If bucks ends up coach and fails where rooted

This is a big gamble untried first up coach (if he gets the nod) say he does get the job and it all goes c##t up ,all the good work the club has done over the last couple of years will be undone ,while i agree he will be good for the club as far as media and member ships go ,he still has to get runs on the boared as far as games won goes. now lets say next year bucks is coach we get 36000 members heaps of media ect ect .If we win 13 games make the finals where doing ok ,but if we win 7 or less games and show no real inprovment i think memership will drop of rapidley . This is a big roll of the dice for our club i hope it comes of

Imo we r unlikely to be challenging for the flag in the next 2 or 3 yrs(but u never know we can always hope)Nafen will be able to develop our young list while also bringing in some hype and memberships. But more importantly we as a Club are growing our supporter base over(30000)record memberships 2 yr running to be sustainable in the good and bad times. The new Facility will along with our Great energetic board and new media group will help grow this, especially with over 10,000 young people using it yrly with input from the players. This is a massive advantage for the club. Winning is important of course , but so to is getting out into the community and giving ownership to the local people. This imo will help sustain and increase growth in all areas of the Club, they will see it as their Club, the Club that cares, and loves :eek::D:)

This is a big gamble untried first up coach (if he gets the nod) say he does get the job and it all goes c##t up ,all the good work the club has done over the last couple of years will be undone ,while i agree he will be good for the club as far as media and member ships go ,he still has to get runs on the boar*d as far as games won goes. now lets say next year bucks is coach we get 36000 members heaps of media ect ect .If we win 13 games make the finals WE ARE doing ok ,but if we win 7 or less games and show no real inprovment i think memershipS will drop of rapidl*y . This is a big roll of the dice for our club i hope it comes ofF

Just go with the flow man...

What an insightful thread...
You may as well rename the title to "If whoever ends up coach and fails, we are rooted."
no if bucks gets the nod the whole football worlds eyes will be on us if the team /club dont preform then we will cop it from all sides ,all i am saying is that expertations will be high from all quarters ,i will go with the flow proberly be a bit of a bumpy ride ,just hope we dont cascade off a water fall . ps longmire is my prefered choice

Fair enough, but I still don't see how we are any more "rooted" if Bucks stuffs up instead of any other coach.

You could also say that it would ruin his coaching career as a failed coach will never get another shot at it in the current AFL environment. He runs a risk of doing a Tim Watson. But this is exactly why he should take our job over Richmond's.

Ziebell, Wells, Anthony, Boomer, Ross, Wright, Warren, Smith , Hansen, Tarrant, Grima, Thompson, Campbell , etc etc etc. Don't think we need to worry.

Names on a page mate, doesn't mean shit, they've gotta perform.

Tarrant hasn't even played a game yet, Smith is cursed and Boomer was in very poor form early this year.

I disagree, we spent the better part of 7 years in the wilderness and despite all the negative crap have grown out to 30k members. We just need to keep growing and the off-field problems will resolve themselves.

This is a big gamble untried first up coach (if he gets the nod) say he does get the job and it all goes c##t up ,all the good work the club has done over the last couple of years will be undone ,while i agree he will be good for the club as far as media and member ships go ,he still has to get runs on the boared as far as games won goes. now lets say next year bucks is coach we get 36000 members heaps of media ect ect .If we win 13 games make the finals where doing ok ,but if we win 7 or less games and show no real inprovment i think memership will drop of rapidley . This is a big roll of the dice for our club i hope it comes of

Yeah, nah.

I disagree, we spent the better part of 7 years in the wilderness and despite all the negative crap have grown out to 30k members. We just need to keep growing and the off-field problems will resolve themselves.

Spot on.

Names on a page mate, doesn't mean shit, they've gotta perform.

Tarrant hasn't even played a game yet, Smith is cursed and Boomer was in very poor form early this year.

They will perform, don't you worry.

Our biggest problem this year is no-one cares. Brian Taylor summed it up best on the radio last week - neutrals won't even watch us on TV at the moment because we stink it up and we make other teams look like crap. A game involving North is seen to be the worst show in town. Nobody wants to come and see us. If Bucks turns this around, he will have done half the job.

And that why many opposition supporters felt Laidley did a good job with our list, even tho it was his list. They are more than happy for us to be middle of the road while never posing a threat. Anyone have our flag odds at the beginning of each year? Id have a wild guess and say we havent been rated a chance by the smart money for almost a decade.

As far as Buckley failing in the first few years, its totally unrealistic for him to mold the list into a real threat within 1-2 years. Thompson while building the cats list spent years at it, his head was on the block not to long ago. Now he's one of the highest rated coaches going. Rebuilding a list will take time, Buckley or any new coach for that matter shouldnt be judged on games won for a while yet.

Taylor is a baboon, who cares what he thinks. He has never had a good thing to say about us. Our ratings were pretty good last year, this year we are undermanned. In a climate where being a man short on the bench can decide a game we have on average been 1 to 2 men down almost every week and have had half a squad to choose from of fit players.

I think Crocker can make subtle changes in the space of a few weeks to change the flow of games, but ultimately, if we lack the people in the middle to pull off a more direct style then there isn't going to be a huge change. With a bit of luck we will see Harvey, Smith, Anthony, Warren and Wells back in the side and that might allow us to play more direct, atm we are limited in what we can do.

If bucks ends up coach and fails where rooted