• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Hume FL

Go easy Kangas. Sounds like abit of old fashioned rivalry has influenced your thinking. Same thing could quite easily happen to your demons (almost did). No matter how bitter rivarly becomes we need to put this aside as country footy is struggling in general and we dont need any more teams dissappearing. The hume league may have an abundance of clubs at the moment but you never know when the buffoons from NSW/ACT footy will stick their noses in and tell clubs where and when they will play. So I suggest we all put aside any grievances or past history and support eash other for the better of footy in general. If clubs fold up its only gunna hurt everyone else.

some good points there phantom but no team could deserve it more than henty if it is to happen

Pretty good day for Mul and Rennie today. Both clubs would have sold some beers and pies so a bit of $ into the coffers. Mul got up by about 20 goals to 5. The ball went from end to end all day but Mul had the forwards to cash in. Rennie had some good ones missing in the 2 carrot tops (Rhodes boys), Josh Lewis, Jack Florence and Tim Watson. 4 Tassie boys turn up this week as well so plenty of good signs for Rennie. Returning Ruckman Pies Neely looked in good nick. I don't know how close to full strength Mul were but if that was their best they'll be in strife in the Murray League this year. Rennie may be taking on Berrigan next week in a praccy match.

Roughy back eh. Better have a look. Can't keep a good idiot down.
Good on yah doobie!

some good points there phantom but no team could deserve it more than henty if it is to happen
Why is that Kanga? The only point you have provided is that there new coach is full of crap because he tried to put a positive spin on things a while back.. Not really a good enough reason to fold a club that has been around for over 100 years!!

i am saying that it is their own fault.. if it was a good club to be around why did everyone leave?

Maybe its a lack of employment in the town itself that makes there juniors go elsewhere for work and consequently footy. Maybe its there location, halfway between both Albury and Wagga, so hardere to recruit with travel concerns. Maybe the success of Culcairn and the fact a few Henty locals play for cul (not sure of reasons there) might of cost sponsorship dollars to help with recruiting.
Then again it could be there committee or previous coach, or issues that are the clubs fault.
All im saying is not to hope in any way that another club looks like folding. It would be a terrible thing for the community out there, and a real shame to see years of tradition washed away.
Your attitude and response are pretty ordinary kanga, I have nothing to do with Henty, just a supporter of country footy.

I don't care how good or bad a club is, or how much you like or hate them, losing any club in country footy is bad for football and bad for the town/district they come from.
There are absolutely no exceptions to this rule.
It's clubs sadly going under due to lack of players (including clubs I didn't like) that cost the CDFL its life. No one can say that is good for football or they were happy to see it happen and actually care about the greatest game of all.

Maybe its a lack of employment in the town itself that makes there juniors go elsewhere for work and consequently footy. Maybe its there location, halfway between both Albury and Wagga, so hardere to recruit with travel concerns. Maybe the success of Culcairn and the fact a few Henty locals play for cul (not sure of reasons there) might of cost sponsorship dollars to help with recruiting.
Then again it could be there committee or previous coach, or issues that are the clubs fault.
All im saying is not to hope in any way that another club looks like folding. It would be a terrible thing for the community out there, and a real shame to see years of tradition washed away.
Your attitude and response are pretty ordinary kanga, I have nothing to do with Henty, just a supporter of country footy.

I,m pretty sure the reason that a few Henty locals play for Cul is because of the fact that Henty did'nt want any of them last year (ouch)!

I don't care how good or bad a club is, or how much you like or hate them, losing any club in country footy is bad for football and bad for the town/district they come from.
There are absolutely no exceptions to this rule.
It's clubs sadly going under due to lack of players (including clubs I didn't like) that cost the CDFL its life. No one can say that is good for football or they were happy to see it happen and actually care about the greatest game of all.

Unfortunately lads, teams are going to disappear in the next few years. Due to lack of people in the towns (players/committeepersons and volunteers) it is an unfortunate fact that not every little town will be able to have their own footy club anymore. Clubs will go, and everyone should be taking positive steps now to ensure that it is not their club that goes.

Not sure of his exact name but i think his surname is Scott -played for Jindera from Swan Hill way last year with a guard on his arm-pretty handy player.Anyway has done his knee and won't play until midway through the season at best.

Unfortunately lads, teams are going to disappear in the next few years. Due to lack of people in the towns (players/committeepersons and volunteers) it is an unfortunate fact that not every little town will be able to have their own footy club anymore. Clubs will go, and everyone should be taking positive steps now to ensure that it is not their club that goes.

Unfortunately mate, you're spot on.

Goricho and Juddy have made good points in response to the above.

