Higher Scores a Good Thing??

There are always early season bolters, but having 53 teams average over 2,100 over the first three rounds is just taking the piss.

Will be interesting to see how people manage their trades.

There's not much in it at the moment. Only 370 odd points separating 1,000th and 15,000th.

Well I've always maintained that starting team isn't that important as long as you avoid obvious blunders and also avoid early unnecesssary sideways trades. It's in trading where the good teams will shine through. I expect there to be a lot of congestion through round 12 or so but then as the more inexperienced teams start to run out of trades you'll see the cream rising once more.

I expect there to be a lot of congestion through round 12 or so but then as the more inexperienced teams start to run out of trades you'll see the cream rising once more.

That's the plan. :cool:

Hopefully it works this year; Left my run a little late last year so hopefully I start dominating come round 10 onwards. (2100+ from them weeks onwards) A bit worried coming from behind again with more competition and better/more resources though. I'll take it one week at a time.

More chipping around in the backline = more marks and kicks. A 20 possession game was a good standard a few years back but now 25 - 30 would be benchmark for an elite midfielder. Plus there is a strong focus on tackling and accountability.

I think people overlook some serious changes in the game.
Firstly the no rushed behind rule.
Previously people would often rush a behind. Now you watch the backmen chip around 10 or more handballs to try and get it out... Theres 20 DT points with it not uncommon for the same player to pickup 6 of those points then tackles and potential turnovers for the other team.
Also the zone sees a higher possession game and more tackling than previously leading to a higher point scoring than the old man to man which saw alot more free men, a contest sees much more points than uncontested generally due to a flurry of handballs, short kicks, tackles etc.

Well eventually see a team master a way to crush the rolling zone and it will move to a new strategy or perhaps revert back to a man on man strategy. For the moment though I see certain high scores continuing.

I also suppose the ease of access to good dt info also helps through sites like bf dt talk and fan footy.
With everyone being able to get the basic players right more people will be likely to pick the others to get the massive scores

I think people overlook some serious changes in the game.
Firstly the no rushed behind rule.
Previously people would often rush a behind. Now you watch the backmen chip around 10 or more handballs to try and get it out... Theres 20 DT points with it not uncommon for the same player to pickup 6 of those points then tackles and potential turnovers for the other team.
Also the zone sees a higher possession game and more tackling than previously leading to a higher point scoring than the old man to man which saw alot more free men, a contest sees much more points than uncontested generally due to a flurry of handballs, short kicks, tackles etc.

Well eventually see a team master a way to crush the rolling zone and it will move to a new strategy or perhaps revert back to a man on man strategy. For the moment though I see certain high scores continuing.

Good posts - I think these are the two main contributors. It can be summed up that:
1) The average DTer has access to a wealth of information which narrows the gap between the top echelon of DTers and the pack; and
2) The nature of the game has changed to become more conducive to fantasy point scoring.

There's not much in it at the moment. Only 370 odd points separating 1,000th and 15,000th.

This is important to keep in mind. 370 points is not much at all, it may simply be a couple of late withdrawals w/ no emergency, a couple of bad captain choices or injuries that make the difference.

The thing people forget is that Round 2 was not a high scoring round. A good team would still have got over 2000. For lost points in the big scoring weeks, a good team will have made that up in the lower scoring rounds.

Well I've always maintained that starting team isn't that important as long as you avoid obvious blunders and also avoid early unnecesssary sideways trades. It's in trading where the good teams will shine through. I expect there to be a lot of congestion through round 12 or so but then as the more inexperienced teams start to run out of trades you'll see the cream rising once more.

I thought the exact same way about the starting side. I didnt think it was that important and it was almost proven by the way last years winner starting side was. Not bad, but definitely not great and he won easily.

I actually am starting to change my thinkings towards this, i now think the starting side you select from the start is the most important thing in DT. Heaps more people have selected good starting sides which is why their going so well ATM. I think trades will be pretty similar, alot of people have the Rich, Houlihan, Skipworth, Higgins, Haselby ect type players. They will do pretty much the exact same trades as you during the season. eg: round 6 everyone may swap Skipworth out for Franklin. I think Trading wont become that much differential between eachother. I think your keepers/premiums selected from the start is what separates everyone, whether they perform or they dont, whether they get injured or not (durability).

Just my thoughts, and yes i think scoring has increased heaps and its been already pointed out why. I have scored over 2000 every week and i still reckon my team hasnt done well yet. 2200 is the new benchmark.

Dream Team has become considerably easier. Too easy to the point it's a little disheartening.

I agree to a point, but if it is "considerably easier" then i assume you are sitting on top of the ladder? Yes there is a little more cash around, but you still need to spend it wisely and trade well to be near the top.

While some of the more obvious trades will happen, it is how you deal with those borderline players.

Some people will keep Higgins, Houlihan, Skipworth.... Others will pick their moment and trade them out. Then in the last 5 rounds, some people will have no trades left and others will have trades.

As we've seen in the early rounds, even some of the most durable and dependable players can have problems. (Birchall/Scotland/Bock)

Higher scores are a good thing for most casual players, makes them feel better about their teams.

What is DT's all time record score BTW? Has 2500 ever been broken?

2 years ago i scored 2650 and came 7th for the round unfortunately.

This year scores are ridiculously high for so early in the year. Scores of 2000+ should only start coming by mid-year when smart trading should be evident.

Think the game was made a bit too easy and teams are far too similar.

The good thing is that people are far more educated and informed and makes for better competition.

On the flip side, the game has changed so much towards higher possessions and loose possessions so this has impacted on DT.

I'd just like to see more variety in sides.

It is "easier" because we have slightly more cash (cash to prise increase was lenient) and because players are scoring more. (First round last year was around 24,000 DT points, this year was 25,000 DT points).

Regardless, there is still alot of competition. You have 250,000 other people to beat, if you think that is easy, good luck to you :) Just because the number of DT points is higher doesn't make it "easier" they are just numbers. 2000 is the new 1800, 2200 is the new 2000. End of the day, you still need to beat the 250,000 others :) bring it on.

I went into this year with the aim of top 1000, figuring a 2000 average might go close. ATM I am around 5500, averaging 1975 - scored 1997 on the weekend and dropped 2500 spots:eek:.

The slightly kind salary cap plus the huge amount of information available has IMO made it easier - not too easy, but the smokies are harder to hide than in previous years.

Another point to consider, and I apologise if it has been mentioned already, is that the winner of the weekly prize this week on over 2400 has only played 2 rounds.

Another alternative argument is that been 1000 points down is nothing really. You can make that up easily. Whereas last year it was much harder to catch up.

Realistically, 2 sides with very few differences can have very very different scores. 2 players scoring bad could be a 200 point difference, and captain choice can be another 50.

So you're never out of it. Im only 300 points off the leader with a stack of money in the bank.

It is just very disheartening seeing such high scores and it is also disheartening seeing how strong the sides are so early. It should take weeks to get a team that strong. It is also frustrating seeing teams looking so similar. Makes supporting your teams frustrating because at least half of my players mean nothing in the overall scheme of things because everyone has them

I'd just like to see more variety in sides.

I wonder if VS have thought about other selection options. For example, give players a point value (1-10) with a cap of say 165, and a limit on how many players from each point value and also each club could be selected.

As always the game will be won and lost with trade management. That's just something that your average player won't be able to get easy information on. I look forward to ramping up my scores mid year

Higher Scores a Good Thing??