i no longer respect this club

What happens if we don't make finals next season? Where will the money come from? Will you be rueing the missed 500k?

Thanks to those that have attempted to discuss this on merit - this is no troll, I'm bitterley pissed off. I dont trust management plain and simple - i think they've done this bc they know they've backed themselves into a corner with the public 3 finals seris by 2014 goal. To achieve it we need to start making finals by next season. A failure to deliver will have the media swarming over those comments and our failure to achieve, it will be publicly played all over the media and the plebs will be baying for blood. I believe the club knows this, is feeling the pressure and subsequently this is a reaction to that.

I don't understand how any supporter who wants ultimate success can accept the club turning their back on guaranteed money when we are clearly still in need of it. We're not selling our soul, its one more game of a lucrative contract, suck it up take the money and invest it back into our club so we can get better quicker

What happens if we don't make finals next season? Where will the money come from? Will you be rueing the missed 500k?

Thanks to those that have attempted to discuss this on merit - this is no troll, I'm bitterley pissed off. I dont trust management plain and simple - i think they've done this bc they know they've backed themselves into a corner with the public 3 finals seris by 2014 goal. To achieve it we need to start making finals by next season. A failure to deliver will have the media swarming over those comments and our failure to achieve, it will be publicly played all over the media and the plebs will be baying for blood. I believe the club knows this, is feeling the pressure and subsequently this is a reaction to that.

I don't understand how any supporter who wants ultimate success can accept the club turning their back on guaranteed money when we are clearly still in need of it. We're not selling our soul, its one more game of a lucrative contract, suck it up take the money and invest it back into our club so we can get better quicker

Who cares about the media.
They will put the boot in either way.

Whinged about us selling games this year.Next year they will whinge because we lost 500k.

Media-Richmond trolls.

Benny made a bold move and we did very well getting close to 8mill from the AFL so the 500k wasn't warranted anymore.

Once we go to India and get 1 million memberships,this point will be mute.:D

Chorus
O-ver and O-ver, we will follow you,
O-ver and O-ver, we will see you through,
We are Tigers supporters, faithful through and through, and over and over, we will follow you.

If you go to Darwin, you will see us there, Cairns or Hobart its all the same, we'll go anywhere, We'll be there to cheer you, as you travel round, you can take us anywhere, we won't let you down.

Chorus…….

If you go to Perth, we'll go once again, In Adelaide you'll find us there calling out your name, when you need supporting, you will always know, we'll be right there with you, everywhere you go

But most importantly to me – we will be supporting you when you are at the MCG in front of the Mighty Tiger Army

Not bad at all.... :thumbsu::):thumbsu: ...

I just happen to be quiet partial to this passionate tigers stalkers/supporters refrain...apologies to Sting...

Every free kick you all take...
Every run you all make...
Every bone you all break...
Every mark you all take...
Every goal you all make...
I'll be watching you...

Every other game day...
Every word you all say...
Every quarter you all play...
Every nightgame played on TV...
I'll be watching you

O can't you all see...
You all belong to me...
How my poor heart aches with every game you all partake...
Tigers and me...
I'll be watching you....

I understand where you are coming from. lI never bought into the fact that selling the game cost us finals cos we played the two worst teams in the comp and lost. If we had of played a team on our level at a sold game and lost I wouldn't have been happy but if we can't beat Port we don't deserve finals.

I was quite content with having the two games sold as the $1M was well worth it.

When I first heard we'd be bringing the game back to Melbourne cos we could afford it, I couldn't help but think that if we can get by without it, surely an extra $500,000 would be a massive bonus.

That being said, no decision in footy is taken lightly and the admin would have been crunching the numbers and only made this decision if they knew it was the right one.

They have talked all along about not deviating from the plan and the bigger picture. This decision has clearly been made with the bigger picture in mind, the club would have done all the finances and weighed up everything and come to the conclusion that this was the best decision.

I have full faith in the current admin.

TigerT, I had an alternate reaction to the FTF and selling games. The FTF was clearly sold with the intention of improving the footy dept ( and the by extension, results). I thought it ironic that on one hand the club were asking for punters to support the footy dept through funding, yet on the other hand the footy dept were being forced into sub-optimal outcomes by having to play home games in foreign climes. But just my take on the issue.

Ive sunk as much as i can afford into the FTF,i buy upgraded memberships for the family each year, like all of you I've suffered for decades watching us wander aimlessly year after year but have always stuck with my team.

But now, after a year of FTF bullshit, after digging into my hard earned again for the club, for the vision I was sold by Benny, to then have the club turn their back on an easy 500k (they are still in debt to the tune of 4mill mind you, and still have one of the smaller footy departments) that just broke my spirit.

- good luck tigers you're going to need it - if our direction setters are making these decisions then i have no faith in what they are selling - FOS, I've had enough and want no part of it

The AFL knew that we were only going to Darwin short term, where as it looks like Melbourne want to do it long term. I think the AFL have come to us, and asked us to step aside and I think we will be compensated for it with the new money coming from the AFL.

The club sold the games it did because it was a necessity, then circumstances changed, so the club decided that the Darwin game was expendable, the pros outweighed the cons, it's pretty simple.

Let's not forget what a farce the Darwin setup was this year with the lights not working, in addition to the fact football realistically shouldn't be played in the region because of the climate (admittedly we didn't show up to play, but the standard of the match was one of the worst I've ever seen).

Also, it appears the club are focused on making the most of the Cairns market, it's a better option because we won't be sharing it with another Victorian side. The venue is neutral to the suns too, they play their once a year, as opposed to Darwin being Port's second home. Playing in Cairns also means we will only play one of the Queensland sides away, it potentially eliminates an interstate trip, I seriously doubt that the Darwin trip would do that.

Overall, the club have done everything right up until this point, and this seems another terrific decision. We've walked away from $500,000 in one season, not a 3-year deal. Clearly the Darwin deal was never going to be extended, so what was the point? I'm sure the majority of Richmond fans are happy to be playing one more home game in Melbourne, and one less replacement game that in reality mostly just props up another club's bottom line.

The club sold the games it did because it was a necessity, then circumstances changed, so the club decided that the Darwin game was expendable, the pros outweighed the cons, it's pretty simple.

Let's not forget what a farce the Darwin setup was this year with the lights not working, in addition to the fact football realistically shouldn't be played in the region because of the climate (admittedly we didn't show up to play, but the standard of the match was one of the worst I've ever seen).

Also, it appears the club are focused on making the most of the Cairns market, it's a better option because we won't be sharing it with another Victorian side. The venue is neutral to the suns too, they play their once a year, as opposed to Darwin being Port's second home. Playing in Cairns also means we will only play one of the Queensland sides away, it potentially eliminates an interstate trip, I seriously doubt that the Darwin trip would do that.

Overall, the club have done everything right up until this point, and this seems another terrific decision. We've walked away from $500,000 in one season, not a 3-year deal. Clearly the Darwin deal was never going to be extended, so what was the point? I'm sure the majority of Richmond fans are happy to be playing one more home game in Melbourne, and one less replacement game that in reality mostly just props up another club's bottom line.

Are you saying that the club actually thought about this decision, worked out the pros and cons rather than just making a knee-jerk recation as though they were a BF poster? I'm gobsmacked..... professionals doing a professional job. I thought for sure we all knew better on here ;)

As you wold have seen from my posts elsewhere, I have concerns about walking away from $500k.

However, as ive also said, it's the right move as long as they have alternate income streams to replace it

When we see the annual report in a couple of months, this will explain a lot.

In the meantime, a couple of reminders for tigert, because he like many others, is misconstruing some of the clubs statements:

1) 0-3-75 IS A TARGET, NOT A PROMISE
People keep blagging on about the coach and board being duty bound to meet their 0-3-75 commitments, and they will compromise the club to do so, because it's their arse if they fail. Garbage. This target is a TARGET, something to aim for and aspire to. As someone else said here the other day, will we demand Bennys head in 2014 if we only have 2 finals campaigns, 65k members, and $1m in debt? Hardly, that would be a ripper result considering where we have come from.

2) THE FIGHTING TIGER FUND IS ABOUT SAVING THE CLUB
As the club said when the fund started, it's not about saving the club. The club is viable, and the debt levels, footy spend, and income were all at sustainable levels. What the fund is about is getting us to stop treading water, and help us to leap frog a few steps in development of club resources. Do we need the FTF? No. Do we want it? Yes.

3) THE CLUB HAVE BEGGED US FOR MONEY, AND ARE DUTY BOUND TO SEND IT THE WAY I WANT
Two errors with this, and both are being peddled by many on the forums.

Firstly, the club has always said give what you can, and what you are comfortable contributing. For some his wil be $10k, for some this this will be contributing $5, for some nothing. I know many upgraded memberships, or have stopped by gear at Kmart, and started getting it t the club nstead. The point of the contribution is to do what you can, even if it's just $1.

