How is Ben Cousins' book?

he probably just gave his story and had a writer do the rest. He woul'dve had a few too many brain cells fried by now to be able to string any good words together

You know a lot of great writers have been drug addicts.

Stephen King wrote all his early classics while fried off his face on anything he could get his hands on... uppers, downers, legal, illegal... anything and everything. It was only once he kicked his habit and tried to write clean that his books started to suck (comparatively speaking).

far above average for a footy book. Had me facsinated the entire journey.

Unique individual, spoilt and lived a brilliant life. Best footy book Ive read.

Yes being a slave to a chemical substance, and lying and betraying your family and friends plus going into convulsuions with your skin crawling and waking up in gutters and hospital wards must be an absolutely brilliant way to live your life ...Fred Hollows eat your heart out . :rolleyes:

I'd bet he had a good time though.

Great read.

Things i gathered from the book:
- gardiner seems to be doing very well now
- chick also seems to be quite decent (if not extremely bogan)
- ben misses sam more than anything and wants her back.
- bens family were more alone than they could imagine, no prior experiences to draw off

I was desperate to get my hands on this the other night, and my old man stopped me at the front door and was like "mate you are going to buy the ben cousins biography, aren't you" and I was like "get out of my way dad" and he was like "no, not until you tell me where you are going mate", and I was like "look, if I want to go through you you aren't going to be able to stop me, mate" and he was like "fine I am coming with you then mate".

So then we were driving around perth trying to find a book seller open at that time of the night, and finally I left my dad at a bus stop whilst I went round a mates who runs a dymocks.

I am not going to lie to you and say it wasn't a an absolutely phenomenally fun read. It has really launched into the best sellers lists and absolutely annihilated a huge amount of sports biographies.

I was desperate to get my hands on this the other night, and my old man stopped me at the front door and was like "mate you are going to buy the ben cousins biography, aren't you" and I was like "get out of my way dad" and he was like "no, not until you tell me where you are going mate", and I was like "look, if I want to go through you you aren't going to be able to stop me, mate" and he was like "fine I am coming with you then mate".

So then we were driving around perth trying to find a book seller open at that time of the night, and finally I left my dad at a bus stop whilst I went round a mates who runs a dymocks.

I am not going to lie to you and say it wasn't a an absolutely phenomenally fun read. It has really launched into the best sellers lists and absolutely annihilated a huge amount of sports biographies.

Not even remotely funny!

I find most football biographies to be a huge waste of time. I got a free copy of Aker's book through work and struggled to finish it.

But Cousins' book is hands down the best I've read save for Garry Linnell's book about Gary Ablett (Playing God: The Rise and Fall of Gary Ablett).
It's obvious Cuz's TV doco was hugely watered down - presumably because it was completed/screneed when he was still an AFL listed player. The book is different - he covers everything from how he beat the drug testers to his punch on with Kerr, to the booze bus incident to the Embley/Chick brawls in great detail. He's completely honest and open, and it's a hugely enjoyable read. Only issue I had was that his comeback and two years at Richmond are condensed into the last 1/7th or so of the book, though it's clear Cuz feels he owes his life to the Tigers for giving him a second chance.

Only $20 at Borders at the moment and well worth the purchase.

You're a virgin arent ya?

bought it yesterday and looking forward to the read.

just 3/4 through the " THE GIRL WITH THE DRAGON TATTOO " now this one is a strage book:eek:

It has taken me a while to get through it, but I have smashed my way through about 100 pages over the past couple of days after having the book for almost a month. Very good book so far. I love how he has a ghost writer, so everything in the book is as if he is writing it.

I'm currently up to the chapter about his comeback and I have come across a mistake (from what I can gather).

He mentions how he had been 100 days sober and went to the Club to speak to Woosher and his teammates and, after several conversations with Woosher, they had agreed his comeback game would be against the Bulldogs.

Cousins mentions in the lead-up to his comeback game against the Bulldogs, he injured his hamstring and had to delay his comeback.

Now I know for a fact that Cousins played against the Bulldogs in round seventeen of that 2007 season. He absolutely dominated the game, but it wasn't his comeback game. I'm sure that was about his second or third game back from suspension.

Anyway, just thought I'd mention that. It's not the only mistake I have come across, but the other are quite minor and have no relevance on the important stuff.

Did anyone else also notice that mistake?

Near the beginning of the book (I read it very quickly) he seems to have forgotten that Geelong won grand final in '63 and played in the '67 GF

I understand his father played for them and, therefore he supported them as a kid, but what relevance does this have?

Should he have mentioned Geelong won the first ever flag in a 12 team competition too? Should he have mentioned they won the '51 and '52 flags, finished on top in '54, then went out in straight sets?

I don't understand what you're getting at.

It has taken me a while to get through it, but I have smashed my way through about 100 pages over the past couple of days after having the book for almost a month. Very good book so far. I love how he has a ghost writer, so everything in the book is as if he is writing it.

I'm currently up to the chapter about his comeback and I have come across a mistake (from what I can gather).

He mentions how he had been 100 days sober and went to the Club to speak to Woosher and his teammates and, after several conversations with Woosher, they had agreed his comeback game would be against the Bulldogs.

Cousins mentions in the lead-up to his comeback game against the Bulldogs, he injured his hamstring and had to delay his comeback.

Now I know for a fact that Cousins played against the Bulldogs in round seventeen of that 2007 season. He absolutely dominated the game, but it wasn't his comeback game. I'm sure that was about his second or third game back from suspension.

Anyway, just thought I'd mention that. It's not the only mistake I have come across, but the other are quite minor and have no relevance on the important stuff.

Did anyone else also notice that mistake?

Good call, yes it seems to be a mistake. Cousins comeback was rd 16 (against the swans of course).

My recollection is he took a

How is Ben Cousins' book?