Hume League 2014

The withdrawl of a 40k sponsor is hardly improving off field by 100%.

If it means all your players like the new coaching panel and their is now a good enviroment back around the club for longevity I reckon thats cheap. Otherwise they would be looking for players to field 2 sides this year and would be last for the next 3 years, that I can assure you. In saying that Ken was involved in the recruitment of some of these players there now, so well done to him for that, but his departure was fantastic news for the Raiders, they were very, very lucky he got real busy at work!!;)

Anyway, this discussion is probably in the wrong thread. I would ask about how the players felt when he left Jindera but thats old news too, as you blokes are shaping up nicely for this year which is the main thing.

If it means all your players like the new coaching panel and their is now a good enviroment back around the club for longevity I reckon thats cheap. Otherwise they would be looking for players to field 2 sides this year and would be last for the next 3 years, that I can assure you. In saying that Ken was involved in the recruitment of some of these players there now, so well done to him for that, but his departure was fantastic news for the Raiders, they were very, very lucky he got real busy at work!!;)

Quote of the year. Well said.

isn't he in his late 30's. Will still find the footy but not sure of how big of an impact he will have. Have heard Walla have lost their 4 best players from last year (2x Mannaghs, Sims and Mitso) Hope they can offset those losses or could be a long year. A lot of clubs still be quiet and coy. Thankfully the clearances open next week and we will start to get a clearer picture of where each club is at.

Have heard nothing from Henty, bugger all except losses from Osborne, massive in's from R/W CDHBU will be stronger again. Crows have lost a few. Lockhart have some big gains. cul have attracted a few back to the club, hearing a lot of big outs from Holbrook but other then power and maybe Lamb not many in's. BB look to be in the same position added Brauer. Howlong have gained Price dicketts and some other fella but have had significant losses that haven't ben reported. Everyone has heard of the Magpies recruiting spree. I think I've covered everyone.
Feel free to add any I've missed

There are still some ways of getting an advantage. Was it Daniel Bradshaw at Howlong that was listed as a co coach so never cost them any points.

We all know Ken coaching in the O & M was a joke. Surprised he lasted a year and even more surprised he got the job in the first place. Raiders have improved off ground 100% with his departure and the replacements in the coaching panel.
Kevin K. have you done any coaching yourself ? if not give it ago don't be shy we won't think your a joke

Yes mate, I have been there done that. Not a great coach (as didn't win a flag) but solid results over 4 years and when I finished everyone still liked me which was nice - it pays very well too!!;) I copped my fair share of criticism while in the hot seat which was fair game, had Dad's turn up to work to discuss their 25 year old son and why he was dropped to the seconds and so on, the old blokes at the pub afterward always had plenty to say about my and the teams performance, but it was all good fun and alot more time consuming than what people think. Again, that doesn't change that I was massively surprised Ken got the job at Raiders, l admire him for having a crack but him getting the job surprised me and the end result, well it did not surprise me at all and I think the Raiders are slightly relieved. Nothing against the man at all as I couldn't imagine the time required to coach in the O & M in 2014. Or the Hume League for that matter considering we are that forum and some of the quality running around in this league now.

Ken would have no problems coaching in the Hume League. He is an exceptional coach and a really good bloke. Very much from the old school that he calls it the way he sees it doesnt sugar coat it. That's why you would find a lot of the older guys he coaches get along well. The Raiders situation reeks of a mates looking after mates.
But onto this year. Apparently Crows have signed a few from Melbourne. As well as Smallwood farmally of Lockhart. Magpies have landed Brad Horn

Ken would have no problems coaching in the Hume League. He is an exceptional coach and a really good bloke. Very much from the old school that he calls it the way he sees it doesnt sugar coat it. That's why you would find a lot of the older guys he coaches get along well. The Raiders situation reeks of a mates looking after mates.
But onto this year. Apparently Crows have signed a few from Melbourne. As well as Smallwood farmally of Lockhart. Magpies have landed Brad Horn
Not surprised that u would defend the bloke NOP as u were that far up the blokes arse u could tell everyone what he had for breakfast. Both jindera and raiders would consider themselves in better places now he has departed. In admitting it reeks of mates looking after mates it would seem u perhaps know that he was asked to leave?

Why wouldn't I defend him. He holds a place in the history of our club.f

Well said NOP premiership coaches like Ken Stevenson and Peter Tossol deserve respect, old school in their ways but got results. Todays new age footballers are much harder work. Speaking of respect todays story in the Border that Howlong only had two significant losses in personal is interesting. Thought that might not be the whole truth. Research may be required Jake.

Hume League 2014