brookers#5

Suspended
Jun 6, 2007
braybrook
I'm not for a minute trying to say Hodge is anywhere near Voss hopefully one day i can but i doubt that but do you think the way he plays & the leadership he shows are extreamly similar to the great man. I thought you guys would be the best to ask you saw Vossy in all his glory & Hodgey is fresh in your minds. Do you think there similar players?

Really not the best people to ask. No one is like Vossy. No one.

No offence, i don't even know what number he is.

Does that answer your question?

Voss would never kick a bloke in the shin and nearly break his leg either.

My respect for Hodge has never been the same after that night.
You've got to be kidding me!
There's no way that Hodgeys 'kick' was deliberate, that's why he was let off.
I've seen several 'classy' players just have a simple unconcious reaction like that.
I'm thinking that if you're that emotionaly fragile i'd be afraid to think what would happen if i accidently bumped you at a pub.
And i'm sure no one on the Lions list has held any grudges against him, maybe you should move on and accept Luke Hodge as the superstar he is.

Mate thats a pretty ignorant thing to say. I can tell you right now that Jonathon Brown has had some pretty big dog acts on the footy field that you can look at in isolation. You cant dispute that Brown is a champion - love him or hate him I still respect him for footy ability. Hodge is no Voss at this stage in his career but its undeniable he is a gun.

So you would prefer to have Voss at his best in our team now than Hodge as his best?

Nah Voss is a good bloke, he only belts blokes in nightclubs when he's on the piss with his mates like Gehrig to back him up! But I'm sure he had a good excuse!
As if Hodge deliberately tried to hurt anyone, unlike Voss, who belted a guy who had his arms by his sides! Gee thats brave and shows great character. Just because Voss is softly spoken and looks like a big nerd doesn't necessarily make it so, so get off your high horse.
For the record yes Voss was an absolute gun, very fair on the field and had a career anyone would be envious of, everyone knows that. With Hodge yes he's brilliant too, lets just wait to see what this Hawthorn side achieves and what Hodge can put in his own trophy cabinet. If he achieves anywhere near what Voss did, there will be a lot of happy Hawks supporters over the next few years.

Agree with my fellow lions posters gun player (though will never be close to voss) but a dirty one. Was a dog act to deliberately kick a class act like lappin in the leg like he did.

He didn't do it deliberately. Hodge is tough but fair. If Hodge wanted to hurt Lappin, he would have done more than break his leg.

How did the person who started this thread expect things to turn out?

They just beat an hour beforehand us in a game which has likely ended our finals dream, and then came here asking us to find similarities between one of their players to the greatest player who ever played for our club.

Don't you think there are 500 other things we'd rather talk about?

You've got to be kidding me!
There's no way that Hodgeys 'kick' was deliberate, that's why he was let off.

One hawk on here calling a well respected poster 'ignorant' & now another using the AFL Tribunal :eek: as just cause to support a belief.
If anyone really believes that the AFL tribunal is consistent, fair, well run, and then uses this judiciary as a justification for an opinion, well....... just who is the ignorant one here?

Back to the topic.
Hodge is a nice player but needs to scale Everest to be compared to Voss, as a player let alone a leader.

Just one point that Hawks fans may have missed & may need to revisit round 1 again. Hodge at times does need to watch his disclipline to become a great leader. There were numerous ocassions on that night that he gave away unneccesary selfish free kicks that certainly would have disheartened those around him, & to be honest showed a lack of leadership.

Nah im just saying that there is no point making comparisons. Hodgey is just starting out and has about 8 - 10 years of footy ahead of him. The comparison would be better to make in another 5 years I reckon

Vossy was just starting out too when he won a Brownlow, 21yo IIRC.

To most, if not all Lions supporters, he was and will be the best player and captain the club has had/will have for a very long time. To ask us to try to compare anyone, including Buckley or Hird to Voss, you'll quickly get the same answer. Let alone comparing Hodge who isn't even in the same 'elite midfielder' category is laughable.

Vossy was just starting out too when he won a Brownlow, 21yo IIRC.

To most, if not all Lions supporters, he was and will be the best player and captain the club has had/will have for a very long time. To ask us to try to compare anyone, including Buckley or Hird to Voss, you'll quickly get the same answer. Let alone comparing Hodge who isn't even in the same 'elite midfielder' category is laughable.

I think you a missing the point a little.

I dont think anyone is saying that Hodge is even in the same class as Voss. Voss is a true Champion of the game, and will go down in history as one of the games best leaders and players.

The point of the thread is more in the simalarities between the two (physical, tough players). Nothing to do with who is a better player, because it is very obvious to even the most biased Hawthorn supports that Voss is a much, much better player.

You only have to watch a replay of the 2002 Grand Final and Voss’s last game against StKilda, to see why Hodge has still got along way to go.

I think you a missing the point a little.

I dont think anyone is saying that Hodge is even in the same class as Voss. Voss is a true Champion of the game, and will go down in history as one of the games best leaders and players.

The point of the thread is more in the simalarities between the two (physical, tough players). Nothing to do with who is a better player, because it is very obvious to even the most biased Hawthorn supports that Voss is a much, much better player.

Then why not compare him to Archer too?

BTW, i was replying to Phil, not what the OP said.

Bye bye Hawk fans .. you've done yourselves no favours. Immature.

Bye Bye finals!Lions fans premature excitement will get you nowhere!
Im sure by the end of hodgeys career he will be twice the man voss is on and off the field!!In regards to that kick he should of connected better!
:p

Bye Bye finals!Lions fans premature excitement will get you nowhere!
Im sure by the end of hodgeys career he will be twice the man voss is on and off the field!!In regards to that kick he should of connected better!
:p

Finals race is far from over champ :)

Ill take Voss thanks. Kicking has always been hodge's weak point....:rolleyes: