How good is our list at the moment?

Oct 14, 2006
Just looking at our list and Clarko and company have done something special with us.

When Bailey comes back in, Gibson, Burger, Shoey and Shiels finding their groove we are in awesome shape.

If we can play 11 or 12 games with the same structure, come up with a new gameplan and really gel together we will give it a crack next year.

yeah i agree H2F - i was one of those that said after draft week that we had done really well with our selections and trades.

we are well covered in all areas now and i hope that max bailey comes back sooner than later.

my wild card is dowler - if he comes good next season, then double-teaming buddy wont be possible. imagine buddy, rough and a firing dowler with hooper, cyril and brown in our forward line.

is there a backline that can stop that combo?

Like all forms of accounting there are differing ways of accounting for your assets.

I think that the HFC is confident that names on paper is one thing, but team cohesion is what matters; and I believe that the Pelican & Co. are confident that they have built a strong & cohesive unit; not only for 2010 but through to 2015.

We have the "big names" to match it with any club, but I believe that 2010 will prove that our "lesser knowns" are great team players and will help us to more flags to come.

My warning to other clubs: Go ahead; underate Schoey, Gilham, Gibson, Brown, Guerra, Ladson, Murphy, K-T / Stratton, Young, Shiels, Taylor / Renouf, Hooper, Ellis & Birchall at your peril and see what happens.

Our list is pretty decent.

Would be far better if Croad was out there, Bailey was up and going and our midfield had a touch more speed thru the middle.

Geelong still has a better Midfield.

Our depth is poo (Understandable with the age of the squad though)

Injury free, we're up the top end of the ladder though

Would be far better if Croad was out there, Bailey was up and going and our midfield had a touch more speed thru the middle.

This.

If we can have as good a run as the Saints did, our list is still good enough to go all the way.

Our list is pretty decent.

Geelong still has a better Midfield.

Our depth is poo (Understandable with the age of the squad though)

Our depth is poo,you must be kidding,go back 5 or 6 years our depth was POO!!!

In certain areas our depth is poo, ie ruck and KPD. We no doubt have a fantastic list when all are fit but it only takes a few injuries and were back to season 2009, like all clubs!

Rucks no good.

Backs: Addition of Gibson, fit Stevie G, upcoming Schoey. Looking good

Mids: Burgoyne added for pace and polish, depth with Ellis, Ladson, Young and Hodge who had minimal impact in 2009 due to injury. Rioli more time in the middle with the addition of Hooper.

Forwards: Rough to kill it in '10 likewise Buddy to have a better year on the back of some silver service from the mids. Depth may be tested if our talls suffer from injury.

I think your list is in amazing shape.

You have a good group of youngsters that have shown something, with Liam Shiels, Ryan Schoenmakers, Brendon Whitecross and Cyril Rioli all leading the charge for the next generation of Hawks.

In addition to this, you have a very strong group of core players (aged; 23 - 28) with Chance Bateman, Michael Osborne, Sam Mitchell, Campbell Brown, Brad Sewell, Rick Ladson and Luke Hodge all still in their prime.

To go with this, the additions to your squad really boosted both the depth and class of it. Peter Burgoyne is a class player, an A-Grader when on song. Josh Gibson is a classy defender who finished top 10 in the Roos B&F, adding to all of this, the new draftees are a very good, diverse range of players.

From Ben Stratton, a rangy VFL player who has finally earned his shot at the big time, Taylor Dureau and Sam Grimely.

All in all, the Hawks are still in there "Premiership Window" one would assume. I was hoping that you were to knock us off in round 22. You guys still had the firepower to be a mover and shaker in the finals series last season. Us on the other hand, got handed a football lesson :eek:

I think your list is in amazing shape.

You have a good group of youngsters that have shown something, with Liam Shiels, Ryan Schoenmakers, Brendon Whitecross and Cyril Rioli all leading the charge for the next generation of Hawks.

In addition to this, you have a very strong group of core players (aged; 23 - 28) with Chance Bateman, Michael Osborne, Sam Mitchell, Campbell Brown, Brad Sewell, Rick Ladson and Luke Hodge all still in their prime.

To go with this, the additions to your squad really boosted both the depth and class of it. Shaun Burgoyne is a class player, an A-Grader when on song. Josh Gibson is a classy defender who finished top 10 in the Roos B&F, adding to all of this, the new draftees are a very good, diverse range of players.

