How is Jack Cahill going at the magpies.

Benno From Berwick

Western Bulldogs - Ryan Hargrave 2007 Player Sponsor Western Bulldogs - Ryan Hargrave 2006 Player Sponsor
Jul 27, 2005
Obvious.
Panthers-CV
Who guys are one team effectively....so I thought this would be the best place to ask!

Benno From Berwick said:
Who guys are one team effectively....so I thought this would be the best place to ask!

Not sure why you'd ask but anyways........

Jack's got a long way to go before he has undone all the stuff ups of Matty Knights. We are on the right track though. This year our reserves and juniors have improved heaps (all are in the top few on the ladder) and our league side is competitive, if a little inconsistent. You can see the "jack" style of play and his 3/4 time addresses bring back fond memories. "don't stuff around with handball, just kick the thing"!

Having Jack return, has meant a return of some good players and an influx of new ones. Now it's time to see the improvement on the scoreboard.

Jack is a bit past it though, a different style of footy is played these days.
What do you mean he has a long way to go? I thought he was only going to be there this year, before handing over the top job to Tim Chinever... Port will go back to the Matty Knights days if thats the case.

The Magpies website has been average for years. Much better this year than the last couple but still a fair way to go.

Has anyone heard anything recently about our AFL website which is a disgrace. A while back PPWA said that John James had told her that a new one was in the pipeline.

I don't know why some people are blaming Matthew Knights for everything gone wrong with the Maggies?! Even before he became coach last year we were pretty pathetic!
I can certainly see an improvement in them this year mentally and physically. They have more endevour and promise, although they are still can be darn inconsistant! How come we can beat the Eagles but we can't beat Norwood or North for that matter? :confused: It bloody annoys me :mad:

I thoguht the new Power website was up already. Different fonts, slightly different layout etc. Wouldnt call it a new site, more like an upgrade

Macca19 said:
I thoguht the new Power website was up already. Different fonts, slightly different layout etc. Wouldnt call it a new site, more like an upgrade
Hmm this must have been done in the last few weeks. As you say it's just a change of fonts and layout. The content is the real issue and it's very disappointing to see no real improvement there.

Jack's done a top job. The Maggies have still been inconsistent but when they've looked good this season it's been a lot better than the previous 3 or 4 years. Looking at Norwood and South's draws it would take a monumental stuff up by Port and a few miracles by those 2 sides for Port to miss the finals.

I dont think youll find much money changing hands Jack. It was only new members that had the offer and I dont think many will ask for tehir money back.

Weve been inconsistent this year...pretty much gone WLWL the whole year which is dissapointing. Weve beaten the top sides a few times this year in some ripper games. The win against North earlier this year was outstanding, the 5 goal comeback from 3/4 time against South was great and the thrashing of the Eagles showed how good we can play. Unfortunately all those games were followed up with poor losses.

Jack has us played tougher, harder, better football this year tho and if we can sneak into the finals then I reckon we might cause a few headaches.

Matty Knights pretty much drove a few seasoned players out of the club. Thankfully they have since returned, and we've snared the likes of Jeremy Clayton, amongst others. We still sometimes return to "handball happy" football, the trademark of Knight's coaching, and it costs us dearly.

Knights actual gameday tactics were horrid, not to mention player positioning. Almost opposite to the Power, quite a few times we ended up playing a 5 or 6 small man forward line. Then there was actual selection. Omitting 4-6 players every week isnt a good way to create stability in the playing group.

I remember that port adelaide said they were refunding members tickets if they didnt make the finals. It should be very interesting should they miss out, which is entirely possible atm too.

After today's result, this shouldn't be a concern.

Pretty good run home against some out of sorts teams.

Only Norwood is a bit iffy.

How is Jack Cahill going at the magpies.