If Tassie had an AFL team, who would line-up?

I have also moved Colin Garland onto the park in place of Todd Grima, as he has already made his senior debut and appears slightly more progressed at this stage than Grima, despite Grima sitting 2nd on the goalkicking list in his 5 VFL games at 20, only 4 behind Sautner.

Probably done before, but i thought since the current rising star is Tasmanian, it is fitting to have a look.

B: Wiggins, Lee, Iles
HB: Petterd, Thorp, Birchall
C: S. Lonergan, Sherman, Holland
HF: Richardson, N. Riewoldt, J. Riewoldt
F: Robertson, Neitz, Garland
R: Taylor, Green, Rawlings

Bench: Hale, Laycock, Brooks, Street, T. Grima, Hislop, Graham

Coach: Rodney Eade

I'm sure I have missed a few, let me know and I'll update the team as I see fit.

i'd play young tommy bellchambers in the ruck
get nathan & alex grima in there

It isn't a tough decision at all.

At this stage in their careers, you'd pick Taylor over Laycock as your first ruck, every time. Last weekend, Taylor thrashed Laycock in the ruck contests and was also far more valuable around the ground. He's taller, stronger, better conditioned, gets involved and is far more comfortable than Laycock in the "heat" of the AFL kitchen.

Laycock is a typical product of the Bomber hype machine - they draft guys that "look" good, show a few tricks, play one or two good games on early in their career, then get overrated beyond their abilities.

I don't whether they do this for marketing reasons, or whether they do it to boost their potential trade value. Maybe it's because they simply have more supporters (like the Pies) so you hear more about their youngsters by the weight of media exposure.

Laycock been in the system for a few years now and is no certainty to make it.
I watched him closely on the weekend and I reckon his problem is mainly above the shoulders. His head is too small compared to rest of his body.
He looks like a Gary Larsen creation. Very rare to see an Essendon player with a small head...

His head looking small is an optical illusion. It appears this way because of his disproportionatley gigantic beak. It looks like the spinnaker of a yacht and would probably work just as well.

MODERN ERA - STATEWIDE LEAGUE / AFL NATIONAL DRAFT / TASMANIAN DEVILS
1986 to 2004

Steven Goulding
Alastair Lynch
Adrian Fletcher
Daryn Cresswell
Matthew Richardson
Matthew Armstrong
Graham Wright
Darrin Pritchard
Paul Hudson
Simon Atkins
Steven Febey
Mathew Febey
Brendon Gale
David Grant
Scott Clayton
Jamie Shanahan
Doug Barwick
Ian Paton
Scott Wade
Darren Trevena
James Manson
Michael Gale
Steane Kremerskothen
Anthony Lovell - (Andy)
John McCarthy
Stephen McPherson
Trent Nichol - (Nicholls)
Chris Bond
Jamie Dennis
Simon Minton-Connell
Danny Noonan
Paul Williams
Russell Robertson
Nathan Howard
Ben Atkin

I watched most of these players play at TFL level over the years, some great players there.
Would this list be on an AFL Tasmania website by any chance?
If so, given their half-assed nature I can see why it's rather inaccurate.

Steven Goulding was born in the UK, and originally played his football in the WAFL before coming over to North Launceston. Excellent player :thumbsu:
Scott Wade was drafted (to Hawthorn) during the early 80's prior to the Statewide League, as was Scott Clayton, Ian Paton and Colin Robertson.
I don't recall the Febey and Gale brothers playing Statewide Football so they would've been from the NWFU.

Some names not listed:

Brad Pearce from South Launceston
Shane Fell from Glenorchy
Dale Hall from Hobart
Micheal Martin from Hobart
James Cook from North Hobart
Andrew Lamprill from Hobart
Andrew Dunkley from North Launceston
Gavin Cooney from Clarence
Justin Plapp from Burnie Dockers

I'll remember some more later....

Graham Wright was picked up from East Devonport, not the statewide league.
The Gale brothers are usually listed as coming from Burnie Hawks, which were statewide, but originally from Penguin if memory serves. Must have played a season at Burnie. Burnie Hawks didn't exist until going into the statewide, they were Cooee before that.

Also,
Anthony Cole - North Hobart/Sydney
Scott Direen - New Norfolk/Sydney
Nigel Palfreyman - Sandy Bay/Brisbane Bears/Fitzroy (where he never got a game despite being best on ground week in-week out, possibly due to Robert Shaw's own history with the Palfreyman family at the now defunct Sandy Bay; he was still regarded as a "required player" by Robert Walls at Brisbane when he went back to the Bay, before going to Fitzroy)
Grant Williams - Sandy Bay/Hawthorn

Didn't the "other" atkins (Paul?) get picked up at some point?