From Ben Stratton, a rangy WAFL player who has finally earned his shot at the big time, Taylor Dureau and Sam Grimely.

All in all, the Hawks are still in there "Premiership Window" one would assume. I was hoping that you were to knock us off in round 22. You guys still had the firepower to be a mover and shaker in the finals series last season. Us on the other hand, got handed a football lesson :eek:

Edited for accuracy :thumbsu:

Point 1. lets get them all ready (as in - no injuries) to get out on the paddock, then i'll really start to get excited
Point 2. Overall the list is pretty good, some areas that need tightening up (rucks obviously and some help down back, but thats just getting picky)

I was pretty excited about our list last year...but go back to point 1!

Pretty convinced its all about the next 5+ years, not just 2009 or this year coming up. When we have the core of our team with 100+ games under their belt (assuming injuries are not decimating us)....we are in a position to really start dominating the comp.:thumbsu:

I really am a bit surprised with how the media didn't make much of a deal out of our pick ups in the off season. Burgoyne and Gibson are huge gets for someone with a list as talented as us.

Absolute perfect selections for us, and will see immediate impact to our list and depth.

Hooper I think has been under-stated as well. Good age for us, has talent, and will add some more depth to the running outside high half forward/ midfield position. I think he'll do well, and just gives us more flexibility.

Our depth is a year older. I'm not sure on Muston, Morton, Tuck etc, but they are at least in a position now to come and with mature bodies and fill a role for us. Shiels, Shoenmakers and Savage are in a much better position to grab a position in the side, rather than just fill in the numbers this year, especially the former two. Whitecross made huge steps last year as well, so really our depth is under-stated.

I have our best 22 as

Ladson.........Gilham...........Guerra

Hodge..........Gibson...........Birchall

Lewis...........Burgoyne........Bateman

Rioli.............Franklin..........Osborne

Brown..........Roughead........Dowler

Foll: Renouf, Mitchell, Sewell

Int: Young, Taylor, Ellis, Shoenmakers

That leaves our depth as:

Midfielders/Utilities: Shiels, Tuck, Muston, Savage, Hooper, Moss (rookie), JKT (rookie)
Forward options: Morton, Lisle, Peterson (rookie), Stokes (rookie)
Defence: Murphy, Straton, Milne (rookie), Suckling
Rucks: Skipper, Lowden
Hopefuls: Bailey
Unlikely: Croad
First year raw players: Grimes, Williams, Duryea,

You can see the benefit in drafting Hooper and JKT, as it gives us two mature players to add directly to our depth and midfield rotations. Without those two selections, if injuries hit again, we'd have to eat in to our first year players again, which is what hurt our chance last (but has really benefited us this year however) year.

Burgoyne and Gibson gives us more quality and stacks on our depth rather than having to start Shiels and give Shoenmakers too much responsibility for a premiership contender.

And back to our starting 22, just looking at it, it going to be damn hard to decide how to shut us down.

It annoys me that people focus on our lack of height in defence, and don't see how great a strength it is having a mobile backline and are super uses of the ball. We'll create so much drive back there with that back six listed as everyone uses the ball exceptionally.

Our midfield is scary good, and Roughead, Franklin and Dowler will cause anyone headaches themselves, and added the scoring power of the crumbing midfielders Rioli, Burgoyne and Bateman is a damn good mix of players.

Renouf and Taylor will be fine, and I think Skipper will suit our game plan really well around the ground, even if he does get beaten at the taps at times.

Exciting list, that keeps taking shape. Its in a great position now, and also for the coming years to keep getting stronger.

Just looking at our list and Clarko and company have done something special with us.

When Bailey comes back in, Gibson, Burger, Shoey and Shiels finding their groove we are in awesome shape.

If we can play 11 or 12 games with the same structure, come up with a new gameplan and really gel together we will give it a crack next year.

I'm pretty confident that our list is in good shape, however, I'm surprised you say when Bailey comes back. Feel that 'big if' is a better way of putting it.

Like others I also think we need a reasonable run with injuries/suspensions, especially in relation to Taylor and Renouf.

Pretty convinced its all about the next 5+ years, not just 2009 or this year coming up. When we have the core of our team with 100+ games under their belt (assuming injuries are not decimating us)....we are in a position to really start dominating the comp.:thumbsu:

I agree with that.