Giving more or less doesn't make you a better or worse supporter. We all have obligations to our families to protect them financially, and this will always come before the footy club.

Second, I've read people are pissed that they have the FTF but walk away from Darwin, go to Arizona for pre-season training, change the logo, and even one idiot who thought they were buying leather chairs and golden taps for the offices.

You have office holders responsible for managing the club, if you don't like the way they do it, or think you can do better, you have options. Firstly, don't spit the dummy and walk away from your membership. This gives you the right to vote and run for the board, and this is your mechanism for change. If you do decide to contest a position though, I ask one favor.

When you outline to members why they should vote for you, please don't say its to have a members voice on the board. Tell me what this means you will do, and how you will change things. Also don't tell me what the current guy is doing wrong, tell me what you will do right. Too many are happy to snipe the incumbents with the benefit of hindsight, but are completely unwilling to put their own balls on the line and say what they will do themselves.

Ive sunk as much as i can afford into the FTF,i buy upgraded memberships for the family each year, like all of you I've suffered for decades watching us wander aimlessly year after year but have always stuck with my team.

But now, after a year of FTF bullshit, after digging into my hard earned again for the club, for the vision I was sold by Benny, to then have the club turn their back on an easy 500k (they are still in debt to the tune of 4mill mind you, and still have one of the smaller footy departments) that just broke my spirit.

- good luck tigers you're going to need it - if our direction setters are making these decisions then i have no faith in what they are selling - FOS, I've had enough and want no part of it

you have nil respect for yourself ranting such tripe...your case is as flimsy as it is pathetic. This club has survived through resilience, clearly not a relfection on yourself.

Do people believe there are some negative affects from playing up there in the following week?. Both Melbourne and Richmond didnt perform well the next week after their game up there. In fact both teams seasons started to dip from that point on.

If we had a big game the next week and our performance was compromised because of playing up in Darwin then its a smart decision because the payout is over two games and not just one.

You need to understand the potential money to be made in Melbourne by any excitement generated by performance. Even if that performance has to be protected by avoiding a trip to Darwin.

I really hope Benny does what Maguire did in 2002. He said the the playing group that year that NO EXCUSES for this year. We have none now.

As you wold have seen from my posts elsewhere, I have concerns about walking away from $500k.

However, as ive also said, it's the right move as long as they have alternate income streams to replace it

In the meantime, a couple of reminders for tigert, because he like many others, is misconstruing some of the clubs statements:

People keep blagging on about the coach and board being duty bound to meet their 0-3-75 commitments, and they will compromise the club to do so, because it's their arse if they fail. Garbage. This target is a TARGET, something to aim for and aspire to. As someone else said here the other day, will we demand Bennys head in 2014 if we only have 2 finals campaigns, 65k members, and $1m in debt? Hardly, that would be a ripper result considering where we have come from.

As the club said when the fund started, it's not about saving the club. The club is viable, and the debt levels, footy spend, and income were all at sustainable levels. What the fund is about is getting us to stop treading water, and help us to leap frog a few steps in development of club resources. Do we need the FTF? No. Do we want it? Yes.

3) THE CLUB HAVE BEGGED US FOR MONEY, AND ARE DUTY BOUND TO SEND IT THE WAY I WANT

Firstly, the club has always said give what you can, and what you are comfortable contributing. For some his wil be $10k, for some this this will be contributing $5, for some nothing. I know many upgraded memberships, or have stopped by gear at Kmart, and started getting it t the club nstead. The point of the contribution is to do what you can, even if it's just $1.

Giving more or less doesn't make you a better or worse supporter. We all have obligations to our families to protect them financially, and this will always come before the footy club.

Second, I've read people are pissed that they have the FTF but walk away from Darwin, go to Arizona for pre-season training, change the logo, and even one idiot who thought they were buying leather chairs and golden taps for the offices.

You have office holders responsible for managing the club, if you don't like the way they do it, or think you can do better, you have options. Firstly, don't spit the dummy and walk away from your membership. This gives you the right to vote and run for the board, and this is your mechanism for change. If you do decide to contest a position though, I ask one favor.

When you outline to members why they should vote for you, please don't say its to have a members voice on the board. Tell me what this means you will do, and how you will change things. Also don't tell me what the current guy is doing wrong, tell me what you will do right. Too many are happy to snipe the incumbents with the benefit of hindsight, but are completely unwilling to put their own balls on the line and say what they will do themselves.

