I'm worried about pattison.

itsintheblood said:
Too slow. A lumbering type of ruckman in the knobel mould. I can't see this kid making it I'm afraid.

You can't make judgements on one game.

Tuck was crap when he started, I bet ya Richo was too.

Struth IITB - he's only played 2 AFL games. :rolleyes:

I've actually seen him quite a bit for Coburg this year and he's been very good but the difference between the AFL and VFL is massive. Having him play in the seniors at the moment is purely a development thing. That he's played senior footy this season is a bonus IMO - certainly wasn't expected at the start of the season.

I tend to agree with peejay his call up was a surprise this week

What he needs to do is bulk up - once he fills out especially across the shoulders he'll be a lot stronger physically. I think he's a bit quicker than you're giving him credit for - remember the Dockers are a quick team and he was coming back from an ankle injury

I actually flew over to Perth for the game and I have watched the replay and the one thing that doesn't show up on the TV is the amount of times he made leads and got ignored as we were too focused on kicking it to some fellow called "Richo" who at times had 3 opponents.

The other thing is he contested really well. Granted he didn't take any marks but what he did do on numerous occassions was bring the ball to ground - which is what you want if you're not marking the thing. Pity our crumbers didn't crumb.

IMV - It's all about patience ;)

[B]"Too slow. A lumbering type of ruckman in the knobel mould. I can't see this kid making it I'm afraid."[/B]

With what I've seen so far, I agree, although we obviously have to give our new kids a decent amount of games first to have a proper opportuntiy to show what they've got. Although there is another young guy on our list who could do that job well if given the chance and his name is Schulz.

He's had two matches and he's only a lad.

We've given Krak 5 years to play 4 good matches, and the same with half of the rest of the team. Being a big lad, he'll only develop further over the next 4 years. Give the kid a chance.

WilliamPowell said:
What he needs to do is bulk up - once he fills out especially across the shoulders he'll be a lot stronger physically. I think he's a bit quicker than you're giving him credit for - remember the Dockers are a quick team and he was coming back from an ankle injury

Also a lot of the first year guys are almost on their last legs by this stage of the season. The workload of their first AFL season can wear them down.

Fans normally call for kids to be put in the seniors in the last games to have a look at them but it is often the worst time to play them. They are almost spent, their opponents are thinking finals. Much better to play them early in the year when they are fresher, more confident and the games aren't quite as tense.

Tambling, Pattison and Meyer really should almost be playing on the bench at Coburg now. You can see their bodies are crying out for the end of the season.

Harvey Leadpipe said:
He's had two matches and he's only a lad.

We've given Krak 5 years to play 4 good matches, and the same with half of the rest of the team. Being a big lad, he'll only develop further over the next 4 years. Give the kid a chance.

Funny but true sadly.

Weaver, Why is Deledio coping so well? Is it because he has played all season and is already matured?

tiger of old said:
Not one of your best efforts ITTB :)

Sorry TOO but from what I can see, pattison is just too damn slow. I saw him in the collingwood game and was worried about him then. I feel we could have done better with pick 16 for losing ottens. Like I said, I'm worried about pattison.

sante said:
Weaver, Why is Deledio coping so well? Is it because he has played all season and is already matured?

There will always be exceptions, some kids are more able to cope. Deledio played a lot of junior footy. He was in the Vic Country squad in 1993 ... so really 1994 was a year he had getting ready for the jump to AFL. I also think that he has been lucky to avoid injuries and to have a pretty good preseason behind him.

Think back to last year when Roach and Hartigan road good preseasons into the season and started well before tailing off. Deledio has done something similar but is clearly much better.

Once the likes of Tambling struggle in preseason (as first year teenagers) there really is no coming back.

Weaver said:
Tambling, Pattison and Meyer really should almost be playing on the bench at Coburg now. You can see their bodies are crying out for the end of the season.

I didn't see Coburg this week because I was in Perth but I agree Weaver - Meyer for example has spent alot of time on the bench for Coburg the past couple of weeks

itsintheblood said:
Sorry TOO but from what I can see, pattison is just too damn slow. I saw him in the collingwood game and was worried about him then. I feel we could have done better with pick 16 for losing ottens. Like I said, I'm worried about pattison.

Just a suggestion but try to remember big blokes take longer to develop.

With this in mind just remember a big fella who was drafted in the early 1990's took a while to develop and he went on played around 250 games for us.................. his name was Benny Gale ;)

I'm not worried about Pattison. I saw him play earlier in the year. He moved very well.

First year players generally have no fitness or development at AFL level. Bigger players take even longer to develop. This affects all areas of their game from strength in marking contests, speed across the ground, endurance and ability to run out four quarters, skills, decision making. The quickness of the game at AFL level and the poorness of the skills of some of our players, makes it very difficult for a young player to succeed. Deledio is a freak.

If you consider someone like Bowden, he has heaps of poise now. He didnt have that the first year he came to richmond, he was a burst player.

Give Pattison a couple of years and we will have a better idea.

If you want to talk about a dud, think of Archibald. There is a player who has had years to develop and makes Knobel look good. Or for that matter kraks. He should be a leader. Instead he is the invisible man.

WilliamPowell said:
I didn't see Coburg this week because I was in Perth but I agree Weaver - Meyer for example has spent alot of time on the bench for Coburg the past couple of weeks

Meyer seemed to spend quite a bit of time on the bench again this week WP, especially early in the game.

tigertime said:
If you want to talk about a dud, think of Archibald. There is a player who has had years to develop and makes Knobel look good. Or for that matter kraks. He should be a leader. Instead he is the invisible man.

Archibald is in his second year you IDIOT

Weaver said:
There will always be exceptions, some kids are more able to cope. Deledio played a lot of junior footy. He was in the Vic Country squad in 1993 ... so really 1994 was a year he had getting ready for the jump to AFL. I also think that he has been lucky to avoid injuries and to have a pretty good preseason behind him.

Think back to last year when Roach and Hartigan road good preseasons into the season and started well before tailing off. Deledio has done something similar but is clearly much better.

Once the likes of Tambling struggle in preseason (as first year teenagers) there really is no coming back.

Strewth no wonder he is so good - been in the Vic Country squad since he was five !!! :D

WilliamPowell said:

With this in mind just remember a big fella who was drafted in the early 1990's took a while to develop and he went on played around 250 games for us.................. his name was Benny Gale ;)

A bit like Trent Knobel hey WP???

peejay said:
Strewth no wonder he is so good - been in the Vic Country squad since he was five !!! :D

That's how good he is :D

(now I have to go back to the code I was writing and check that I am not giving stuff to only people who are older than 2) - I really shouldn't work and post at the same time .... ahh stuff it :)

tigertime said:
idea.

If you want to talk about a dud, think of Archibald. There is a player who has had years to develop and makes Knobel look good.
How about you get your facts right for a change.Archie in his 1st year last year suffered from OP and was out for all bar the last few games for Coburg.

WilliamPowell said:

Well said william. I totally agree.

I'm worried about pattison.