Right now I think we're too weak in the back half & ruck to be a certainty for the top 4, much as I'd like us to be. We may still make it, but only if injuries permit.

Our list is still very young and grossly lacking in experience. Witness how many experienced players were on the park in this year's Grand Final as proof of how important a factor it is.

I think our odds of going all the way will be much higher two or three years from now, not least because by that stage Geelong, St.Kilda & Bulldogs will all be finished and we'll be competing with teams of experience levels similar to our own.

I think the hawthorn list is almost ready to move out of the building stage and into the maintenance stage, with ruck the only position that really needs improving.

we have been lucky thus far and 2008 was exceptional but i feel the early retirement of campbell and injury to croad has made the building phase last 1-2 years longer than first expected - as suggested in the mini rebuild thread.

if all goes according to plan in 2010 and shoey proves to be our man down back i think our backline is pretty good. Bailey is an enigma in that we know how he good he is as he shows glimpses in the very few times he gets on the field but we know how brief those appearances have been.

With luck on our side and those two players standing up we should be able to start approaching the drafts looking to get best available and trying to sustain our list rather than build one, much like adelaide has been able to keep a pretty good outfit on the field for a long period of time.

I'm pretty confident that our list is in good shape, however, I'm surprised you say when Bailey comes back. Feel that 'big if' is a better way of putting it.

No if.

When.

It annoys me that people focus on our lack of height in defence, and don't see how great a strength it is having a mobile backline and are super uses of the ball. We'll create so much drive back there with that back six listed as everyone uses the ball exceptionally.

Especially Whitecross, whom you seem to have forgotten.

Interested to see where you see him fitting in (or not)?

B2P apart from our Rucks our List would match any other in the AFL look out 2010 another flag in the bag we couldn't have injury's like we did this year mate Hooper to free up Junior in the Midfield & our midfield is going to be bloody amazing!

Whatever the case I like your optimism.

Just remember most of last year hearing and thinking 'when' Croad comes back:(

Except that Croad's injury was a one-off, unknown quantity.

Bailey's is a known entity, and by many reports, from different sources, is progressing very well.

Regarding the talk on Croad, if there is ONE area that the club is not doing well on, it is the deliberate misinformation on players with long term injuries...Croad, Young, and others..as recently as this month

I can understand in the week leading up to a game, when it can throw the opposition, but what does it gain deceiving your own supporters in the off season?

Especially Whitecross, whom you seem to have forgotten.

Interested to see where you see him fitting in (or not)?

Can't see Clarko letting such a composed, skilful, pure athlete go to waste. Also comes across as a future leader. Can see him driving out of half back and getting back when needed.

I have looked at the list and come to the conclusion it is in good shape. In coming to this conclusion I may have looked at things from a different perspective than some others would approach things. In my work I have to look outside the square on many occasions and that is what I have done here. I don’t concentrate on rating individual players per se. I look at the list as a jig saw puzzle and see, first, what the overall picture is or should be, and secondly look at individual players to see if they fit a spot on the board to make up the overall puzzle.

Let’s start with the most maligned area of the list, the ruck division. First there is every Hawks man to condemn, Simon Taylor. He did not have a great year in 2009 but what most people don’t realise is that he played under great handicap from R2 onwards with a severe hip injury. If there had been a replacement he would have gone under the knife during the season. Robbie Campbell also played with a debilitating injury in 2009. We now know that to have been a career ending injury. Robbie was required to go to the backline quite a bit to fill holes. Finally there was Renouf who is still young, a recent comer to Aussie rules.
A very relevant factor in the performance to the ruckmen in 2009 was the lack of any real ruck coaching. Leigh Newton was next to incompetent IMO. In 2008 the rucks performed pretty well. Not world beaters but held their own and beat most opposition. That in no small part was the input of the big Russian. In 2010 we have Monkey who is said to be a good coach and has experience at the caper. He is already working with the ruckmen and with the tall forwards drilling them in contested marking situations. He is assisted by Robbie Campbell.
For 2010 we have the prospect of Bailey to come back and there is the assistance of Skipper. I will refer to him a bit later.
Overall with fit players, better coached and reserves in Lowden and Grimley (who is not without real ability) and a better performing mid field, I don’t despair as many others do about the ruck division.

