If Liam Anthony didn't get injured...

If Liam Anthony had not got injured before round 1, it's likely we would not have seen Swallow in the side for a long time, if at all.

Interesting thought, because he's been nothing short of fantastic this year. All of my obvious bias for the kid aside, Swallow has been invaluable to us so far.

For a 21 year old kid who missed a year of footy, the fact that he's now played 53 games is huge for us. He's still young, but compared to Ziebell, Warren, Grima, Wright and Ross, he's a veteran.

Andrew Swallow. Chuck Norris approved.

norrisapproves.gif

Is Anthony the same type of play as Spits?

I've never seen Liam play tbh.

Nope.

Tall running utility.

Taller, more powerful version of Benny Ross. Similar speed, from what ive seen, Liam is a much better finisher.

Swallow's been good for us, has kicked goals most weeks as well.
I hope Anthony comes in for Power, he frustrates me.

It's the logical change. Therefore, it'll never happen.

Think you are using the wrong logic there Chadwiko.

If Swallow was good enough he would have played this year, regardless of whether Anthony was injured or not.

So all Anthony being injured has done is rob us of our most in form player of the pre-season (give or take Wellsy). For a mature kid in his first year at the club and the AFL. He now is clouded by stress related injuries in the short term and it may affect him long term. He may not regain his pre-season form this year, or ever.

I still remember the disappointment hearing about his injury on the eve of the season opener. Along with Boomer and Hansens injury it was probably the biggest loss of the year I reckon. And we have had a few.

Hey chaddy, Liam Anthony's a completely different type of midfielder to Spitter, with one an in and under (Spitz) and the other a ball magnet run all day type (LA), and I therefore doubt that Anthony's injury has given Spitter a spot in the side.

I'd say Harro's lack of form early, combined with Spitter's dramatic improvement, is the reason Spitz has regained his regular spot. He's cemented his spot too :thumbsu:

Yep, RB's right Chad.

But can't say i didnt expect this one was coming.:thumbsu:

Another excellent choice of words, Nick.

Fair bet Chad only used one hand to type out that OP.

I sorta agree with Chad. If Anthony didnt get injured, Swallow would not have played round 1 and we would all be bagging the shit out of him.

We may not have seen him in the side in Round 1 if Anthony didn't injure himself, but IMO we would have seen Swallow in the side at some stage due to the injuries to other players we've had.

Hahaha.

Jokes aside, I feel maybe that I didn't word my original post correctly.

I'm not saying "Yay, Anthony got injured and Swallow stole his spot" or anything of the like.

I'm just saying, if Anthony had not have gotten injured, Swallow would not have played round 1. He was the emergency who came in for Anthony. At the time, Swallow was one of those famous BF whipping boys around here on the back of his poor 2008 form, and I don't think anyone would have imagined such a spectacular turn around.

Good on u mate. Congrats on being the only person who knew Swallow was a good player.

I love hearing about it in every thread too :thumbsu:

Good on u mate. Congrats on being the only person who knew Swallow was a good player.

I love hearing about it in every thread too :thumbsu:

Yep, I love hearing about it in every thread too. :thumbsu: Seriously, we have NFI and being reminded of that fact is what gets me through every day. :thumbsu:

If Liam Anthony didn't get injured...