Damo, I'll also respect some of your points mentioned above. But I'm going to repeat my comments from last year with regards to the conduct of the Billabong Crows Club. While I don't know everything let me tell you that I do know a bit about how the crows conducted themselves in negotiations with the Coreen and Picola Leagues. I was present at the Coreen League GF in 2006 with the Coreen League Clubs when a number of Picola League Clubs came to discuss a merger type deal with some Picola and the remaining Coreen Clubs. The crows (like the remaining Coreen Clubs) indicated that they supported that merging, and would stick solid. Early 2007 the crows spruiked the same line. The next thing we hear mid year is that the crows have changed their mind and want to go to the Hume League. No consultation with your fellow Coreen Clubs, just change tack and go back on your word. Subsequently, the Picola Clubs get all nervous (probably cause they fear the rest of us may be just as pi55weak) and can the entire deal. The possibility of forming a new league with a number of clubs geographically and financially close is stuffed just like that.

This is why the remaining Coreen Clubs think the crows are a mob of
pr!cks. Crows people can come up with all sorts of other reasons but fact is fact Damo. And don't go blaming the Coreen League hierachy for the plight of the comp. They were/are terrific football people with the Coreen League at heart. What stuffed them was clubs like the crows. Spineless
pr!cks. That is a fact. Apart from that I know stuff all else, and good luck to the crows this year.;)

basically mate the crows got were the wanted to go in the end and they dont dont give a rats arse what you or any of the other coreen leauge clubs think of them.... so in the end the crows looked and thought that survival and the future of oaklands/urana was in the hume leauge.... if they had of went the picola leauge they prob wouldnt have a coach or the 10 players that he has brang to the club in the last 2 years right now..... so to there treat the have done very well..... really if you had to chose between going to the hume league pissing a few old coreen teams in the process but being succesfull or going to the picola leauge and finishing near the bottom for the next 10 years then folding what would you do???.... i know what id chose....

but in saying i hope and the corren league based teams go well..... Good Luck!!!!

basically mate the crows got were the wanted to go in the end and they dont dont give a rats arse what you or any of the other coreen leauge clubs think of them.... so in the end the crows looked and thought that survival and the future of oaklands/urana was in the hume leauge.... if they had of went the picola leauge they prob wouldnt have a coach or the 10 players that he has brang to the club in the last 2 years right now..... so to there treat the have done very well..... really if you had to chose between going to the hume league pissing a few old coreen teams in the process but being succesfull or going to the picola leauge and finishing near the bottom for the next 10 years then folding what would you do???.... i know what id chose....

but in saying i hope and the corren league based teams go well..... Good Luck!!!!

You've made a good point footy mad - the crows made a decision which they felt was in their best interests. But along the way they (as a club) didn't do things out in the open with the other clubs. You can't put a price on integrity or your reputation, and by doing what was best for them I think you'd have to concede that they "backdoored" their coreen neighbours and some picola clubs. I can see why they did it but it doesn't excuse their actions, nor the fact that they lacked the balls to be up front about it from the outset. That was the crows choice to do what they felt was best but they now have to live with their actions or moreso, the way they went about it. Thats is why I dislike them, and why so many old coreen league people are of the same opinion.

After going over the draw over the weekend, this is how the season will unfold in my opinion,
Jindera 17 wins
Culcain 17 wins
Osborne 16 wins
Crows 13 wins
Howlong 12 wins
CDHBU 11 wins
Lockhart 11 wins
Holbrook 10 wins
Walla 6 wins
Coly 5 wins
Rand/Walbundrie 5 wins
Rennie 4 wins
Henty 3 wins
Magpies 3 wins
BB Saints 1 win

Survival hey? A coach that brings 10 to the club? How long can you keep doing that for?

watched chiltern play jindera tonight, chiltern dominated first quarter with the help of a nice breeze but after quarter time all one sided. jindera easy by 13 goals.

How has mark hilton been looking in jinderas practice games so far??

Bomber is moving very well. Probably hasnt hit 100% fitness yet either. Should be the premier key foward in the comp this season. If the ball comes in well from Jindera's midfield, which it should, their shouldnt be anything in the way of Bomber and 100 goals this season. Add on to that proabably 40 goals from Castles and 30 each from Piltz and Garland the doggies are gunna dish out a few hiding's this season.

heard 2nite mark jones from thurgoona has signed at rand/walb.also got told daniel markham blitzed in the intra club tues nite at rand.:thumbsu:

Look i can understand that everyone is excited to get back into footy but when people start getting excited about inta club games fair dinkum give me a break half the good ones dont give a shit about running there ass just in case one of the reserve bench players thinks he is mal michael and tries cleaning up one of the stars of the side thats why 99% of the time the new players always play well. As for Dan good on him his a good cricketer stick to that.