In my view you are officially the best poster on this forum and i hope you continue to offer such views and balance ... mixed with your irreverant humour :thumbsu:

Sorry to be a fanboy but i had to say it

Fantastic post. Well said.

for me i think killing of the debt and actually getting well into the black the most important thing this club can do in the short term.

for me selling games is okay while we are in rebuild. i suppose i differ to most in my thinking that we are in rebuild and atm or still, its more a development yr for us than being capable of making finals. to me we plan accordingly sell the game pocket the money and be in a better position to build in coming yrs.

for me it seems the only logical conclusion for not playing in darwin and taking 500k is those in charge think we are finals bound.
for me that is delusional so many factors point to it not being likely to happen and if it does it is likely not sustainable.

for me in doing this they had better have come up with other streams of income to make up for the 500k shortfall and that does not include relying on the dubious possibility of finals.
if they have failed to do this they deserve all the criticism that will come their way.

for me i believe it is important to the long term viability of the club that we actually grow support outside of victoria. if that means playing a couple of home games interstate so be it.maybe theres a few things we could do differently in doing this.

i for one do lament that we did not push hard for a similar situation in hobart to what hawthorn has in launceston the potential in that move was enormous.

we would have played hwthorn twice a yr in local derbies. we would have played one other poor attendance melb club once ie melb footscray, and we would have played two interstate teams where they have to catch two planes and we get a huge home ground advantage over a period of time. this not to mention the money what does hawthorn get each yr for playing in launceston.
add in the fact the club and the afl could organise cheap flights and if played on a friday night saturday holiday packages. add to this i think we would have picked up 10k new members in a short space of time as the club is heavily followed in tasmania.
ah well it wasnt to be.

Last year, I had a similar dummy spit, but in reverse.

I still feel that selling a game to Cairns which is purely to promote another club up there is a cop out that should be beneath a club with pride.

I debated not renewing my membership, indeed, I probably said I wouldn't at various times.

But in the end, I love the club, and feel I need to trust those in charge ( or at least give them the benefit of the doubt ).

I ended up doing a near complete reversal by figuring that if the club needed money that badly, then I needed to do what I could to help, and ended up upgrading to a 3121 membership, although I really don't care too much about any of the 'extras' it provides (OK, the private bar is nice).

Ultimately, I figure it's like a friendship...When the other party is doing it tough, you need to step up and help as best you can...Or you can decide you've done what you can, have had enough and break it off.

Clearly, I decided to dig deeper, but only you can answer for yourself what you're going to do. I only suggest you take some time to think about it rather than making a kneejerk reaction like I (almost) did.

for me it seems the only logical conclusion for not playing in darwin and taking 500k is those in charge think we are finals bound.
for me that is delusional so many factors point to it not being likely to happen and if it does it is likely not sustainable.

"Logical conclusions and delusional" Santa ...

100% assumption there mate

With the AFL club disbursements being improved and shifted recently the goal posts moved , hence the change in rationale' here .

I , in no way shape or form , think our football dept. are sitting there thinking "We are finals bound" ... thats very simplistic

I think "the club" as whole , are thinking that our financial situation has improved satisfactorially enough in the last year that we can afford to try and maximise our situation on field , and by that i mean as a Richmond supporter and follower , it makes a hell of a lot more sense to be playing PA at a cauldron in melbourne rather facing them in the tropics in June that is essentially a Port home game .

Not to mention the fact that Melbourne are lobbying to play there on a more permanent basis than we are due to there position so , logically , makes sense for them and the AFL to fast track that decision , which we have been compensated for anyway financially for moving aside . So its not even factual to say we have thrown away 500 k

So really Santa ... you have no point there

thats a top post no74.

i will say i cant blame and dont think anyone else can blame supporters for walking if they think the club is flip flopping all over the place.

in making this decision i think the club should have made the circumstances and reasons very clear to all rfc supporters for the change.i dont know if they have done that well enough.

fianally it is almost impossible for just an average supporter to walk in and attain the board. but it is possible for supporters to make a mark.
i still remember a supporter getting off his arse and attempting to do something about the way the club was being run under clinton casey who is resposible for the current debt.
the abuse he copped from mostly ignorant supporters was disgusting. that supporter was michael pahoff and he was totally proven to be correct.

i like to think some of us played small roles in getting the rookie fund up and going we can make a difference.

to me we should target the debt as the no1 priority all other things can wait in the short term. that is apart from the most important area of any club and that is recruiting. your recruiting dept should always be well resourced debt ot no debt. recruiting is the absolute key to onfield success.
if that 500k went into recruiting i could live with it i can think of no other possible area that should take precedent over paying off the debt.

i no longer respect this club