We have a really good spine. Roughead, Franklin, Mitchell/Sewell/Hodge and three or four others for the centre, Gibson/Schoenmakers and Gilham.

With Buddy and Roughie up forward, this can be fleshed out with the likes of Brown, Hooper, Osborne, Rioli, Dowler, Lisle, Morton, Murphy, Skipper, Moss, Peterson, Kayler-Thompson. There is a mix of tall’s and smalls in that lot, and plenty of hard at it players to help keep the ball in the area.

So who is going to give the pill to them? We all know the ability of Mitchell, Sewell, Lewis, even if that lot can be seen as a bit one dimensional or same like. Well to complement these hard nuts there is the new boy Burgoyne, Bateman, Young (missing all 2009), Rioli, Ellis, Ladson, Moss, Osborne, Seils, Tuck, Kayler-Thompson (who will play senior footy in 2010)Muston, Stokes, Savage, Ellis, and don’t be surprised if Whitecross gets a gig in the mid field from time to time.
So there is a blending of experience, youth, hard nuts, outside runners and, at last genuine leg speed. In Sheils, Bateman, Young, Moss, Ellis, and even Morton we have a group of gut running players.

The back half worries people. Not me so much however. We have seen what Shoenmakers can do and he will get better. Gilham will be fit this year. He is not beaten very often. They will be supported by a fit Hodge, the inclusion of Gibson who is a very strong unit and a big unit if only 189 cm tall. He plays taller than that. Ask Franklin. Birchall can go back to where he plays so well and be supported by a much stronger Ellis (when not playing elsewhere), Ladson, Guerra, Whitecross, a much bigger Murphy, Muston and Stratton (who will also play seniors in 2010). Hodge won’t be the only player to be a sweeper. Expect to find Mitchell in that role from time to time. He got a taste of it in 2009 when his shoulder was too crook for him to play in the centre and he enjoyed the role and the coaches loved the work he did. Lisle is a chance to see some action back there as well. And then there is that man Skipper again. He has not been brought into the club as merely a short ruckman. He is to play a role similar to Goodes at the Swans. He will ruck but he will go back and to the forward line as needs be. I have watched him at training and I like what I see. He moves well and is equal to the best set shot at goal at the club. The Hawks see a role for him where the Dogs did not. Maybe it is in a different mix of players that has given him an opportunity. He may surprise a few in the football world.

An aspect of the backline which has worried me is that when Guerra is missing we have no one reliable to take the kick outs. For a generally good to excellent kick in general play Hodge is a bit of a turnover option when he kicks out. Enter from right of stage ...Suckling. This boy has a magic boot. The club have stuck with him through all his injuries. They reckon he has the goods. He can play back pocket, HBF and wing.

Ok, so we have players who can play footy a bit, and some better than others. But do we have that X factor. You better get your money on that we sure do. We all know what Buddy and Rioli can do. We know that in Young and Birchall we have 80 metre players (run 20 and kick it 60). We know Hooper can light it up from time to time. Kayler-Thompson is in the Young/Birchall mould and with a deadly kick. There is that man Peterson. Those of us who attend training have seen what this lad can do. It simply takes your breath away. Now that is on the training track but it shows he can do the unbelievable. We can but hope and pray he can do it in the real stuff. The boy Burgoyne can go a bit also. Hodge can make very good players look silly from time to time. We have players who can kick goals from outside 50, apart from Buddy. With the kicking ability to hit up targets inside 50 (Ladson to Buddy to win the game), the ability to kick from a long way out and a fit group of hard runners with super disposal skills, we will beat the flood tactics.

Grimley has talent and maybe a season away. So too Lowden. A lot of people don’t rate Stokes but I reckon he is better than some say. He is fast, has courage, and works well with those around him. Another player to keep an eye on is Milne. Skinny at the moment but has good height, broad shoulders (suggesting he will fill out), a calmness in the way he goes about his footy together with a very special ingredient...he is a "one grab" player. He does not fumble to often. This gives him time to look and make good decisions. 2011 will be his year. Chuck him in with Gilly, Gibbo, Shoey, and maybe Lisle and there is a backline being developed as we watch. I don’t know anything about Duryea or (the new) Williams yet.

