Hurley looks to admit guilty, but not plead guilty...

I stand corrected. Did he resist arrest? Whacking the cabbie, fare evasion (which is a form of theft), D&D. What are the other 2?

Essentially 3 assault type charges. Recklessly Cause Injury, Unlawful assault and Assault by kicking.

Also Public drunkenness and Failure to pay for a taxi.

No resist arrest. He cooperated from all reports.

Very possibly.

80% of Australians under 35, however, don't cop 5 assault charges after bashing a cabbie and kicking him in the groin.

He was annihilated and while so intoxicated went bananas - that's a serious problem and the club should ensure he is counselled on his drinking.

Some blokes just can't handle the grog - best for them to leave it alone.

Thanks for the laugh.

I have been reading your posts from yesterday and today and particularly love how much this scenario has irked you.

Here you are trying to be all objective and some sort of point of law expert, but really you are just your typical biased bigfooty member who gets all worked up about a non-football related incident that occured 5 months ago.

I have no problem with people on here getting passionate and biased, that is part of the game, but please drop the whole high and mighty legal expert guise, you are coming across as a complete fool.

Very possibly.

80% of Australians under 35, however, don't cop 5 assault charges after bashing a cabbie and kicking him in the groin.

He was annihilated and while so intoxicated went bananas - that's a serious problem and the club should ensure he is counselled on his drinking.

Finally we are getting somewhere Dennis. The club should council him on drinking. So why the call for extended suspensions from games. What evidence do you have that doing this helps the person in any way?

Thanks for the laugh.

I have been reading your posts from yesterday and today and particularly love how much this scenario has irked you.

Here you are trying to be all objective and some sort of point of law expert, but really you are just your typical biased bigfooty member who gets all worked up about a non-football related incident that occured 5 months ago.

I have no problem with people on here getting passionate and biased, that is part of the game, but please drop the whole high and mighty legal expert guise, you are coming across as a complete fool.

Be careful mate, UTG is a bigshot lawyer.

please drop the whole high and mighty legal expert guise

Why should I pretend to be something that I am not? Should I say I'm a bloody plumber, sparkie or pool cleaner or some such? I only noted my standing in the legal profession, and hence my expertise, when others were posting utter tripe and seeking to hold themselves out as authoritative.

If I was saying that water flows uphill, I would expect a plumber to point out that I was misguided, and note his qualifications for so commenting.

Sorry if this is a little confusing.

Why should I pretend to be something that I am not? Should I say I'm a bloody plumber, sparkie or pool cleaner or some such? I only noted my standing in the legal profession, and hence my expertise, when others were posting utter tripe and seeking to hold themselves out as authoritative.

If I was saying that water flows uphill, I would expect a plumber to point out that I was misguided, and note his qualifications for so commenting.

Doing legal studies in year 11 does not make you a lawyer.

As for expertise in this matter. Why have you concentrated all your effort on the suspension of hurley from football games, rather than the punishment you think should be administered through the legal system if that is your so called area of expertise?

Are you also an expert in the psychology of how young footballers react to being suspended from the club? Dont forget to note your qualifications in this area too.

Doing legal studies in year 11 does not make you a lawyer.

As for expertise in this matter. Why have you concentrated all your effort on the suspension of hurley from football games, rather than the punishment you think should be administered through the legal system if that is your so called area of expertise?

Are you also an expert in the psychology of how young footballers react to being suspended from the club? Dont forget to note your qualifications in this area too.

Read back. :rolleyes:

I have been vociferous in my suggestions that Hurley also perform many (I suggested 400) hours of community service, much of which should be spent with the Macready-Bryan Foundation, which aims to raise awareness about the heinous damage to life that can be caused by drunken thugs spoiling for a blue.

I have read many posts suggesting he is very self-assured and thinks his proverbial doesn't smell. Removing him from the stage might well remind him he is not above the club, or the law.

Never even did legal studies at high school. LLB(Hons) gave me some considerable insight, however.

This is not a p1ssing contest - I'm merely noting my expertise and asking you to consider if I might just know a tad more about these things than you. If you choose not to accept my considered thoughts, then that is your prerogative.

Must fly soon - off to Tassie to watch the boys and play Barnbougle. I'll be at the Auldington if you want to drop by

Must fly soon - off to Tassie to watch the boys and play Barnbougle.

this makes me hate you more than anything you've said in this thread :cool:

Barnbougle is ****ing awesome. Have you played there before? I went for a weekend, played through twice on the Saturday and once on the Sunday. 54 holes of the best, and none of them play the same twice, depending on the wind.

Those holes alongside the beach are ****ing nuts!

Oh, sorry, off topic. Hurley is an angel and Richmond suck

this makes me hate you more than anything you've said in this thread :cool:

Barnbougle is ****ing awesome. Have you played there before? I went for a weekend, played through twice on the Saturday and once on the Sunday. 54 holes of the best, and none of them play the same twice, depending on the wind.

Those holes alongside the beach are ****ing nuts!

