How many weeks will Port be stuck on five wins???

I would say that 95% of Port supporters would admit after the last 5 weeks that we aren't as good as our 5-2 record in round 7 suggested...so if that is your primary motivation for hating Port Adelaide more than Carlton, Essendon and Richmond combined then I think it's a bit thin.
It's hard to say what 95% of port supporters would say, they seem to be missing a lot lately.
And no-one at Port Adelaide is claiming Collingwood's heritage....trust me, we prefer our own! Without getting into another "Port's identity" debate with you the club has its own heritage that it's proud to recognise from time to time, which has absolutely nothing to do with Collingwood besides the fact that it's coincidently also black, white and magpie.
Our colours and mascot are a part of our heritage. Always have been. Why should we just accept another club claiming these as part of their heritage, and demanding the right to wear our colours. Port abandoned their heritage when they join the AFL, but not before demanding that we be forced to abandon ours.

What rock have you been living under for the last 20 years?
The real world which suggests you're full of it.

I have no want to be the Magpies in the AFL. We gave up that right the moment we jumped leagues and Collingwood already had the Magpies nickname. The fact that our heritage prison bar guernsey doesn't remotely resemble the traditional Collingwood black on white continues to go missing on you. It continues to go missing on you the fact that every Port Adelaide fan is very happy with our current V design. Naturally you'll make up some bulldust like you always do about Port Adelaide and heritage.

I'm also certain I've acknowledged on repeated occasion that Port Adelaide is in a worrying form slump and I have question marks over the total improvement of the side but would prefer to make that remark at the end of the season.

I doubt any of the above remarks will be good enough for you given your delusion and obsession with Port Adelaide.

It's hard to say what 95% of port supporters would say, they seem to be missing a lot lately.

Our colours and mascot are a part of our heritage. Always have been. Why should we just accept another club claiming these as part of their heritage, and demanding the right to wear our colours. Port abandoned their heritage when they join the AFL, but not before demanding that we be forced to abandon ours.

We only claim these as part of our heritage because they're quite simply are apart of our heritage. It's not Port Adelaide stealing Collingwood's heritage, we just happen to have a similar heritage in terms of colours/jumper/mascot.

I don't think Port Adelaide ever expected Collingwood to abondon their colours and jumper for us (I certainly never did) but I think the majority of Port supporters would've liked both magpie teams to co-exist in the AFL. It happens all over the world so there is no reason why it couldn't happen here. Just look at the jumpers of Juventus, Udinese and Sienna in the Serie A. Last season all three wore almost identical black and white stripes, and used clash tops for away games. These teams are proof that both the Collingwood and Port Adelaide Magpies could've co-existed in the AFL.

The two jumpers could've still been very distintive in their own right aswell. Just look at the jumpers below. The one on the top is Port Adelaide's "1914 Invincibles" jumper (a personal favourite), which is mainly black with thin white stripes and a black yoke. The one on the bottom is Collingwood's jumper from 1997 when we entered the AFL, which conversely is mainly white with thicker black stripes. I'm sure these two jumpers could've easily co-existed.

w1uwzn.gif

But that's not how things panned out. So we move on and forge ahead with our new nickname, a bit of teal and a double V jumper. But this new guise doesn't erase our heritage, and on special occasions we should have the right the recognise the great successes that got us into the AFL in the first place.

Nonsense and rubbish. Never seen a Port Adelaide person claim Collingwood's heritage. What a laughable suggestion from a obsessed sad act.

Crap you have been trying to wear Eddies black and white jumper right from the start

I would say that 95% of Port supporters would admit after the last 5 weeks that we aren't as good as our 5-2 record in round 7 suggested...so if that is your primary motivation for hating Port Adelaide more than Carlton, Essendon and Richmond combined then I think it's a bit thin.

What makes it so hard for you to guys to get your head around the fact us Crows ain't the only one who dislike you

Crap you have been trying to wear Eddies black and white jumper right from the start

What makes it so hard for you to guys to get your head around the fact us Crows ain't the only one who dislike you

toucan_sam.jpg

Adelaide is in direct infringement with Kelloggs "Toucan Sam" Froot Loops product logo which was spawned in the 1970s. Perhaps Froot Loop lovers around the world should unite in a class action (or at the very least wage their own private Bay 13 war) against the Adelaide Crows for having a bird as their logo and Toucan Sam colours as their team colours.

