RememberMe

Sep 20, 2006
North WA
-
It is no secret that the Kangaroos are no good in Melbourne, and apparantly will never make it in the Gold Coast... The Hawks are getting paid 15 million a year to play a handful of games in Launceston. Hobart, Tasmania's capital city, gets no AFL games.

York Park is the better ground in Tasmania for AFL, but Bellerive is by no means a second rate ground when comparing it to the other dung heaps that the Kangaroos are interested in playing football on (Manuka and Carrarra) If it's good enough for test and one day cricket, how far off AFL standard could it be. One more stadium and it's as good as gold.

The Kangaroos are already alligned with Tasmania's VFL side, and I have no doubt that they would get more people to games at Bellerive than at the Gold Coast... Possibly/probably even more than in Melbourne for that matter. The Devils are already regarded as a Hobart team by the Northerners who shun the concept...

Would the possibility of a relocation, or even just a partial relocation to Hobart be completely out of the question? I say let Launceston have the Hawks. I'd rather go and see the Kangaroos play any day.

Good post mate.

Apart from one thing... f**k York Park :thumbsdown:

Don't befooled mainlanders, into thinking that games are held there because it's the best ground in Tassie... it's pure Pork Barrelling.

Bellerive is already a class venue, and with a few upgrades it can be better than a lot of the current AFL venues.

I'd kill for a Tassie team, and even if it were a relocated Kangaroos side I'd support them, but not if they were based up north.

Sadly I just don't see it happening, all the money and incentive for the AFL is in Sydney and the Gold Coast

Good post mate.

Don't befooled mainlanders, into thinking that games are held there because it's the best ground in Tassie... it's pure Pork Barrelling.

Bellerive is already a class venue, and with a few upgrades it can be better than a lot of the current AFL venues.

Lies. Aurora is the better venue and the Hawks have clearly showed so by choosing it permanently.

On ya Hawks! ;) :thumbsu:

The Kangaroos are already alligned with Tasmania's VFL side, and I have no doubt that they would get more people to games at Bellerive than at the Gold Coast... Possibly/probably even more than in Melbourne for that matter. The Devils are already regarded as a Hobart team by the Northerners who shun the concept...

Yeah because we've been shunned for years.

Thanks Wade and Armstrong (Thank **** he's gone). :thumbsdown:

At least Creswell is making a real effort to make it a statewide side that flows well. He's doing a damn good job. :thumbsu:

I think the Kangaroos would fail wherever they go, as they're just not marketable. They've had numerous high draft picks over the years, yet would not have a player in the top 50 of the AFL. They've won a couple of premierships in the 90's yet can not build a membership. The only thing holding them together is the AFL, personally I think the amount they received from the AFL last year is a joke. Other teams have come out of financial difficulties by hard work & long-term strategy, not hand-outs.

They'd never move down here, but if they did, 80% of people going to the games would be to support the other team. Their only hope would be to get the young kids to follow them, as everyone here already has a team, and wouldn't stop following them for the Kangaroos. Everyone hates the fact they're aligned to our VFL side anyway, as having players that can't crack their way into the worst side in the AFL, is hardly going to help you.

Don't get me started on the whole Bellerive Oval vs York Park debate though, only to let those from out of this state know that it's only up there for election purposes, not for location or facilities. I saw something in the paper today that said Hawthorn were happy with a record number of Tasmanian memberships - just over 2000 from memory. Doesn't seem like many to me from 5 games a year here. As you saw in the NAB cup, any game where they're not playing an interstate team (or the Kangaroos), their fans would be in the minority in the crowd anyway.

Yeah because we've been shunned for years.

Thanks Wade and Armstrong (Thank **** he's gone). :thumbsdown:

At least Creswell is making a real effort to make it a statewide side that flows well. He's doing a damn good job. :thumbsu:

Well, I think that would save football in Tasmania. Let the Kangaroos represent Hobart... reform a statewide league. You can have your Hawks.

Ah righto you're much more reasonable than the crap thats normally had to defend.

I always thought 2 teams at Aurora was stupid and the Saints would go to Hobart sometime but they pulled out completely. The Kangas would do OK down there.

I quite like the NTFL at the moment but a return to a TFL league would be best for the future of footy.

Lets accept the fact for a minute that it is unlikely that Tasmania will ever get a state AFL side. Let Hawthorn play at York Park, and create some deal with Hawthorn to let NTFL's best play with the Hawthorn reserves... The Kangaroos are already merged with the Devils, and that may as well be a Hobart thing anyway. The best of the SFL plus the Kangaroos reserves could keep playing as Tassie. I don't see where the Kangaroos would lose out on this deal. They would attract more interest in Tassie if they were being seen to be supporting local football than they are anywhere else at the moment.

Buzzzzzzzzzzzzzt... numerous high draft picks?

Didn't quite check the facts on that one at the time, thought you'd finished lower more often. Still 4 out of the past 6 years you've finished 10th or lower, that's enough to get some talent in, instead some were wasted on recycling players weren't they?

Yeah, we recycled Hansen (pick 3), Hale (pick 10), McIntosh (pick 9) and Wells (pick 2 traded for Carey). We traded pick 10 for Thompson, those 5 are the only top 10 picks we have had in recent post Pagan history.

We did trade Motlop (who wante to go) and our late first round pick for Hay, Swallow and Riggio. Hay obviously didn't work out but Swallow has been good and Riggio also shows some potential.

Our recruiting could have been better, some better players picked with later picks but other than the Hay trade it hasn't been shocking.

Good post mate.

I'd kill for a Tassie team, and even if it were a relocated Kangaroos side I'd support them, but not if they were based up north.

Sadly I just don't see it happening, all the money and incentive for the AFL is in Sydney and the Gold Coast

No team is going to go to tassie because its a shithole. Its about time people realised its backward and dead.

hehe, nice answer goalpie. The AFL in Tassie will never work until 2 things happen - the South get over the sour grapes that the North actually have something that they don't and the second one is that Wade goes back under whichever rock he crawled out from.

I don't think an AFL team is sustainable in Tassie, and I don't think the Hawks will ever become everyones 'second team' either, like the full page ads theyre taking out every week would lead us to believe.

West Coast then I assume if you think we're dead.

Look on the brightside, we get AFL with no ads, they are all LIVE. Its not all bad. ;)

Launceston actually. It really is the boringest place and no wonder people between the ages off 21 -35 are getting out. I will be one off those statistics soon. YIPPEE!

AFL is unsustainable because nothing gets done in the state except blow shit out off their arse and run around pretending they are something. Tasmania is a great place if you are old and waiting to die.

Hobart Hawks?

But seriously, isn't the reason they play in Launceston because the majority of the population of Tassie live closer to there than Hobart? I have had quite a few Tasmanians say that to me.

FWIW I think Tassie is a fantastic place. Sure there might not be a heap to do between the age of finishing Uni and having kids, but this happens in all regional centres in Australia. Kids want to go to the cities to have fun. Once you grow out of that Tassie has a heck of a lot going for it.

Hobart Kangaroos?