Oh, sorry, off topic. Hurley is an angel and Richmond suck

Cheers - nup, never played down there though often planned it.

I doubt I'll be backing up Sunday though - few sherbets are on the agenda. Rated #4 by Gold Digest this week I see, which is pretty good, though that ranking is inflated as many on the mainland have been thrashed by drought - look at RM, though they seem to have their water issues sorted now and it should be back at the top soon.

Peace out and all the best tonight. Hope Houli goes OK - rate him:thumbsu:

THIS PENALTY IS SUPPOSEDLY FOR HIS DRINKING AND BEING IN A FIGHT. It is an issue OUTSIDE of that relating to the actual assault charges and PISS WEAK compared to similar punishments given by other clubs, making the EFC look like an ABSOLUTE JOKE (as does Richmond for doing nothing over Taylor).
Who gives a ferk what it "looks like"? As a previous posters said: it's not Essendon or Richmond's job to appease you and your ilk. Richmond will do what they think is right for Richmond.

I don't have an issue with you stating that you are a lawyer, but to pretend that your vehemence in this issue is due to its legal make-up, rather than the fact you are just a passionate opposition supporter, who would like to see an Essendon player heavily penalised, is what is bugging me.

If you were truly looking at it from an objective legal point of view, you could acknowledge that this is at the lower end of the assault scale and given age and first offence, a slap on the wrist, was always the likely legal result.

The clubs sanction could have been more severe in some opinions, but as the club has been very strict on indescretions over the past few years, I would like to believe they have taken into account various factors in determining this sanction fair.

Read back. :rolleyes:

I have been vociferous in my suggestions that Hurley also perform many (I suggested 400) hours of community service, much of which should be spent with the Macready-Bryan Foundation, which aims to raise awareness about the heinous damage to life that can be caused by drunken thugs spoiling for a blue.

I have read many posts suggesting he is very self-assured and thinks his proverbial doesn't smell. Removing him from the stage might well remind him he is not above the club, or the law.

Never even did legal studies at high school. LLB(Hons) gave me some considerable insight, however.

This is not a p1ssing contest - I'm merely noting my expertise and asking you to consider if I might just know a tad more about these things than you. If you choose not to accept my considered thoughts, then that is your prerogative.

Must fly soon - off to Tassie to watch the boys and play Barnbougle. I'll be at the Auldington if you want to drop by

Cool story Hansel.

Cheers - nup, never played down there though often planned it.

I doubt I'll be backing up Sunday though - few sherbets are on the agenda. Rated #4 by Gold Digest this week I see, which is pretty good, though that ranking is inflated as many on the mainland have been thrashed by drought - look at RM, though they seem to have their water issues sorted now and it should be back at the top soon.

Peace out and all the best tonight. Hope Houli goes OK - rate him:thumbsu:

it's unbelievable. You'll have a ball. The first two holes you'll be a bit wtf? Why is this special? Then you'll walk to the third tee and....omfg! :eek:

Enjoy! :thumbsu:

Because apparently he can't remember exactly what happened.

Sounds like a drinking problem to me. Hopefully he gets help

I don't think 80% of Australians under 35 are getting drunk, blacking out and assaulting people ....................

Very possibly.

It's true that most Aussies don't go bananas after a few grogs, but what I was trying to say was that he would be on his own in forgetting about incidents when intoxicated.

It's not an excuse, but I have a bit of theory that the AFL players don't handle their grog as well as a majority of society because they go without grog for so much of the year. Then the season ends and they go "bananas".

I think you'll find most players drink throughout the season as normal.

It's true that most Aussies don't go bananas after a few grogs, but what I was trying to say was that he would be on his own in forgetting about incidents when intoxicated.

I totally agree with that theory.

Moreover on the few occassions that they do get out to drink , because they are tough fit Aussie men they feel (and is assumed by others ) that they will be able to keep pace with the average punter like you and me who have been drinking solidly week in week out for years. It is unrealistic.

The only real surprise to me is there aren't more of these type of incidents of players going off the rails after a big bender.

Who gives a ferk what it "looks like"? As a previous posters said: it's not Essendon or Richmond's job to appease you and your ilk. Richmond will do what they think is right for Richmond.

That is oh so true, yet when the punishment was handed down to Houlihan, Walker & Betts there were plenty of Essendon & Richmond supporters (among others) who were more than happy to pass judgement on the Carlton Football Club's handling of the matter (in case you missed the thread in question, I am posting the link for you)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=664759.

So you would agree that it is not Carlton's job to appease Essendon & Richmond supporters & their ilk?

Looks likely that he will be out for the first two weeks of the season proper as well.

Is suspended for all pre season matches plus first two rounds. I think thats the harshest a club has dealt with any player this off season. Fully deserved in my opinion too.

Not only does Essendon have a better list than Carlton that comprehensively belts them every time we play them but we also now do punishments better than them. :D

Some posters on this thread must have egg on their faces now.

Hurley looks to admit guilty, but not plead guilty...