PK, I'll ask you again (from memory you've avoided the question twice) .. but when you bag the club for the top 4 expectations, where did you think we would finish in 2010 at the end of the 2009 season, and did you think we could challenge for the top 4?

soz - I haven't deliberately avoided the question - must've missed it at the time. Before any games were played I thought you would likely be in the 8 again -as per recent years. I doubted you would challenge for top 4 because you'd kept all your old players - I believed that at least a couple of them would go backwards (especially Burton). Plus Otten being out for the year was always going to hurt you. Having your coach and players talk yourselves up also spelt warning signs for me - it was a dangerous approach imo. Once you started playing pre-season games and your form was shit I thought all those predictions were coming home to roost - you'd all got ahead of yourselves and believed your own press and it would be an 'interesting year' as a result (I admit I always thought you'd make the 8 - but by the time the season started I was certain you wouldn't be top 4).

By that criteria Port supporters should not have been in the Bay for most of the last three seasons. Also did you ring 5AA this arvo. Some bogan sounding woman who claims to know about marketing came up with the same excuses as you do here, for why Ports crowds are dropping off. She even said she has confidence in what the club are planning for the future.

I don't listen to 5AA (only occasionally listen to gameday stuff), let alone ring them up or email them. FYI -I 'm not 'bogan sounding' either :)

toucan_sam.jpg

Adelaide is in direct infringement with Kelloggs "Toucan Sam" Froot Loops product logo which was spawned in the 1970s. Perhaps Froot Loop lovers around the world should unite in a class action (or at the very least wage their own private Bay 13 war) against the Adelaide Crows for having a bird as their logo and Toucan Sam colours as their team colours.

What the he'll does a Russell eaglebeak Ebert look a like got to do with us

Let's get back on topic shall we. How many week will port be stuck on 5 wins? It's been 5 glorious weeks already, so the real question on the tips of everyone lips is, where will port's next win come from this year? Lets go to the fixture:

Round 13 - North (A)
Unlikely. North have there tails up at the moment, and will be keen to continue on with the form from last week. 6 weeks.

Round 14 - Freo (A)
Not a chance. Freo have dropped off a little recently, but will easily be a match for port. 7 weeks.

Round 15 - Collingwood (H)
No way in hell, we'll smack them silly. 8 weeks

Round 16 - Bulldogs (A)
With their win agaist the lions it's plain to see the dog will be far too good for port. 9 weeks

Round 17 - Adelaide (H)
Possibly. But the crows form over the last weeks makes this one harder to pick than a broken nose. I'm going to give the crows the benefit of the doubt here, for 3 reasons. 1, their recent form, 2, port will be returning from Darwin, and 3, port are shit. 10 weeks

Round 18 - St Kilda (H)
Not a chance. The stains won't even need to use their pathetic flooding to shut down port's forwardline, it'll shut down all by itself. 11 weeks

Round 19 - Hawthorn (A)
Like Adelaide, Hawthorn have improved quite a bit over the last few weeks. I can't see port beating them. 12 weeks

Round 20 - West Coast (H)
Possible, but if they get this far without winning another match, then their confidnece will be shot, and the WCE will be giving it everything, knowing they're a good chance against the port rabble. WCE in a close one. 13 weeks.

Round 21 - Melbourne (H)
Like Hawthorn and Adelaide, Melbourne have improved a lot this year as well. I'm sure they'll be able to account for port again. 14 weeks.

Round 22 - Richmond (A)
This one's difficult to pick, and will remain so until closer to the match, when accurate weather reports will be available. If it rains, then richmond will shit it in. 15 weeks.

Looks like the 2010/11 pre-season is going to be a long one for port players.

Very good analysis Amber, cant see D disagreeing with this one. One thing you failed to mention about the Crows game is the added motivation with Choco's words ringing in their ears "Do you want to follow a team on the way up or a team on the way down?"

All bias aside, I seriously cant see them winning the next 6 games :eek: Scary thought for Port fans that they could lose 11 in a row. Their best chances come from Hawthorn onwards, should get the job done against WCE.

Am up to $312 on my $10 Challenge...

Was not going to have any bets that involved Port for the year, but seriously reckon I could go nearly all the way if I back who they're playing against.

That's what I mean, if they keep losing, surely the odds will go way down.

Yeah, but could always throw in a margin.
Probably wouldn't do this anyway ...have done OK with the Geelong 25+ .
Port would win against Geelong or someone just to shit me off. Couldn't STAND that.

Which is why I'll probably go Bulldogs this weekend.

Well thats another loss to Port, OP is Nostradamus...

Not really, only had to watch their wins (none of them convincing, see Brogan is getting tired and Tredders out.

They are there two most important players. One is being flogged by the coach the other is out.

The best part is the clean out of the bay of all the bandwagoners. Much like their attendances at FP.

How many weeks will Port be stuck on five wins???