but i'm going to a farm somewhere down in the channel south of hobart somewhere.

not exactly a hard job to get as it requires no skills and basically just have to be in good enough health to work in the sun for 8 hours.

i applied to a couple of places, one my mate told me about the other was in the paper. berry/cherry season is starting pretty soon so they shud be advertising in your local paper now.
thanks yeh i was talking to you.
spoke to one of my friends who owns a farm and they also said cherry season was coming up but that their are heaps of other better jobs that unexperienced people can do on a farm. will have to talk to her about it thouhg. hopefully she can get me a lob if thats what i want to do come summer

Open to midnight??

6am till Midnight.

You have to be 18 sell cigarettes? Doesn't matter for us.

You do just end up talking to other employees half the time as well, although that can depend on what time you work, during the day it usually more busier. Later on after 8 (well, 9 now since it's been hot lately) it usually is pretty dead, but we're not open to midnight anymore but when i worked to midnight a few times barely anyone came into the store at 10 onwards. You could only clean registers for so long.

Nah, Coles requires you to be 18. I guess it's so that you don't have the weird situation of a 16 year old asking a 20 year old for i.d. We also have to have been employed by Coles for atleast 3 months before we get trained.

We're slightly busier than that, and usually end up just cleaning (I do very little of this) or taking stock back (I do a lot of this, grocery collect trolleys full which I get to take back). Very cushy shift, and talking is easy when you get along with everyone there and one of the guys you do regular shifts with was your friend back in primary school.

I'm doing nightfill and uni at the moment, I'm looking to move out next year but need some extra coin. I've got my rsa and rcg is it easy to get a job at a pub without training? Do they train you on the job? They extra pay is enticing and the environment seems great. Failing that, is working at a bottleo decent?

Yeah, it's pretty tough to get a job at a bar without experience. What i did was went to the local pub and asked if i could work a couple of shifts a week there for free. Of course they said yes and at the end of the two weeks, i got a terrific reference and had a job behind the bar in no time.

I started as a filler at Woolies at the same age as you and ended up being a duty manager. Working Sun, Mon and Tues nights. It was a very easy job and the pay was awesome if you can work a Sunday shift. By the time I left I was clearing well over $400 off those 3 shifts (i think it was about 18 hrs).

Yeah i worked 20 hours a week (two 8hr shifts and a 4hr shift) and cleared 475 after tax doing "nightfill" (9pm til 5am, 11:30am til 7:30am and 4pm til 8pm).

Maybe try being a dishie at a restaurant. Probably a bit better money than stacking shelves.

A mate of mine did this. Started in year 9, so he would have been 14.

He us now a sous chef in London working in a Gordon Ramsey establishment.

High paying: Part-time jobs for students