So overall I think we have a flexible list with some out and out stars on every line and some very very good back up players. There are great disposal skills in just about every player. There are super runners on every line. There are no purely fringe players who need the pill given to them (as per Lonie in the past) So in developing a list in the current circumstances of compromised drafts ahead, salary cap issues etc, I think the club has done a great job.

I have looked at the list and come to the conclusion it is in good shape. In coming to this conclusion I may have looked at things from a different perspective than some others would approach things. In my work I have to look outside the square on many occasions and that is what I have done here. I don’t concentrate on rating individual players per se. I look at the list as a jig saw puzzle and see, first, what the overall picture is or should be, and secondly look at individual players to see if they fit a spot on the board to make up the overall puzzle.

Let’s start with the most maligned area of the list, the ruck division. First there is every Hawks man to condemn, Simon Taylor. He did not have a great year in 2009 but what most people don’t realise is that he played under great handicap from R2 onwards with a severe hip injury. If there had been a replacement he would have gone under the knife during the season. Robbie Campbell also played with a debilitating injury in 2009. We now know that to have been a career ending injury. Robbie was required to go to the backline quite a bit to fill holes. Finally there was Renouf who is still young, a recent comer to Aussie rules.
A very relevant factor in the performance to the ruckmen in 2009 was the lack of any real ruck coaching. Leigh Newton was next to incompetent IMO. In 2008 the rucks performed pretty well. Not world beaters but held their own and beat most opposition. That in no small part was the input of the big Russian. In 2010 we have Monkey who is said to be a good coach and has experience at the caper. He is already working with the ruckmen and with the tall forwards drilling them in contested marking situations. He is assisted by Robbie Campbell.
For 2010 we have the prospect of Bailey to come back and there is the assistance of Skipper. I will refer to him a bit later.
Overall with fit players, better coached and reserves in Lowden and Grimley (who is not without real ability) and a better performing mid field, I don’t despair as many others do about the ruck division.

We have a really good spine. Roughead, Franklin, Mitchell/Sewell/Hodge and three or four others for the centre, Gibson/Schoenmakers and Gilham.
With Buddy and Roughie up forward, this can be fleshed out with the likes of Brown, Hooper, Osborne, Rioli, Dowler, Lisle, Morton, Murphy, Skipper, Moss, Peterson, Kayler-Thompson. There is a mix of tall’s and smalls in that lot, and plenty of hard at it players to help keep the ball in the area.

So who is going to give the pill to them? We all know the ability of Mitchell, Sewell, Lewis, even if that lot can be seen as a bit one dimensional or same like. Well to complement these hard nuts there is the new boy Burgoyne, Bateman, Young (missing all 2009), Rioli, Ellis, Ladson, Moss, Osborne, Seils, Tuck, Kayler-Thompson (who will play senior footy in 2010)Muston, Stokes, Savage, Ellis, and don’t be surprised if Whitecross gets a gig in the mid field from time to time.
So there is a blending of experience, youth, hard nuts, outside runners and, at last genuine leg speed. In Sheils, Bateman, Young, Moss, Ellis, and even Morton we have a group of gut running players.

The back half worries people. Not me so much however. We have seen what Shoenmakers can do and he will get better. Gilham will be fit this year. He is not beaten very often. They will be supported by a fit Hodge, the inclusion of Gibson who is a very strong unit and a big unit if only 189 cm tall. He plays taller than that. Ask Franklin. Birchall can go back to where he plays so well and be supported by a much stronger Ellis (when not playing elsewhere), Ladson, Guerra, Whitecross, a much bigger Murphy, Muston and Stratton (who will also play seniors in 2010). Hodge won’t be the only player to be a sweeper. Expect to find Mitchell in that role from time to time. He got a taste of it in 2009 when his shoulder was too crook for him to play in the centre and he enjoyed the role and the coaches loved the work he did. Lisle is a chance to see some action back there as well. And then there is that man Skipper again. He has not been brought into the club as merely a short ruckman. He is to play a role similar to Goods at the Swans. He will ruck but he will go back and to the forward line as needs be. I have watched him at training and I like what I see. He moves well and is equal to the best set shot at goal at the club. The Hawks see a role for him where the Dogs did not. Maybe it is in a different mix of players that has given him an opportunity. He may surprise a few in the football world.