I played on him when he used to play for Hutchins and he has only ever had one thing going for him- his height. He will be serviceable but never anything more. Laycock could potentially be a match-winner and is still very raw.

12 Months down the track and he is still very raw - if he was a steak you'd be chasing him around the paddock.

Whereas Taylor has added some bow to his strings.

Nick Riewoldt (STK) Born: Hobart, Tasmania
Family moved to Queensland when he was 8.

actually moved to qld when he was 13. father, jorick (not sure of spelling written as pronounced) played over 200 games for clarence. I know he identifies as a tassie boy, spends much of his summer back in tassie at a seaside town called orford. last summer i had the pleasure of scuba diving with the guy at orford (for the record he nailed 5 crayfish in one dive!!) and he brought along dal santo and luke ball, water was too cold for either of them to get wet! all credit to the three boys, had a few coldies at the bluewater inn (the local at orford) and were more than willing to have a chat with the footy mad locals, including myself.

I played on him when he used to play for Hutchins and he has only ever had one thing going for him- his height. He will be serviceable but never anything more. Laycock could potentially be a match-winner and is still very raw.

mate not sure if you are adam derbyshire from Launceston Church Grammer (if so clearly pissed that taylor smashed u everytime despite your all piss and wind hype) but i had the pleasure/honour of playing with tails at hutchins and i can tell u now that he has a lot more going for him than 'hight'. Hard at, unlike many ruckman has always put his head over the ball (see pies game last week for latest proof of that!!) has always had brilliant touch with his hands with tap outs, and the game against scotch college where he was thrown into the goal square after half time and kicked 10 goals all from contested marks shows the ability he has with taking a mark. Tails has only started to believe he belongs at AFL level after a latish start (didn't play TAC cup but for North Hobart then Box Hill after school) no doubt he will only improve from serviceable now to one of the games leading ruckmen.

Tassie State-of-Origin team, who would line-up?

Fair enough- I've been proven wrong with the Simon Taylor- starting ruck debate. I guess you can't blame me given my bias => look to the left of this message.

Mods- any chance that we could change the name of this thread permanently to "Tassie State-of-Origin Team- who would line-up?"

Here is the latest version of the team (eligibility- born in Tassie):

B: Simon Wiggins (Car) , Tom Collier (Bris) , Sam Iles (Coll)

HB: Ricky Petterd (Mel) , Mitch Thorp (Haw) , Grant Birchall (Haw)
C: Sam Lonergan (Ess) , Justin Sherman (Bris) , Brodie Holland (Coll)
HF: Matthew Richardson (Ric) , Nick Riewoldt (Stk) , Jack Riewoldt (Ric)
F: Russell Robertson (Mel) , David Neitz (Mel) , Colin Garland (Mel)
R: Simon Taylor (Haw) , Brad Green (Mel) , Brady Rawlings (Kan)

Bench: David Hale (Kan), Jason Laycock (Ess), Peter Street (WB) , Tom Hislop (Ess) , Angus Graham (Ric) , Andy Lee (Ess) , Aaron Joseph (Car) , Tom Bellchambers (Ess) , Brodie Moles (Tas) , Alex Grima (Haw)

Coach: Rodney Eade (WB)

The forward line is OK but the midfield and defense is just arse.

Not only hat, this list is obviously bias towards Essendon. Laycock first ruck ahead of Taylor? Lee full-back? are you serious?

Here is the latest version of the team (eligibility- born in Tassie):

B: Simon Wiggins (Car) , Tom Collier (Bris) , Sam Iles (Coll)

HB: Ricky Petterd (Mel) , Mitch Thorp (Haw) , Grant Birchall (Haw)
C: Sam Lonergan (Ess) , Justin Sherman (Bris) , Brodie Holland (Coll)
HF: Matthew Richardson (Ric) , Nick Riewoldt (Stk) , Jack Riewoldt (Ric)
F: Russell Robertson (Mel) , David Neitz (Mel) , Colin Garland (Mel)
R: Simon Taylor (Haw) , Brad Green (Mel) , Brady Rawlings (Kan)

Bench: David Hale (Kan), Jason Laycock (Ess), Peter Street (WB) , Tom Hislop (Ess) , Angus Graham (Ric) , Andy Lee (Ess) , Aaron Joseph (Car) , Tom Bellchambers (Ess) , Brodie Moles (Tas) , Alex Grima (Haw)

Coach: Rodney Eade (WB)

Does not matter where you are born ffs. It is where you play your junior football.

FFS peoples, stop getting so nancy about the details. You can clearly see what I am doing. A team of Tasmanians with the eligibility criteria that they were born in Tassie. If we limited it to those who played their junior footy here, we would struggle even more than we already are to put together a team.

If Tassie had an AFL team, who would line-up?