An aspect of the backline which has worried me is that when Guerra is missing we have no one reliable to take the kick outs. For a generally good to excellent kick in general play Hodge is a bit of a turnover option when he kicks out. Enter from right of stage ...Suckling. This boy has a magic boot. The club have stuck with him through all his injuries. They reckon he has the goods. He can play back pocket, HBF and wing.

Ok, so we have players who can play footy a bit, and some better than others. But do we have that X factor. You better get your money on that we sure do. We all know what Buddy and Rioli can do. We know that in Young and Birchall we have 80 metre players (run 20 and kick it 60). We know Hooper can light it up from time to time. Kayler-Thompson is in the Young/Birchall mould and with a deadly kick. There is that man Peterson. Those of us who attend training have seen what this lad can do. It simply takes your breath away. Now that is on the training track but it shows he can do the unbelievable. We can but hope and pray he can do it in the real stuff. The boy Burgoyne can go a bit also. Hodge can make very good players look silly from time to time. We have players who can kick goals from outside 50, apart from Buddy. With the kicking ability to hit targets inside 50 (Ladson to Buddy to win the game), the ability to kick from a long way out and a fit group of hard runners with super disposal skills, we will beat the flood tactics.

Grimley has talent and maybe a season away. So too Lowden. A lot of people don’t rate Stokes but I reckon he is better than some say. He is fast, has courage, and works well with those around him. I don’t know anything about Duryea or (the new) Williams yet.

So overall I think we have a flexible list with some out and out stars on every line and some very very good back up players. There are great disposal skills in just about every player. There are super runners on every line. There are no purely fringe players who need the pill given to them (as per Lonie in the past) So in developing a list in the current circumstances of compromised drafts ahead, salary cap issues etc, I think the club has done a great job.

The back half worries people. Not me so much however. We have seen what Shoenmakers can do and he will get better. Gilham will be fit this year. He is not beaten very often. They will be supported by a fit Hodge, the inclusion of Gibson who is a very strong unit and a big unit if only 189 cm tall. He plays taller than that. Ask Franklin. Birchall can go back to where he plays so well and be supported by a much stronger Ellis (when not playing elsewhere), Ladson, Guerra, Whitecross, a much bigger Murphy, Muston and Stratton (who will also play seniors in 2010). Hodge won’t be the only player to be a sweeper. Expect to find Mitchell in that role from time to time. He got a taste of it in 2009 when his shoulder was too crook for him to play in the centre and he enjoyed the role and the coaches loved the work he did. Lisle is a chance to see some action back there as well. And then there is that man Skipper again. He has not been brought into the club as merely a short ruckman. He is to play a role similar to Goods at the Swans. He will ruck but he will go back and to the forward line as needs be. I have watched him at training and I like what I see. He moves well and is equal to the best set shot at goal at the club. The Hawks see a role for him where the Dogs did not. Maybe it is in a different mix of players that has given him an opportunity. He may surprise a few in the football world.

Ok, so we have players who can play footy a bit, and some better than others. But do we have that X factor. You better get your money on that we sure do. We all know what Buddy and Rioli can do. We know that in Young and Birchall we have 80 metre players (run 20 and kick it 60). We know Hooper can light it up from time to time. Kayler-Thompson is in the Young/Birchall mould and with a deadly kick. There is that man Peterson. Those of us who attend training have seen what this lad can do. It simply takes your breath away. Now that is on the training track but it shows he can do the unbelievable. We can but hope and pray he can do it in the real stuff. The boy Burgoyne can go a bit also. Hodge can make very good players look silly from time to time. We have players who can kick goals from outside 50, apart from Buddy. With the kicking ability to hit targets inside 50 (Ladson to Buddy to win the game), the ability to kick from a long way out and a fit group of hard runners with super disposal skills, we will beat the flood tactics.

Grimley has talent and maybe a season away. So too Lowden. A lot of people don’t rate Stokes but I reckon he is better than some say. He is fast, has courage, and works well with those around him. I don’t know anything about Duryea or (the new) Williams yet.

v
Spot on again Number 24.
That man Hodge must play middle all year, there's enought talent now in the back half.
2010 will be goooooooooood.:)

Yep, as much as I hate the back-slapping for when people post things of quality, that is a great summary. Your take on the ruck situation is spot-on.

How good is our list at the moment?